Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of Tucson Middle School

Charter | 5-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 14 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2009

I am extremely happy with this school. My daughter thinks her teacher, Mr. Silverman, is great. I appreciated that I could E-mail him about any questions and her class only had 16 students. My daughter was at another school and blended into the woodwork . She was so lost she tried to hide. She is flourishing at AOT and is much more enthusiastic. At this school you can't hide. The teachers won't let you get away with not learning. I am impressed with her increased reading and writing skills and scores on standardized tests. I also like the principal. He is very enthusiastic and really cares about the kids. My daughter doesn't like the dress code, but I like the modesty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

This school is horrible. The teachers get worked up about everything. We just recently made up a rule that we are not aloud to hug people but the funny thing is that I see teachers hugging students. We have to much homework compared to other schools and its very stressful. If you are reading this and thinking about going to this school, you will regret it so much. I hate it. Also, there sport selection is very bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

There is one teacher per subject (except in math) for seventh and eighth grade, and the sixth graders are isolated in their own self-contained units, like in elementary school (this can be perceived as positive or negative). The academic work is challenging for some, but not for others. The only class in which students are seperated by academic level is in math. AOTMS is a very small in class size and school size; this is good if you want to be in a smaller environment. There are many opinions if you want to know if AOTMS is a good school. If you are looking into coming here, research everything you can. My experiences overall have been that this school is not very challenging, and I am dissapointed with that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

What a great school! The academics are challenging and the teachers are great! The principal is one of the best I've ever seen and a 110% improvement over the last one. He has a true passion for this school and it shows. My child is now at the AOT HS and the principal there is a complete let-down after having such a fantastic leader. If you choose this school your child will get an excellent education in a great atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I guess i'm the first student to write-ha! AOTMS is an okay school. The problem is, you can either have your kids thrive academically, or socially. The classes are good, you learn a lot. The teachers are understanding and nice, but they get very tough when your doing what you shouldn't. Our school isn't very clique-y, and you don't really have to do anything to fit in, but everyone hangs out with their friends, and then all the little groups hang out in one big chunk, and if you just don't have a personality match, then you're sort of helpless. None of the other students are mean, its just that you don't work out. Anyway, none of us want to be here. The school has great learning, that's okay, but we're forced to come here so we all hate it. I dont know a solitary student who wants to be here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

Very impressed. Highly recommended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

This is our 3rd year here. The principal has an wonderful relationship with students and is responsive to parents. Most teachers are excellent and class size is small. I remain pleased with our choice and am confident my child is receiving a well rounded and far ebove average MS education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I have 2 daughters attending AOT and their are treated fair. The education standards are high and they student population is very impressive. All the teachers are very committed to the student's success and do so much extra to ensure the school continues to be a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I'm pleased with this school for so many reasons but the one I will mention only is simply this, my daughter is in middle school (the most dreaded time of my life), and she likes it! Cheers to the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

I do not recommend this school at all. The practices at this school are highly questionable and the staff's qualifications are sketchy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

We have never been sorry about choosing AOTMS. The Curriculum is excellent, teachers and administration are involved with the students and know them individually, however my favorite part is our students. There are many students that would get lost in a traditional public middle school. At AOTMS the students support one another and are more foucsed on school then the other drama that usually accompanies this age group. For example, at our talent show, we had more participation then ever and those students that were nervous about performing were cheered on and encouraged rather than mocked by their peers. It warmed my heart to know that my daughter is in such a loving environment. Sure, we lack some of the fancy things that other schools may have, but we make up for it in heart. I feel confident that my daughter is learning and is being cared for and cared about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

The curriculum at this school is great. We have been with AOT for 4 years and have seen the teachers turnover. The teachers are supportive and communicates when neccessary. When at TUSD, the communication was one of the big reasons we left. Because of the small school environment the Principle and the teachers really get to know the students. When we did utilize the afterschool program it was nice but at times lacked supervision. I would like to see a better music program. My son's compaint is PE should be more fun and educational. My son also would like to see more plays proformed at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

This is a fantastic school for the East side of Tucson. My child attend this school 1.5 years and we are very satisfied with his education in the core subjects. Safety is not an issue, as the school has a no-tolerance policy towards unsafe behavior. My child never witnessed a safety related incident during his entire 1.5 years (not even a fist-fight). The shortcomings of this school are typical small-school issues: Few extra-curricular activities, sports, etc. Teachers are helpful and friendly. Principal is experienced but new to the school (2 yrs or so), so older posts and rating about the principal no longer apply. Math, English and Science curriculums are well beyond TUSD. We relocated and put our child in an AZ public school. As a 7th grader, he has been sent to the High School for 9th grade English and Math courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

My daughter's school performance increased dramatically after attending Academy Middle School. It was a great experience for her. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Worry about your childs safety in this school. There is a lack of supervision, therfore things happen that students are never held accountable for. Also, the academics are not based on state standards, the teacher seem to teach a random set of lessons. My daughter doesn't seem to be getting the knowledge and skills she should have in middle school. This charter school is not excelling because of the teachers and staff, it's because of the extra work the parents put in with there children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

my child is learning alot at this school except the fact that thier spanish curriculum is not something to be proud of but other curriculums such as math is excellent. this school expects high standards and prepares teens with future preperation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

This is the perfect school for my daughter. She has thrived here. The small intimate settig makes her feel comfortable and I could not imagine a better school for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

We will be leaving next year, & we have been with Academy for 3 years. Something is wrong at the middle school, perhaps leadership. Retention of quality teachers is a problem, and they seem to be after AIMS scores. No flexibility to change classes if there is a conflict. Rules sometimes inflexible. They used to have a great music program with 8th grade musical/talent show - this is gone. Better teachers in other areas, creative art teacher, pe teachers, etc. Front desk is friendly, tension in the rest of the school - Why? Don't know. Afterschool is free, but sometimes lacks supervision - depends on who they hire. Afterschool sports are usually great here; parents carpool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

So far the 'new atmosphere' has been positive, whereas before 'all the teachers left' you could feel the tension in the air.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My child and I are very upset to learn of the teachers that are leaving. Something wrong with the leadership for this to happen. Save the teachers. find the cure before its too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7310 E. 22nd Street
Tucson, AZ 85710
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 749-1413

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT