Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Private
Tucson, AZ
Students enrolled: 180
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
CCA represents what a K-6 school should be. There are rigorous academics, but the teachers are nurturing and care for the students while challenging them. CCA is committed to providing a classical education where students are taught according to a tried and true educational method that has been effective for centuries, rather than following educational fads (whole language, outcome based education, common core). The school is covenantal in its approach and does not seek to take the place of the church or the family. Rather it seeks to partner with the church and the family in educating children. We have been a part of the CCA community for over three years now and we have been blessed beyond measure.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
My kids are so loved and feel so safe at Cornerstone. Every teacher and staff member truly cares about my kids and our family. Cornerstone provides such a quality education. The curriculum is so terrific; it stretches my kids, but in a way that they enjoy learning. And they learn the bible, memorize scripture and pray together... nothing beats that!


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
We can not say enough about how happy we have been at Cornerstone Christian Academy. Our child has had an excellent learning experience every year for the last 5 years. The Administration and the teachers are outstanding. They really care about the students and their individual needs. They have small classrooms and they are able to give individual love and attention to each child. The teachers care and it shows, they create a loving, yet challenging environment and really allow the student to learn and grow. They teach them about the Bible, scripture and Jesus love for them. Our child loves the Lord and has thrived since being at this school. They study Latin and shakespeare and really offer a very well rounded education. We couldn't be happier with the Leadership and the entire experience.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been part of CCA for 8 years and we are more than pleased with this community. The teachers teach not only the excellerated academics but they also teach to the heart of the child! A love of learning is fostered here in a genuine way and it can be seen in all four of my children's educational pursuit. We chose this school because we believed they would care for our children most similarly to the way we do in our home! The partnership we, as parents, have with the staff and principal of the school is unprecedented! We love this school!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 3

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
We loved Cornerstone. We loved the teachers. We loved the community. The culture can be a pretentious and money driven, but underneath, the families were wonderful. We were terribly disappointed in the school's leadership however, and chose to pull our children after it was clear that Biblical principals of leadership would not be followed. We chose a school that would foster Christian character, and that just isn't possible when the administration doesn't display it in their own actions. We sought reconciliation with the administration per Matthew 18:5-20 and our meetings were cancelled with an email telling us to go talk to the new head of schools if we had concerns. We were very disappointed with Mr. Jones's lack of character and willingness to speak to us in addressing our concerns.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
My children have been at Cornerstone for 7 years now and we have loved every bit of it! This is not the kind of school where you pay your money, drop off your kids, expect the school to do it all & then complain when they don't. Cornerstone is very much about partnering with parents to raise children. If you are looking for the kind of school where you are welcome in your child's classroom, can call/text the teacher with questions, & take comfort in knowing that not only are they praying for your child, but for you, than this is the school for you. Classes are small and the teachers are an amazing group of godly men & women who are just as concerned about what s happening in my son s heart as they are with the info going into his head. As for the academics, my oldest is extremely smart (reading at age 3) and he was challenged all the way through Cornerstone. They use a classical approach - which means that they will learn how to write (even in cursive!) and how to think logically and critically. When my kids go out into the world, I want them to know how to think for themselves and defend their beliefs. That's the education they re getting at Cornerstone & Pusch Ridge!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Both my children have gone through this excellent school. My son is currently a sophomore at Pusch Ridge Christian Academy and my daughter attends the honor college at American University in D.C. The grounding in the classical ideals of truth, beauty and goodness has impacted their lives and ours. CCA spread a banquet before my children of excellence in their curricula, methodology and leadership. Thankfully the leadership represented today carries on the rich traditions of the founders and their ideals for glorifying God in all areas of education and partnering with the home in their God given responsibility in raising their children to be Disciples of Christ.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Regarding the negative comments posted: The negative comments are are not edifying & are stumbling blocks to those who read them. Let us learn hence how hateful falsehood is to the God of truth, and not only shun a direct lie, but all advantages from the use of doubtful expressions, and double meaning in our speech. Cornerstone Christian Academy truly is an excellent school, but you shouldn't need an online school review to convince you! Prayerfully consider & see for yourself how the fingerprint of God is all over the school!


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We believe that a great school is only as great as its leaders. The administration and pastors that lead this school have failed this school community in how they make decisions and hide truth from the community they are to serve. They do not act in accordance with Biblical principles. They merely preach words but do not act on His Word when push comes to shove. The events that took place in the 2013-2014 school year and the rumors that came directly from the mouths of school board members and Pastors from the church is the reason we are pulling our kid from this school. This is not what we are paying over 8K a year for. This is not the Godly example we seek for our child. Our child's teacher began treating us very differently once she learned we were not returning. This too is wrong! This school is loaded with problem that start with the head pastor at the church and go straight down! This school will not be great under his "leadership"!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This school has exceeded every one of our expectations. As a military family we have had experience with several schools in different States and knew how important it was to choose a school both for it's academic achievement and its focus on the hearts of its students. From the first day it was evident that the teachers and staff genuinely care about who the students are and not simply about what they can learn. The family feel of the community at CCA and the intimate involvement of the teachers make it truly unique. It is not uncommon to have a teacher text or call me after school to comment on an achievement my child made that day or an area of confusion that we could help our child with in homework that night. Its truly a team effort to raise Godly intelligent, mature people in an encouraging, loving and grace filled environment. I wish my children had an education option like Cornerstone near every base we were stationed and I highly encourage anyone considering this school to take a closer look. We truly believe that this school is in a league of its own.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Christian Academy
6450 N Camino Miraval, Tucson, AZ  85718
(520) 529-7080
Last modified Cornerstone Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Cornerstone Christian Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top