Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tucson International Academy

Charter | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

So this the place I used to go to school at is one that I thought wasn't too bad. Well, Now I'm at a self paced school where teachers help you advance, and teach you all that is necessary to pass this years A.I.M.S. I visited their home page and remembered the stop in learning curriculum. I think this new school would work out better and I hope that they really do change for the future of their students. The math portion will consist of geometry and some algebra II. They need more than one math and english teacher there, so that groups can focus on going from algebra I for 9th and 10th to geometry, and the 11th and 12th graders can focus on Algebra II and trig. Because the test's they are using are for middle school A.I.M.S, the student's won't get the information they need. This school is behind. I've already got my 1/2 credit for the first half of the school year, and even I've come to a stop.


Posted August 17, 2013

We enrolled 2 of our children at the Midvale Campus for the 2013/14 school year and after just mere days of school, we are ready to pull our children from this horrible atmosphere. The classrooms were cramped and well over their stated 1:20 ratio. For my oldest, it was sink or swim from day one. After falling behind in trying to complete the ridiculous amount of work she was given, she asked her teacher for help and was berated. The entire class was then "talked to" about homework complaints and parents calling the school. She was left feeling stupid and afraid and had a total breakdown after a few days in this atmosphere. After trying to talk to the principal, things just got worse. She told me maybe a school setting wasn't appropriate for my daughter (although she maintained good grades at her previous school in another state). I feel this school wants to push my daughter out because they are afraid she might bring down their test scores and they were not willing to offer her any help or options to catch up. The principal seems be to grossly inadequate to handle any kind of situation or complaint and would often backtrack and change her story during conversations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

We have had great success at this school! I love the Spanish and Chinese programs. The school has lots of events, almost every month. We appreciate the individualized attention. We give this school an A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

TIA offers great educational and extracurricular activities that my children have become involved in! I am thrilled that my children are doing really well academically (AIMS!) and personally! I like knowing that my children are safe, learning, and with caring adults!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Warning to parents and teachers: This organization is in major decline. It is purely a business operation lacking any compassion or concern for students parents or its employees. Students are seen as simply numbers to be maintained to get state funding. Parents are seen as irrelevant. Teachers are treated unprofessionally, not respected, and told what to do when by a controlling administration. The superintendant regularly goes through the school yelling at and demeaning students, parents and teachers. Students are shown no concern for their educational needs. They are fed a stagnant generic curriculum irrelevant to their future. TIA claims they are college prep but look at their test scores and the grade given by the state. They can claim only one graduate in the last ten years who attends community college (attends only). They claim an international focus and promise foreign travel to students parents and employees, but trips are cancelled without explanation. They claim they are a technology school but classrooms have no computers to do Internet based research or make use of Internet based innovative educational trends. So what is left is an irrelevant education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

TIA fell apart at the end of this year. Everything at TIA is about how things look on the outside. There is no real conviction except for making a profit and keeping the state money coming in, and staying in business. Teachers are not respected and treated unprofessionally. A very high turnover rate at all campuses reflects how they are treated in a cold uncaring corporate atmosphere. Teachers are expected to follow all orders, do what they are told, with no room for input, innovation or suggestions. When TIA can not pay its bills and can not pay for substitute teachers due to poor business decisions all sick days are cancelled and you are fired if you call in sick. You are forbidden from working second jobs due to poor pay and you are forbidden to speak to some former employees or you will be fired. A very controlling, cold, compassionless work environment.There are many caring compassionate professionals coming through TIA, but they leave as soon as they can (often in mid-year) as reflected in high turnover rates. Those that are innovative, creative and compassionate do not fit in to the cold corporate model and leave are let go or are fired.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2013

Poor quality teachers. Combined to many grades and forget the kids that need extra help. Principal and staff will not expell a student even after he has exposed him self in school cause as it was stated to me they lose money. Bathrooms r always broken. Building so small and they want more kids there. They do not prepare for college or even the next grade. These school are very bad!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

T.I.A EAST - The teaching at this school is o.k. but too many grades combined. Youll have to pack your kids lunch though because they serve them small portions so they can send the rest home with one of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

Our kids have been successful, safe, and happy at TIA! Our family believes TIA to be a quality school! Our kids have learned much more and have had a much better experience at TIA than at their previous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

My kids love Tucson International Academy! They feel safe and that their teachers care about them. They have been going here for years and don't want to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

These schools are in decline. Teacher quality has dramatically declined from three years ago. They are a for profit corporation and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

Our kids were lumped into a room with children as much as 4 years older than they are. It reminded me of how the one room schools from the 1800's must have been run. It seems to be a good school for children who are permanently expelled from the public schools, but it isn't a place for children to learn or grow. Parent involvement is all that keeps this school running.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

Our children did not return. They did not like the teachers, or the environment. We felt communications were poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

I LOVE TIA MIdvale! I have been going to midvale for 3 years and theres nowhere else Id rather go! The teachers are very helpful and they make sure all the students are getting a great education. I really enjoy being in a small school and small class. My teacher is able to pay attention to me and help me when I need it. I love TIA!!!!!


Posted October 19, 2010

TIA is a small, caring, community of learners with dedicated staff and students. We are really pleased with TIA. Our children are receiving a quality education in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

This school is a joke, especially the midvale campus! Small, dirty and the teachers are not qualified! The test scores were enough to send me RUNNING from this school! If you want your child(ren) to succeed, pick a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

This is not a review of this school but a clarification. This school is not the International School of Tucson (where my children attend) and the two schools are very very different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

I was very disappointed with this school and the lack of organization at the East side TIA. My kids attended for almost 2 years and that time was a complete waste. The teachers are only concerned with how your child looks on paper, not what they actually learn (which for my kids was not very much) They state that they teach Spanish and Chinese, but neither of my children learned either language. The school is dirty and the teachers do not seem to care about the welfare of most of the students, who are basically kick-outs from public schools. The teachers do not allow bullying and the superintendent does not return calls. My kids are now attending a private school and the difference is night and day. They can speak beginning Spanish after only a few months at this new school. I would never recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

In my experience as I student I've learned to love and accept the ideas of teaching at The Broadway Campus passing downtown. There is no problem whatsoever with any teachers being fired at my campus, in fact we have had the same teachers for nearly five years which is almost as long as the time the school has been in business. The parent that posted that comment about how the whole school is not stable because of the quality of teachers that they have should highly reconsider what they just posted. There are 4 overall T.I.A campuses in Tucson. He or she was mostly likely talking about the west campus located near Pima West. We have no problems like that at my campus. I repeat, we have no problems like that whatsoever at my campus. Our teachers here at the 'MAIN BROADWAY CAMPUS' are not going anywhere
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2010

I have 3 children who attend one of these schools, am very dissappointed in the overall experience, there is no stability there, they fire teachers every few months and the children aren't learning at the level they should be at, because instead of focusing on teaching, they waste time on hiring 'substitutes' There is no structure and when you finally think there is going to be a fit, with the teacher, the school lets them go, due to their high standard that the teacher doesn't comply to. It doesn't make any sense, and it feels it was just a big waste of my children's education, and they will not be back!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 78% 43%
White 20% 42%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A47%
Female 41%N/A49%
Male 59%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (520) 792-3245

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1230 East Broadway
Tucson, AZ 85745
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 792-3255

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Direct Link I
Tucson, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT