Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Air and Space Academy North
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
Ms Klem is a great principal and leader. She did a great job for my kids, and was always willing to talk to us. For the person who's sure that "a lot of these reviews are fake", I doubt it. The people who complain the most at that school are typically the least involved, and the loudest complainers. That is backed up by the comment made later in the review about "voicing a concern or a complaint." If all you do is complain, most anyone will start ignoring you. That's basic human behavior. If, instead, you preface each concern or complaint with a couple compliments, you will find people a little more receptive to your words. This goes double for kids. It also helps if you help the school. In our time there, I helped put up lights, plant trees, move playground equipment and other things. No you don't have to do it, and some people don't have the time. That's fine. But if all you do is complain and never help, you're easily grouped as "part of the problem" rather than as "part of the solution." As for the former teachers, several have been fired over the years for improper behavior, from theft, document tampering and child discipline infractions. Guess who they blame for being fired? Sour grapes is the answer to that one.

Air and Space Academy North 5

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school - Ms Klem is an amazing leader and her staff is excellent. We loved Ms. VanOlphen for 2nd to 3rd grade. Great school with small class sizes.


Air and Space Academy North 1

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
I'm sure a lot of these reviews are fake. This school had so much potential and wonderful teachers. The founder is a terrible leader. She is rude and runs teachers off left and right. She doesn't care about the parents. My two kids attended two years there. She never gave me the time of day whether I was voicing a concern or a compliment. I know many other parents who sent there kids there and many of the former teachers and have never heard a nice word about the administration. Why can't this school keep teachers? Because they are treated so poorly by the founder.

Air and Space Academy North 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Oh My! Air and Space Academy is perfect. The founder is back and she is so knowledgeable about education and what an awesome leader she is. The school is back to the way it was before she left. My child has been here since first grade. The new shirts, planners, teachers, playground are Truly Remarkable! The new common core curriculum is challenging. The new math, science, reading and language programs are engaging, fun and just tremendous for our kids! The teachers are amazing. The office staff is amazing! Aviation and robotics instruction is lots of fun for the students. My children love getting up every morning and going to school. What a pleasure to be in this learning environment. The music teacher is really cool. WOW!!! Class size still at 18 per class very good. Computers in every classroom for easy student access and learning. Great calendar with half days on every other Friday. After school activities for less than a dollar a day. We are all in the positive plus ZONE!!! So glad the founder of this school IS BACK. Thank you!

Air and Space Academy North 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Oh My! Air and Space Academy is perfect. The founder is back and she is so knowledgeable about education and what an awesome leader she is. The school is back to the way it was before she left. My child has been here since first grade. The new shirts, planners, teachers, playground are Truly Remarkable! The new common core curriculum is challenging and my kids love the Aero Space theme. The new math, science, reading and language programs are engaging, fun and just tremendous! The teachers are amazing. The office staff is amazing! Aviation and robotics instruction is lots of fun for the students. If you want a great education for your children - this is the school. My children love getting up every morning and going to school. What a pleasure to be in this learning environment. The music teacher is really cool. WOW!!! Class size still at 18 per class very good. Computers in every classroom for easy student access and learning. Great calendar with half days on every other Friday. After school activities for less than a dollar a day. We are all in the positive plus ZONE!!! So glad the founder is back with us this year. Thank you!


Air and Space Academy North 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
What a great place. Just in the short time my daughter has been enrolled she has learned so much. She surpises me everyday with something new. The teachers and staff are all on the same page and work fantastic together. Office runs smoothly, Couldnt ask for anything more for my child. Recommend!!!!!!!!

Air and Space Academy North 5

Posted September 23, 2012
- a parent
What a wonderful school year. The founder / principal this year is a fabulous educational leader and my children are working far above grade level. The vocabulary studies, math and aviation studies are just so engaging for my children. Thank you to this school and to the founder / administrator for transforming our learning experience into a life long gain in education for my children. There is NO teacher turn over this year. The whole school is happy and working together as a strong team. The students are very well mannered and love the PE and Music teachers. Band is great. Book Fair was lots of fun last week. Thank you to the dedicated parent volunteers. Leadership change School transformation. Excellent!

Air and Space Academy North 5

Posted August 18, 2012
- a parent
Wow. I'm not sure where this misinformation is coming from. My son graduated from there and got a 4.0 his freshman year in highschool, while taking two sophomore level classes. The most teachers I have seen in teaching a class through last year was three (my daughter's class) : the initial one left on maternity, the second had to move back to Phoenix for a family emergency, and the third finished the year. All I can figure is that some of the people on this site are going with the sour-grapes approach, or have an axe to grind. It's a great school, and one I would not hesitate to recommend. Generally, the only kids who have problems are the ones who have parents that aren't involved. This is a school, not a day care facility. If all you are looking for is someplace to drop off you kids, look elsewhere.


Air and Space Academy North 5

Posted July 17, 2012
- a parent
I have been a parent of a student at Lifelong Learning Academy since my child was in kindergarten. The founder is going to be the principal of the school during the 2012-2013 school year. During her three year sabbatical, other certified principals ran the school according to their leadership styles. The students at Lifelong Learning Academy receive band instruction, the very highest reading and writing instruction that I have ever seen, classes in aviation (one of our students was selected to be featured in a museum for the airplane she made last year), math, and science. Ask for one of the Soaring Sky Hawks to be sent to you. Go to the website and see all the programs students have excelled in while attending this school. I do not know where this other negative information is coming from unless public school competitors are posting it. Parents are very happy that the founder of the school is returning next year and the school has wonderful teachers. Come in and see for yourself. Meet the teachers.

Air and Space Academy North 1

Posted June 29, 2012
- a community member
This is a horrible school. They have no set curriculum for anyone even though the principal kept saying there was a great one. In the 2011-2012 school year one classroom had 10 different teachers. They rely on computers to "entertain the children" while the teachers are forced to do the bidding of the administration. This is to say nothing that the children are forced to eat lunch outside, regardless of temperature. The bathrooms are falling apart and the computer equiptment is sub par. Don't waste your children's "lifelong learning" goals here. Send them to a public school where they can get the attention they need. The parents i met with children there only complained.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Air and Space Academy North
3295 W. Orange Grove, Tucson, AZ  85741
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (520) 399-4700
Last modified Air and Space Academy North is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top