Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of Tucson Elementary School

Charter | K-5 | 318 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

The school needs to invest in fixing the situation at pick up. With a little time and money this mess could be fixed. It is a direct reflection of the lack of organization,drive, and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

There is obviously a problem with a school when it has such high turnover. There are many teachers who left for many reasons. One of the reasons is the lack of respect for the Administrator. It becomes very apparent to a staff when the person that you are working under does very little with their time. Teachers work extremely hard for their paychecks. A staff expects their superiors to work harder than they do, not significantly less.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

I asked a teacher why the turnover is so high at this school. I was suprised to find out that the teachers haven't had a raise in several years. This becomes hard to take when you must also take on the responsibilities of superiors who delegate their work load. It's shameful really. I pray things change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

My children have been attending the Academy of Tucson for a number of years now. Although there are always things that we could nit pick about at any school our children attend, I would highly recommend this school. Though we are only a few days into the new year, my children are excited to come home and tell me about their day. Their teachers seem eager to be at school and are jumping into the year feet first with positive attitudes. This is a school that allows for parent involvement on a regular basis, extension field trips that add to the student learning, and opportunities for the students to excel academically. Sure the parking lot issue is tough, and traffic the first week seemed unbearable. But honestly it is worth it to me to wait in traffic a few extra minutes to make sure that all students are safe at dismissal. Remember nothing runs smoothly without practice. In no way is the traffic issue a reflection of poor leadership, the parking lot issues have been around long before this was AOTE. The principal is very approachable, he seems to have good rapport with his staff, parents, and students. This is a great community school that strives for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I asked a teacher why the turnover is so high at this school. I was suprised to find out that the teachers haven't had a raise in several years. This becomes hard to take when you must also take on the responsibilities of superiors who delegate their work load. It's shameful really. I pray things change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I am amused by all the negative reviews. They all carry the same theme, almost as if they were written by the same person who has an axe to grind. Complaining about the parking situation on the first day of school is sheer lunacy. I suggest you check out the parking lots on some of the TUSD schools. My children have been going to AOT for the last 6 years. Currently one in 6th grade and one in 2nd grade. I throughly trust all the teachers at AOT. They are all high quality teachers. Yes some did leave over the summer. One moved because her husband got transferred to another city, another got a better paying position. Such is life. The current princial is the best we have had in the 6 years we have been here. He has the most open door policy I have seen. He is on the playground in the morning before school starts, you can make appointments to see him, he is at the monthly Parent Advisory Committee meetings. He even has a monthly Peter Piper Pizza day where you can meet with him off campus in a neutral setting to discuss any school business you want. I have not seen any other school official do that. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

This school lacks leadership. This is reflected in pick up and parking procedures. It is reflected in the lack of professionalism of the administration. It is reflected in the teachers' lack of respect for the administration. Many of the parents that I have spoken with are not happy with the way things are being run at this school. Many of the teachers are frustrated as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

The kindergarten graduation ceremony was wonderful! The pride the principal and teachers have in their students showed through. Thank you all for your hard work with my kiddo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

I saw this principal at an AOT graduation ceremony and was shocked at his casual appearance. As a professional representing a school, I would expect professional attire. Old jeans and an untucked shirt are far from that. This school used to take pride in the image it portrayed to the public.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I have 2 children at this school. We enrolled them this year because the classroom sizes were suppose to be small and the education is suppose to be great. My son is in 3rd grade and carries a 20lb backpack home everyday (he weighs 60lbs). The teachers are rude and talk badly about the students and often yell at the kids for asking questions. The teachers seem to be uninterested in the students or thier success. The parking situation is horrible and is a reflection of the lack or organization and leadership of the principal and staff. I will be pulling my kids out this year and sending them to our local public school for it is better organized and has a principal that cares about her school and her own image.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

After researching several elementary schools, I have decided not to choose The Academy of Tucson. I was not impressed with my meeting with the Administration and I was not at all impressed with the school's website that publishes information with spelling errors. If they can't take a few minutes to proof read, it makes me wonder where else they fall short.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Principals are leaders. i find it disconcerting that this principal chose as the banner photo on FB, a photo of himself standing next to a man holding a beer in his hand. The principal is smiling and giving the thumbs up sign. The man with the beer is a cardboard cut out of someone who is known to advertise a certain beer in commercials. Doesn't this principal realize that students look at these social network sites? That students look up to him and he has a responsibility to set certain examples. Where is the leadership here? Beyond disappointed. I'll be looking for a school that upholds our family's values. This obviously is not the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

I have children in both the elementary and middle school. I was very disappointed to see that the middle school principal was moved to the elementary school. I know that many of the teachers at the middle school were very unhappy with this principal. I hope that this decision doesn't negatively effect the elementary school. From what I've heard I'm afraid it will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

I will also be pulling both of my children out of the school this year. This is our second year at the Academy. I have found the teachers hard to communicate with and the principal ineffective at best. The teachers are frustrated with her also. The lunch program is ridiculous. They have lunch catered due to no cafeteria and is approximately $5.00 per day! The children are required to eat under a ramada rather than indoors, unless it us raining or snowing. They also stand as a school in the morning on the basketball court to say the pledge and sing the school song. Even when the temperature is below freezing. The parking lot is also a disaster. It took me over ten minutes to drive through the lot to pick up my child. I agree with the other parent that the traffic directors try, but there are just too many people in too small a space. Part of the reSins I came to this school was because of the small classes expecting individual attention and do not feel that happens. I am also surprised by the amout of bullying that happens even though there is supposed to be zero tolerance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

The most honest review I can give to this school is a mixed one. It used to be an outstanding school and education and I would have loved for all my kids to spend all their elementary years here. However, the past two years things have been sliding a little downward. Allthough most all of the teachers here are outstanding, many seem somewhat disgruntled and/or unhappy. The school which was once a wonderful academic and family envolved environment has added too many students and lost it's past character. It's over crowded parking lot seems like a catastrophe waiting to happen. The parking monitors help a lot but they can only do so much. I can't imagine it is legal to have so many cars jamming in a small 2 lane parking lot! As if the parking lot nightmare wasn't enough, pulling in and out of the school is a nightmare! The lunch program is sub par at best. It is still a good school but not nearly the academic environment it once was. I was one of it's biggest fans and am really, really sad to be taking my kids out after the end of this school year, but I don't see things looking up here for the future. I will miss the lovely campus, great teachers and great office manager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

We have two children at AOT Elementary and have found the teachers, entire staff, classroom environment, and fellow parents to all be above our expectations. Both of our children are being challenged and are progressing wonderfully. Parents have to be willing, from Kindergarten on to spend some time almost every weekday studying with their children... You can reliably expect homework and study material daily and weekly. Our kids are making friends and we are meeting other good parents. Opportunities to help out in class, during special events, and after school keep parents involved and help them get to know one another too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

This is a great school! The teachers are caring, and communicate well with the parents. They work very hard to get students up to par. The curriculum is rigorous and may not be for all families, however, my children love their teachers and friends that they have made. The current principal of this school is very difficult to communicate with, if there is more than one thing going on at once she gets quickly overwhelmed, and cannot communicate. The teachers don't seem as happy as they have in past years, the lack of leadership may be why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

As a former teacher here I must say that this school is wonderful. The class sizes are small (about 20 students per class) and the staff here is great. Along with an excellent education the school also offers PE, Art, Music, and a Library. Learning is important at this school and the teachers truly care about all the students.


Posted October 12, 2010

My son and I absolutely love this school. Class sizes are relatively small so the children get more 1:1 attention. I also love the fact that there is a no bullying policy which is strictly enforced so that my son can focus 100% of his attention on learning. Teachers and staff are very personable and will take the time to address any concerns you have without redirecting you to someone else that's not going to help you. The curriculum is geared more towards actual life and problem solving skills and is presented in a way my son can easily understand and assimilate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

My son has been a student at Academy of Tucson since Kindergarden. He's currently in 4th grade and his studies are 'excelling'. Not only is he advancing in math, science and reading. AOT's behavioral expectations have led to good citizenship and knowledge of conservation and sustainability. I recommend this school to all familes that care about their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9209 E. Wrightstown Road
Tucson, AZ 85715
Phone: (520) 886-6076

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT