Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
180 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
Cornerstone grants an education I wish I had as a child. It has a loving atmosphere, dedicated teachers, and a wonderful community. I know my child is cared for , challenged and respected. The biblical worldview is a must in this lost generation. I am sad to see negative posts as what I read is simply untrue. I have three kids in the system and have never experienced anything like what was posted.

Cornerstone Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
HORRIBLE LEADER, teachers, this school should be a public school as they do damage to the children


Cornerstone Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
The school favors students from families in the inner click. SAVE YOUR CHILD!! They are a wolf in Sherpa clothing.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 23, 2014
- a parent
We have just completed a semester of kindergarten at Cornerstone and could not be more thrilled about how much our daughter has learned and how much she loves school. She is on Christmas break and is already asking when she can go to school again. The kindergarten teachers (all 4 of them) are absolutely amazing!! They are loving, patient, kind, gentle, fun, smart women and the kids adore them. If the rest of the teachers at Cornerstone are as terrific as the kindergarten teachers, we will be in for a terrific elementary education and experience!! Thank you kinder teachers, and thank you Cornerstone!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
CCA represents what a K-6 school should be. There are rigorous academics, but the teachers are nurturing and care for the students while challenging them. CCA is committed to providing a classical education where students are taught according to a tried and true educational method that has been effective for centuries, rather than following educational fads (whole language, outcome based education, common core). The school is covenantal in its approach and does not seek to take the place of the church or the family. Rather it seeks to partner with the church and the family in educating children. We have been a part of the CCA community for over three years now and we have been blessed beyond measure.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
We can not say enough about how happy we have been at Cornerstone Christian Academy. Our child has had an excellent learning experience every year for the last 5 years. The Administration and the teachers are outstanding. They really care about the students and their individual needs. They have small classrooms and they are able to give individual love and attention to each child. The teachers care and it shows, they create a loving, yet challenging environment and really allow the student to learn and grow. They teach them about the Bible, scripture and Jesus love for them. Our child loves the Lord and has thrived since being at this school. They study Latin and shakespeare and really offer a very well rounded education. We couldn't be happier with the Leadership and the entire experience.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been part of CCA for 8 years and we are more than pleased with this community. The teachers teach not only the excellerated academics but they also teach to the heart of the child! A love of learning is fostered here in a genuine way and it can be seen in all four of my children's educational pursuit. We chose this school because we believed they would care for our children most similarly to the way we do in our home! The partnership we, as parents, have with the staff and principal of the school is unprecedented! We love this school!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 3

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
We loved Cornerstone. We loved the teachers. We loved the community. The culture can be a pretentious and money driven, but underneath, the families were wonderful. We were terribly disappointed in the school's leadership however, and chose to pull our children after it was clear that Biblical principals of leadership would not be followed. We chose a school that would foster Christian character, and that just isn't possible when the administration doesn't display it in their own actions. We sought reconciliation with the administration per Matthew 18:5-20 and our meetings were cancelled with an email telling us to go talk to the new head of schools if we had concerns. We were very disappointed with Mr. Jones's lack of character and willingness to speak to us in addressing our concerns.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
My children have been at Cornerstone for 7 years now and we have loved every bit of it! This is not the kind of school where you pay your money, drop off your kids, expect the school to do it all & then complain when they don't. Cornerstone is very much about partnering with parents to raise children. If you are looking for the kind of school where you are welcome in your child's classroom, can call/text the teacher with questions, & take comfort in knowing that not only are they praying for your child, but for you, than this is the school for you. Classes are small and the teachers are an amazing group of godly men & women who are just as concerned about what s happening in my son s heart as they are with the info going into his head. As for the academics, my oldest is extremely smart (reading at age 3) and he was challenged all the way through Cornerstone. They use a classical approach - which means that they will learn how to write (even in cursive!) and how to think logically and critically. When my kids go out into the world, I want them to know how to think for themselves and defend their beliefs. That's the education they re getting at Cornerstone & Pusch Ridge!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Both my children have gone through this excellent school. My son is currently a sophomore at Pusch Ridge Christian Academy and my daughter attends the honor college at American University in D.C. The grounding in the classical ideals of truth, beauty and goodness has impacted their lives and ours. CCA spread a banquet before my children of excellence in their curricula, methodology and leadership. Thankfully the leadership represented today carries on the rich traditions of the founders and their ideals for glorifying God in all areas of education and partnering with the home in their God given responsibility in raising their children to be Disciples of Christ.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Christian Academy
6450 N Camino Miraval, Tucson, AZ  85718
(520) 529-7080
Last modified Cornerstone Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Cornerstone Christian Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top