Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
170 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
63 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 88 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


International School of Tucson 4

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
My son is in his fifth year at IST. We have been very satisfied with the education that he is receiving at the school and also with how the school has nurtured his growth as a well-rounded empathetic child who can fit into a global community. As indicated in the faculty bios on the school website, the teachers at IST are all qualified to teach in their particular subjects. The curriculum is challenging and as with any school that has a small class size, the children receive a fair amount of individual attention from their teachers. The after school programs (e.g., chess, STEM, Zumba, ballet, basketball/IM sports to name a few) and the instrumental music program are fantastic.

International School of Tucson
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
A lot of the teachers have ZERO teacher training, immersion training, or anything. They are mostly uncertified teachers because the school pays very little and doesn't give benefits.


International School of Tucson
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
The head of school models disrespect towards everyone who doesn't have any power over him so that's not respectful

International School of Tucson
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
terrible examples in the adults so I don't think the children learn how to be fair, kind people

International School of Tucson
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
The board members at this school as well as the principal don't care about poor students or students from single parent households, or basically any student that isn't the child of a board member or someone with a lot of money. I think that does not teach the children honestly or integrity.


International School of Tucson 5

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Both of my kids have been at IST since they were 2.5yrs old. There has been a lot of change since my son first began 4 years ago but the change is all positive! We love the administration and have had a wonderful experience with all the staff. Our kids love going to school and they come home speaking Spanish (which they are enrolled in) but also some Chinese and a few words of other languages. They are developing a wonderful sense of the vast world around them and an appreciation for other cultures. There are so many benefits of an immersion education and we are so excited to continue to watch them thrive at IST.

International School of Tucson 1

Posted March 15, 2015
- a parent
We haven't been happy with this school, there are not consistent standards and it is not as rigorous as other schools.

International School of Tucson 5

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
We have two children at IST, one in preschool and another in junior (elementary) school in the French program. I have been incredibly impressed by our children's teachers and by the IST community. (And it really does feel like a community) For the junior school in particular, the program is rigorous and the results we have seen with our child in terms of reading (in two languages now), math, and science are one of many reasons why we are so happy with the school.


International School of Tucson 1

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
Experience seems to depend on what program your child is in, your family status, whether or not you are rich, and whether or not you care if your child has actual certified teachers.

International School of Tucson 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
IST is a fantastic school, and our family couldn't be more proud to be a part of it. Our daughter has just begun her third year in Spanish immersion, and with no Spanish spoken at home, is essentially fluent. She is thriving both academically and emotionally. She absolutely loves going to school! Please take any negative reviews you may have read about the headmaster with a grain of salt. He is amazing and we are lucky to have him. Our family has embraced the changes he has made to the school, since the changes have only strengthened the program. As an active member of the Parents Association, I highly recommend stopping by to take a tour to see for yourself what a treasure this school is to the city of Tucson.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

International School of Tucson
1701 East Seneca Street, Tucson, AZ  85719
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. (520) 406-0552
Last modified International School of Tucson is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top