Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

International School of Tucson

Private | PK-5 | 110 students

We are best known for educational programs.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $157,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 15 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2009

I love the inquiry based teaching that my son is flourishing in!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My son loves learning at IST. Students experience a very well-rounded curriculum in addition to Spanish, French, or German language immersion. The IST community - staff/teachers, students, families - creates a wonderful environment to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

International School of Tucson is a fantastic school!!! My grandsons are fluent in French! We love all the great teachers, parents and students who make up the IST community


Posted September 16, 2009

IST is an amazing place to learn! They teach immersion programs in Spanish, French and German. Most of the teachers are native speakers and some even travel to Tucson just to teach at our school. The curriculum is advanced and the student/ teacher ratio is very low. Our kids have fun every day incorporating music, singing, art and sports into their week!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It's a great school! Outstanding faculty, outstanding families, outstanding program. Go IST!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 2, 2009

We have been here several years now and each year decide, despite at least one annual egregious mismanagement by administration of some important situation or other, to give it another chance. They do seem to be slowly but surely learning from mistakes and things do seem to run more smoothly as time goes on. Once a problem has happened and been badly handled and roundly criticized, a policy does generally appear the following year meant clearly to prevent or manage any recurrence. The learning curve is a little steep on this, but it is a new school so things are still being put into place. The administration do try to be approachable and spend quite a bit of time schmoozing with parents especially those most in a position to help the school in some way. Despite these realities we have been happy enough to stay this long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

In general the teacher are doing a great job under this circumstances. But unfortunately it seems as if there is a big mismanagement. Where does all the money we pay go to? Obviously not to the children: there`s much to less space for all the children. 2 different classes have to share one little classroom. It was planned to built another building. But the work on that did not start yet. The most frustrating point about that, is that parents didn`t get informed about this fact. They even didn t get informed that a teacher is not here yet. Communication doesn`t work at all! I think parents should know in advance how things will be at the new school year (before they sign the contract). I feel that the director is not a honest man in this point!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

I wonder how other parents are so satisfied with that school. I`m just disappointed. The rooms are dirty, there s no structure, it is so chaotic and everything is off the wall. As long as you are not critical everything seems to be fine. If you complain about things you will feel not welcome anymore and your issues will not be discussed. It`s a really bad management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

We have two children attending IST (pre-school and 1st grade) and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are outstanding, and the parental involvement is exceptional. IST is the perfect school for active, creative, curious children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

This is a great school. The teachers are extraordinary and there is a wonderful sense of community. I think it's the best option for preschool near downtown, and as the school develops more (it's still fairly new) I believe it could become the best option for older children as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

We have just enrolled our children here. We were at another school nearby but left because of the lack of academics. So far, we are very pleased with IST. Our children very quickly learned letters, numbers, shapes in French and keep asking us for the words in English because of the excitement for learning IST is giving them. The program could probably be called structured play, unlike the unstructured play in every school we looked at. The play is appealing to children. the structure gets them to learn. So far, we could not be happier (and it is a refreshing change to be with educated, international parents).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

I have just read the most recent review and do not in the least agree with this opinion about the Director . This sounds like a sour parent who has a personal issue with the Director. My opinion is that the Director has high standards and expectations for the school and believes IST's program is the best in Tucson, and I agree. He has an amazing vision for the school, and with the school's wonderful teacher and parent support, he has been able to grow the school from 5 students to almost 100 in just under 3 years. My experience with two other excellent international schools confirms that this Director has brought IST to similar excellence; Tucson should be proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

This is our second year at IST and we love it. The program is great, the teachers are fantastic, the only thing that is not outstanding are the buildings but the school is downtown and is doing a good job with the facilities which it does have. There is a strong and active parent association. The directors are very approachable and seem to be available 24/7. Fees are quite low for the quality of the program and compared to other schools in Tucson and payment plans are available. We love IST, although it is an international school, with international standards and it is a school not a 'play program' (not for everyone).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Mandingo
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Four students ranked in the top ten in "Le Grand Concours" national French examination (2009)
  • All students "Excellent" or "Distinguished" in the Southern Arizona Language Fair (2009)
  • First Grade First Prize Southern Arizona Regional Science and Engineering Fair (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French, German, Spanish, English
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Mandingo
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • RC Young
Gender
  • Coed

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French, German, Spanish, English
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Mandingo
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Active parent association numerous cultural and social events frequent visiting speakers
More from this school
  • We are Tucson's international school and increasingly a focal point for both international families and families with an international outlook. We have just been named by the German government as one of its worldwide partner schools, one of only ten in the US.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1730 North 1st Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85719
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 406-0552

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT