Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Paloma Academy

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 16 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2011

I love this school! My kindergartener is having fabulous first year thanks to everyone that works there. Thumbs way up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

Be careful with this school. My son couldn't pass he AIMS test for 8th grade. He was not taught enough Algegra. He spent a year at Sylvan just to fill in the gaps of what La Paloma was teaching him. And that wasn't enough. La Paloma does 'social passing' for 8th graders. I know this because I talked with an 8th grader who didn't have the grades to pass 8th grade but La Paloma still passed him. I suggest you look for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

This school has a family atmosphere and the teachers and staff are wonderful. I am so impressed with the diverse population of teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My daughter loves going to this school. I know of quite a few parents who drive a long way to bring their kids to this school( including us)instead of taking them to the neighborhood public school. I really appreciate the free before/after school program. My kid was having problems with a certain subject and she was given lots of tutoring. Now she is doing well. Let's not forget to mention her fabulous teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

La Paloma Academy is more than a school. It's a place where students can learn in a safe atmosphere. The administration and teachers are amazing and truly care about the kids. I love the school so much and all it has to offer my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

La Paloma Academy nurtures students in an environment where they can grow as a part of a small caring community. I will be sad when my child leaves the school at the end of this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My children are absolutely thriving at La Paloma Academy. They have been there for 8, 6, and 4 years. They have always excelled on the standardized test and more importantly they LOVE school. They love their teachers and their friends. It is more than a school, it is a second home and there is such an amazing community there of teachers who love their jobs and the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Great staff and environment. My student loves her teacher and she loves going to school. She begs to stay in the after school program (which is free). I can't say enough great things about La Paloma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I love La Paloma Academy!!!! All of the kids are important to the teachers and principals. The school makes everyone feel special.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2010

Nepotisim, corruption, financial manipulation and prejudice are all prevalent at La Paloma
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

La Paloma Academy has been a blessing for my child. While at TUSD, she was unmotivated and hated school. After 5 years at La Paloma, she now loves school and just recently got accepted to University High School. I could not have asked for a better environment and teaching staff to work with my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

This school is horrible!! The most of the teachers don't really care about the kids and their progress. My son is bullied by other children abd they do nothing! My son can not wait to leave and I can't wait to be rid of this horrible school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Great teachers who really care about their students and help parents stay informed about what their child is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

The best school I have ever seen!!!! The principal and teachers truly care about every child at that school! This is what all schools should do for children...thank you La Paloma!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I never knew there were teachers that cared so much about the kids. I feel special at school. I have learned the importance of being nice to all students because we are a family and life it too short to be mean to anyone. I love going to school everyday!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

this school was terrible! there was so much drama and it got me way behind where i would have been it was terrible! i now go to a very good school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2008

My daughter went to this school for 1 year and it was 1 year too long! I choose this school because it claims to develop family values while providing the highest quality education. The curriculum is very basic and I feel badly that my daughter is going to have to struggle this year to get caught up to where she should have been. Just walking through the campus I could not believe the number of disrespectful kids! There were fist fights and bullying and talking back to teachers like I have never seen! I didn't realize how good we had it at her previous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

TOTALLY LOVE THIS SCHOOL!<3
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2007

The staff is very friendly. My children are getting a great education there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

La Paloma is a great place for all types of children and families. I am thankful to have my child amongst such great educators who truly care about our childrens future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 43%
White 37% 42%
Black 8% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Ukranian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Ukranian
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:15
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (520) 721-4263

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Ukranian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • The students are involved in community service projects that connect them to the outside community. parents volunteer to help in classrooms, go on field trips, assist with school events, and help with fundraising.
More from this school
  • La Paloma Academy was built on the principles of character, teaching trustworthiness, caring, fairness, citizenship, responsibility, and respect. The school serves as an extension of the home and works to instill strong academic and social skills and help students become independent and self-confident learners.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 N. Wilmot Road
Tucson, AZ 85712
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 721-4205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Adventure School
Tucson, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT