Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 135 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


193 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 5

Posted February 17, 2015
- a teacher
Sonoran Science Academy-Tucson provides exceptional education to its students. It not only provides most rigorous STEAM programs but also accommodates all types of learners. Skill based grouping helps challenge every child at their own level. With around 20 AP classes, Foreign Languages, Dual Enrollment College credit opportunities, Science, Technology, Engineering and Math Focus, small class size and over 35 extracurricular after school clubs including competitive athletics programs, SSA-T provides well rounded education. It is best experience for your students.
1 person found this helpful

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 5

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
I love the personal attention my children have received at SSA-Tucson. The small class sizes, caring teachers, and rigorous curriculum have really set my children up to succeed academically in college. My eldest child partipated in the Robotics program for 4 years and took a variety of challenging courses in math, science and computers that emphasised practical applications and labs. He is now working on his degree in Computer Sciences at the UA. My middle child benefited from the numerous AP courses and is working on her Liberal Arts degree in New York City. My youngest will graduate this year and benefited most from from the amazing art program and focus on critical thinking in the AP social studies program where he participated in numerous formal and informal debates and discussions. He is now considering Pre-Law and philosophy majors in various Liberal Arts schools in the Pacific Northwest. This school was the best choice for my three very different children.
1 person found this helpful


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 3

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
I'm disappointed in the direction that this school has taken. The school had done very well with state testing in previous years and then changed its curriculum despite the fact that the previous curriculum had served the students well. The school's over-eagerness to jump on the Common Core bandwagon has made me realize that the school wasn't wedded to its previous curriculum and thus doesn't appear to have a core identity when it comes to pedagogy (ironically).The school has gone overboard with the Spalding phonics instruction (as though learning how Romalda Spalding pronounced "gy" is an important end in and of itself rather than sensibly using phonics as a tool to read, not an end). The math worksheets this year were tedious. I'm not convinced that the school is a good setting to inspire learning and curiosity. The quality of teaching is spotty, but probably better than your average Tucson public school. There are several nice academically-oriented clubs. Overall, the parents and students are nice.
1 person found this helpful

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 2

Posted May 09, 2014
- a community member
I'm a senior at Sonoran Science Academy, a supposed 9/10" school. This is far from the truth. The school lacks an adequate field or cafeteria. The teacher quality is slowly declining as SSA pushes the good teachers out by implementing salary cuts. Several decent teachers this year will not be returning and will likely be replaced by people that should not even be called "teachers." All of the replacements thus far, in my 6 years here, have been horrid. Aside from the Spanish replacement (who is also leaving this year), the other ones have been incapable of teaching, either having erratic changes in plans, personality disorders, or they simply have no idea how to teach. I have to admit that through my high schools I have learned next to nothing in English or computers. There has yet to be a computer science teacher that comes into the class knowing about the subject beforehand. All of them have learned WITH US; that is not how a class should be run. The English department thus far has two decent teachers, though one may leave. The teachers who know their subjects are okay at teaching and willing to help students who need help, which is why I gave two rather than one star.
1 person found this helpful

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My son loves the high level classes available and the helpful, caring teachers. The school has many diverse extracurricular clubs, as well as a great robotics team. Some teachers aren't too great, however the educational options at this school far exceed most of the available courses at many other public schools. Overall, it's a good school that challenges and motivates its students, it has good extracurriculars, and despite some downfalls in their administration and certain teachers, the overall education is still very good.


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is great, nice environment and teachers dedicated to teach. The school is interested about not only teaching but a complete personal development.
1 person found this helpful

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My child is receiving college a preparatory education. The administration supports the students in their creativity as well as academic accomplishments. Some of the instructors are difficult to understand due to a language barrier.

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
My son has been a student at SSA for 8 years, since elementary school. The teachers have always been readily accessible to both students and parents, and have always encouraged him to learn. I like that the student will receive the education they need: whether it is more advanced work, or remedial assistance if they were having issues. The school is continuing to grow; I would love to see more extra curricular activities someday. He is happy here, and has asked to finish out high school with SSA and his friends there.
1 person found this helpful


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. Great communication with parents and ambitious teachers. Excellent character education, and STEM focus.
1 person found this helpful

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
We love Sonoran Science Academy. It is really great school. It is very challenging academically and they are offering a lot of after school activities. My son is going first grade and he is in the chess club and they won first place. Teachers are very caring to students.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson
2325 W Sunset Rd, Tucson, AZ  85741
(520) 665-3400
Last modified Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 193 reviews. Top