Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
151 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 222 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 1

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
The Kindergarten is terrible. The teacher sends daily tattle-tale reports. The teacher accused my son of vandalism for writing on his desk one time. The teacher sends daily behavior (conformity) reports. My son had strait A's until after Rodeo Break when the kids starting sitting around waiting for year-end testing. After favorable reports all year the teacher starting harassing my son with a constant barrage of bad reports for things like "played water bottle was a gun"?????????????????????Really Teacher moved her own son to a different school. My 6th grader was denied a spot in the Soccer Club after 5 years of playing in Club Sports, because the coach had a diversity quota to meet.

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Have 4 kids attending - excellent school they might not be organized but they are short staff like every school in tucson. If you need baby sitter this is not the school for your children. This school focuses on independent thinkers and students that have and want to learn.


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
My children get approximately 2 to 3 hours of homework a day. It challenges students just right.

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
It's the one of the few schools that has integrity. They are fair and when parents/ students don't like it, they throw tantrums

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 2

Posted June 30, 2015
- a community member
This school is quite complicated. On one hand, it purports itself as STEM, with an emphasis on robotics, challenging science courses, and high levels of math. While the robotics program is solid and the uppermost math classes are very good, the science in 'science academy' lacks. Many classes barely do labs; some supposedly advertise 'project-based learning' that neither students nor parents feel has been implemented in any meaningful or effective way. They have also done away with many high-level science classes for the sake of streamlining their budget and catering to student demand. Additionally, there is instability among the staff. They are on their third administration in five years, and teacher turnover is extremely high; the staff often feels put upon with all of their assorted duties, and the general feeling among students is that their administration does not care for them unless their money or their online reviews of the school are at stake.


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 1

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
i am currently in 11th grade at this school .This school is a joke. They are clearly not interested in us kids. I am looking to attend another school in the area. This school has a handful of good teachers. As for the others they should not be teachers.

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson 1

Posted June 02, 2015
- a community member
I have just recently graduated from this school after attending for 5 years. These past years have been full of ups and downs but overall my parents and I have been very disappointed. I am going to attend the University of Arizona in the fall and I feel like I have never had an adequate year of English, despite the 2 years of AP English I took. I also have no foundation of physics or chemistry because the teachers have been so incompetent. I have never seen the 2 most recent principals interact with students and the college counseling I "received" was an absolute joke. Our college counselor let his personal feelings towards students interfere with his work ethic and I felt personally attacked by him my entire senior year. Granted, there were a few teachers who I personally thanked because they truly cared about their students and I felt I received a good education from them. Both of my history teachers had a genuine knowledge of their subject (not something I can say for all teachers at this school). The AP level math classes I took more than prepared me for college. The teacher is wonderful and had a way of explaining things to me that I didn't think I could ever understand. He truly cared for all his students and was one of the most beneficial classes I've taken in my high school career. Another amazing teacher who truly cared for her students was my biotechnology and AP environmental science teacher. Despite my lack of knowledge in chemistry because of previous teachers, she never gave up and dedicated much of her time to catch us up. Unfortunately, all of the terrible teachers and administrators outweigh the few above-and-beyond teachers I had. I would advise any parent to look elsewhere when finding a school for their child.

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
It's different every year; this is tough to assess when there is so much change.


Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
All of it has been manageable so far. Kids have more to learn now than when I was in school, so there is going to be more or more difficult work, but it's up to us parents to teach them how to manage their time and get it done.

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Yes. All you have to do is go look a the art and robotics displays or go to some of the competitions to see that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson
2325 W Sunset Rd, Tucson, AZ  85741
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 222 reviews. (520) 665-3400
Last modified Sonoran Science Academy - Tucson is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top