Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of Tucson Middle School

Charter | 5-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 14 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

66 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2012

I had my 6th grade son read the negative reviews for the middle school made by some of the parents and students against the certain staff and administration. He thinks many of the comments were hog wash. The one reason why students are told to stay off of the sidewalks so they do not horse around and break their ankles and other bones. One day my son forgot his lunch which the principal kindly paid for few items from the snack bar. When he is sick, he is allowed to call home to request a pick up. My son is struggling a bit in some subjects, but overall, this school is an excellent choice for parents to send their child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

I have had several children in this school for years now. It continues to be an outstanding school with caring and capable teachers and staff. I will continue to recommend this school to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

Without reservations I would recommend this school for its excellent staff and appropriate curriculum. On every occasion when I have observed the teachers I have been impressed by their professional conduct and concern for the students.. Do not be swayed by the grievances of a couple of malcontents who most likely would be malcontents in any environment. I encourage all interested parents to schedule a visit to the school and observe the exceptional academic environment for themselves.


Posted November 4, 2011

My son has been at AOT since 1st grade and I couldn"t be happier. He is challanged to be a good citizen, have good grades while still being allowed to be a child. As a boy he is clumsey adn ther are times that he has come home with an injury but after talking to him and to administration I find out that he has not bothered to tell anyone about it until he arrives at home. The times that he has reported that he has an injury or is not feeling well I have always been notified and made aware of the situation. I have complete trust in all of the staff at AOT and am very glad that they have an assistant principal who can help with the duties of the principal. I know that they care about my child adn his well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

If you are looking for a great school with challenging academics, Academy of Tucson is a good choice. We have been with this district since Kindergarten and are now at the Middle School. We are very pleased with the education our children are receiving. Is the school perfect? No, none are - but we have been very satisfied with the administration's attentiveness to any concerns that have come up over the years. The faculty and staff are very caring and want to see the kids learn and achieve high standards. The smaller class size allows the teachers to really know the students individual needs. Visit the school and see the difference for yourself. I spent a lot of time researching curriculum and visiting schools before making a decision and Academy stood out among the options. We are so pleased to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

We have been in many types of school environments and we are very happy at Academy of Tucson. I think it is important to remember when choosing a school that every school has people in it and so you will never find a "perfect" school. I like that the teachers, principle and parents at Academy are trying to create community of parents who want to do the best for their children. I've always been able to bring concerns to the staff and be heard. It's a good group of people trying to make a difference in the education system. I support that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

1 word- AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! way better that Tucson Country Day School(worst school ever by the way) send your kid here.


Posted June 17, 2010

The principal is excellent....& fun. Most of the teachers I've met really care about the students. Sure they can be tough & some teachers have personality issues that may not mesh well with all students. My daughter got stuck with a teacher she didn't appreciate in 6th & really struggled in every area....but just like the real world....I let her tough it out & she blossomed the next yr like crazy. We're not going to like everything that happens to our kids & I don't always appreciate the decisions that the admin makes, but I deal. For example: new campus will house grades 5th - 8th for 2010-11.....this will be "interesting". I consider the alternatives around Tucson....and I keep coming back to AOTMS. AOTMS offers a quality education, small class sizees on a safe campus. Parent involvement is key & much appreciated by me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

This was a great school but over the past 2 years it is going downhill fast. Think twice about sending your child. The High school is great but the middle school is no longer a school you would want to send your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

I have to say that I'm really impressed with this school. I have 3 children still at home--1 in elementary, 1 in middle, and 1 in high school--all at the Academy of Tucson. The middle school is very supportive and the teachers and staff are great! But I must say that I am very impressed with the principal as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

i went to this school for 1 year and i thought that it was the worst school year of my life. this school does have bullies and when someone tries to tell we get in trouble. and they push you so hard on homework and schoolwork. some of the teachers were nice but then again some of them were really mean. i recommend enrolling your child in a different school. because i have allready wasted one year here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2009

My kid went to the academy for 1 year. While I think she learned a lot it was an overall bad experence. If you are planning on going to this school, make sure your childs personality is in sinc with the teachers! Cuz if it isn't... your in for a bumpy ride!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I would definitely say that this school is above average. Most of my friends go to a public school and I can tell that I've learned way more things than them even if they're older than me. Many kids who have gone to this school are very smart. Even if some students are mad about not being able to hug, or dress code, or the dances, i think that this school is great. I have also been recommending this school to my friends. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

I have just completed 8th grade at AOTMS and I must say I am very disappointed in this school. It s sad when a school cannot keep up with its student's needs such as new textbooks, replacing broken desks and locks for the bathroom stalls. Most of the teachers are great! However, some teachers do not have the supplies they need to teach, or do not want to do their job. It was a great school two years ago, but then it went downhill. I highly recommend researching another school before enrolling your child in this one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2009

We have been with the AOT system since 4th grade and have just completed 8th. While there are numerous positive aspects to the middle school they also have more than their share of negative drawbacks. It is highlighted that there is seperate PE for boys and girls-never occurred in our 3 years. The computer teacher -Mrs. Ursiny in one word: EXCELLENT! Communication between admin and parents was poor unless you were in their space daily. The dress code is laughable as there seemed to be much leway depending on whom the student(s) was. Personal accountability was also a questionable term. Thankfully this year they finally had a qualified spanish teacher- sadly, he is not returning. Do your home work before you commit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

My child has been in the AoT system since third grade and has just finished eith grade. The education she has received has been outstanding and the experience was much better than the TUSD experience of K-2nd. Every teach she had was excellent, especially Mrs. Hughes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

My child just completed her 8th grade year at AoT Middle School. She had attended for all three years. During her time at AoT, I believe she received an excellent education. She was challenged in all her classes, and I feel she is now ready for the challenge of highschool. I want to thank the wonderful teachers, administrative staff and parents for making this such a wonderful school. This is a great alternative to the big, overwhelming and sometimes impersonal public middle schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I am very happy with aotms. Mr. Creenan is a wonderful and fair teacher with very high expectations. This was our first year at the middle school and am looking forward to my next child going there! We love the school and the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I am extremely happy with this school. My daughter thinks her teacher, Mr. Silverman, is great. I appreciated that I could E-mail him about any questions and her class only had 16 students. My daughter was at another school and blended into the woodwork . She was so lost she tried to hide. She is flourishing at AOT and is much more enthusiastic. At this school you can't hide. The teachers won't let you get away with not learning. I am impressed with her increased reading and writing skills and scores on standardized tests. I also like the principal. He is very enthusiastic and really cares about the kids. My daughter doesn't like the dress code, but I like the modesty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

This school is horrible. The teachers get worked up about everything. We just recently made up a rule that we are not aloud to hug people but the funny thing is that I see teachers hugging students. We have to much homework compared to other schools and its very stressful. If you are reading this and thinking about going to this school, you will regret it so much. I hate it. Also, there sport selection is very bad.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7310 E. 22nd Street
Tucson, AZ 85710
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 749-1413

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT