Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Paloma Academy (Lakeside)

Charter | K-8 | 860 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2007

My daughters went to LPA for two years and I regret ever enrolling them there.They have no discipline for student or the staff.The school always looks dirty. The staff in the front desk were disrespectful to the students. The teachers didn't care what went on in the classroom. My daughter was an A student and very respectfull, but if they don't respect you then whats the point.We send our kids to school thinking they are getting the best education and being supervised.The lunch in the other hand, was always cold and disgusting.I thank God I took them out of that school, with the experiance we had I think i took to long in getting them out. I guess you don't want to believe that it could actually happen. Overall I give this school a big F.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

I have never had such a bad experience at a school. We recently moved here and my child was a Gifted student with reading and math scores off the charts. I knew everything about his education and where he was excelling and where he needed help. Now, I get a piece of paper with 5 grades on it and no explainations as to where he is supposedly struggling. This school is making my child physically ill. He has never had such bad grades and missed so much school. I cant wait to get him out of there. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

My family and I relocated to Tucson in 2005, I registered my two sons in a public school and the first week of being there, they hated it. I visited their classrooms a couple of times and wasn't even acknowledge by one of the teachers. I pulled them out and registered them at La Paloma Academy, they loved it there. The teachers are very skilled and the administration is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

I read with great interest the comments made regarding this school. I would like to refer to a few comments made. First of all I would like to express the love that eludes from the members of administration towards all students. I have never been to a school,where students are important human beings, not just kids and numbers. The principal has a genuine love for each and every student, and one can feel the gentleness and tenderness just by meeting with him and walking out of his office. The schools have many and fun activities, if only more parents would take the time to be involved to make a difference.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 8, 2006

My children love La Paloma Academy. They have wonderful teachers and low class sizes. I would reccomend this to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

Very friendly office staff and a always visible principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

Supervision is horrible at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

This school is in dire need of funding. Therefore all children are welcome. That means children that have been expelled from another school, behavoral problems, mental problems, all these children are at this school. It is a numbers game here, it's all about the 'funding' for every child in their seat on the 100th day, the school gets $75.00 per child. Sadly, this money is never given to the teachers to purchase supplies for their classrooms. Makes you wonder just what that money is being used for? I urge you to re-think sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

The staff seem to have absolutely no controll over the elementary students, or the jr. high students. The teacher and student turn over rate in this school is astonishing. That is until you send your child here for a year and can't wait to get out! This will be my childs last year at this sad excuse for a learning institute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

A nice facility, too bad it is never clean. This school failed the state academic. There is a complete lack of dicipline within the school. They advertise that there is a media center with 20 new computers. Although they do offer computers, there is no age restrictions on these computers. This school has a few shelves with books thrown every where, this is what is called their library. The teachers have to use their own $ to purchase items for their classroom. When ask for resources, they are given none. There is no PTO structure, it is decided by one person. This school does not live up to all the hype, and is border line false advertising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

I am a parent and my kids love this school. They have fun learning. They are happy when we get home at night. I would rate this school a 8.5 only because no trasportation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

I am a certified teacher. I worked at this school and couldn't wait to quit after a year. My son was also a student there.The school is seriously lacking in all areas. Their answer to challenging a gifted student was to give more of the same work. Their middle school classrooms are in constant disarray. There is no decent place for students to eat their lunch. The students are undersupervised. The parents try very hard to improve the school but are unsuccessful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2005

The school is still newer than others, and the teachers and staff are still learning, and correcting issues as they arise, I am pretty happy with how it is going so far with the Lakeside campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Black 14% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 733-7392

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8140 E. Golf Links Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85730
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 733-7373

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Allsport Academy
Tucson, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT