Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of Tucson Elementary School

Charter | K-5 | 318 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2009

My children attended AOT for four years and over all I liked the school. While the first 2 years I loved the school. Many changes happened and some things I was not fond of. Somethings that were small were passed over when the could have very easily been changed. As for the homework it is a lot and very hard for some children, especially when the did not start in Kinder at AOT. My children never had a problem with homework or projects and were always done in less that the time I was told it should take. We have since left and attend a public school(not TUSD) were my children are moved up at levels they would not have been allowed to at Aot. They are given more opportunities to be in higher levels of learning rather than keep with the class at the same basic level .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My daughter is in K, and I absolutely love this school and their wonderful staff. I feel welcomed and not just another mother. My daughter will continue her education here till college and my son will attend as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

Well here we go again! My daughter is entering the 4th grade and the school is going on their 3rd principal since she started. I cannot tell you how many different music teachers have come and gone, the last one was great with the kids. Our new principal was one of the 4th grade teachers so I'm actually looking forward to her as principal. I have no doubt in my mind my son will do just fine in 1st grade as we have had this teacher before and she was awesome. Its really sad though when during your summer you start to have anxiety about the year to come. I guess I will just have to wait and see what the Stewarts have in store for us next!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

My child just completed 4th grade and had an excellent year (as usual). The fourth grade teachers are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

My child has attended AoT Elementary School since her kindergarten year and next year she will be entering the 5th grade. What a terrific school! I feel the school has given her the foundation which will help her succeed in middle school, highschool, college and beyond. In addition, this school has the best teachers around and an administrative staff that really cares about the students. I couldn't ask for anything more. I know our school will be experiencing some changes in the upcoming years, but I am extremely confident they will not affect the quality of education my child will receive. I believe these changes will make us an even stronger community. Thank you AoT staff!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

A big thank you to the teachers, resource teachers, and principal at Academy of Tucson Elementary! You identified my child's learning challenges, and also recognized his potential. AOTE has gone the 'extra mile' to help my son. More importantly the teachers at AOTE believe in my son, encourage him, and challenge him in a loving way. My kids would say, 'You Rock!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

We have been at this school for many years and I believe overall it is a great school. However, it is true that 3rd, 4th and sometimes 5th grade has way too much homework. 3rd and 4th seem to be the hardest. There are a ton of projects that require many hours of help at home, and the homework does not adjust to help families with this. The result? Little time for anything but school. Even though it is touted as a college prep school, the administrators seem to forget that they are just kids. I have seen quite a few students (and parents) get burned out. I wish they could balance it better. Although I love our school, for the first time we are considering other options. I do not want my kids to burn out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

My child is in kindergarten at aot and I am very torn about how I feel. At times they seem to be a superb school, yet when certain situations occur, I feel that they will not even attemp to hear the whole story, rather take action with out really knowing the truth. I don't feel like anyone really cares about my child. I feel almost ignored as if my child and I don't matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Great school overall, especially compared to TUSD. The academic program is excellent although it is rough for the 3rd and 4th graders; 2 hours average homework time means that there is less time for family and sport activities. When you try to talk to the administrators, principal or teachers about the lengthy homework the standard response is 'It's the Academy way and maybe the Academy is not right for your child. We are a college prep school!' Just beware that it is a huge commitment to have your child here. They will get a fantastic education, but less time to be a child. Special note: We do have excellent teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

My children are in their third year at AOT and I couldn't be more pleased. Here's why: rigorous curriculum; high academic and behavior standards (which are fairly and consistently enforced); small size means everyone knows everyone else; high parental involvement; energetic and enthusiastic teachers; really good kids, for the most part; good extra activities (in addition to music, art, and PE during the school day, they have strings, drama, sports, chess club, and other activities after school). And not to be discounted is the fact that my kids feel safe and important here. This is largely due to an extremely involved principal who knows each child personally (not just by name) and is out interacting with the kids at every recess and during lunch and who does not tolerate bullying or harassment of any kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

Hands down the best option for your child here in Tucson !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Great school. I would recommend it for anyone currently trapped in TUSD. The teachers are pleasant and dedicated, and the Principal appears firmly in charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

I was very unhappy with my choice of this school for my child. Traffic is a nightmare when picking up or dropping off. The leadership is poor and supervision is lacking. If none of those matters are important to you then it may be a great school. I am truly surprised this school could have any positive reviews. Please,dont take my work for it, find out for for yourself. What have you got to lose?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

I love this school. My daughter was at a public school and just faded into the woodwork. If you asked her a question she just shrugged. We brought her here and Mrs. Huges and Mrs. Thompson worked with her reading skills and just really brought her out of her shell. She loves these teachers. Now she is actively involved, and a great student. The teachers won't let you get lost here. They are well organized in the classroom and challenging! The campus was a beautiful older private school. It makes me feel very safe because it is back off the road. Unfortunaly what makes it feel safe makes it slower to pick up students. The safety is more important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

Having been at the Academy of Tucson for my child's Kindergarten year, I could not be more pleased with what we have experienced. Mr. Conner is a leader of the highest quality, listening to parent's concerns, and being invested in each child's success. While he might not agree with a parent, parents always receive a thoughtful reasonable answer and explanation. The teachers are of the highest quality and the rigorous curriculum exceeds expectations, as has my child's performance. I feel she is being prepared for future years of education. I look forward to each of my children experiencing the Academy of Tucson's quality, inspiring educational experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

The principal knows all the kids' names. So what. When it comes to being a good leader, he is lacking. To name a few things: The playground at lunchtime is a free-for-all. When he is approached with a concern, all you get is lip service. While the academic rating is good, there are plenty of schools out there equal to it. Obviously, I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

This is our last year to attend Academy of Tucson Elementary. It has been a wonderful experience for our child coming into the school at fourth grade and concluding with fifth. Prior to Academy we experienced the TUSD system and we have absolutely NO regrets with changing! The emphasis placed on education as a whole and not just to teach the students for what may or may not show up on a standardized test is very refreshing. As a result of this experience we will be continuing on within the Academy of Tucson schools. Next stop- Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My children were homeschooled prior to enrollment at AoT. This past year, they have thrived both academically and socially. I am impressed with the principal and his high standards for the children and staff. He took the time to get to know my children by name as well as others and pays special attention to each one. My children are rewarded by their teachers which motivates and encourages them to be their best. The curriculum is challenging and above the bar. I couldn't have chosen a better fit for my children in choosing a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

WE have been so pleased with AOT Elementary. From the involved parents; super commited teachers and extra activities such as sprts,a rt and music. The advanced and tailored education our first grader recieves in his small classromm ; I know is far superior to what we would be offeres elswhere . AOT truly makes charter schools proud. Indeed is s private school; high academic and personal standards without the high cost of private tuition. It is a joy for us and for our son to go to school every day. He loves it !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Great! Our son absoltley loves going to school every single day. Learning is fun and challengin; strong community sence and friendships. The admin. Does a great job structuring classrooms and curriculum. Both academic and personal standards are high. Makes charter schools the buzz word aroung town for sure. We love the personal attention and small class sizes. The teachers are in love with whatthey do-- no burnedour kindergarten ladies here --it is a happy place to learn and grow
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9209 E. Wrightstown Road
Tucson, AZ 85715
Phone: (520) 886-6076

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT