Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

City High School

Charter | 9-12 | 180 students

We are best known for award winning Service Learning.

 
 

Living in Tucson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2012

My child is a senior this year and so far City High has been a great choice. She has learned how to be proactive, outgoing, assertive and matured tremendously. I love their hands on approach, great educational trips oferred and the fact that the teachers are involved and aware orf their students progress and behaviour. Being a smaall school certainly has much to do with it, but the teachers are awsome and I know that my child feels like City High is her second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

At City High-I truly believe that my daughter is getting the best education possible. My husband and I are both public school teachers and had to really think long and hard about what environment was best for our daughter- I wish there was a comparable school in the public school system. With everything the school has to offer-we feel that our daughter is getting an education that is camparable to a private school. Obviously no school is perfect and I am sure that some of the compaints may be valid to the reviewer experience, but I can honestly say that other than downtown parking- we have all enjoyed our past 2 years here and hope to continue loving this school for the next 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

City High School offers a unique program for high school students who want to study in an environment that values diversity and community. I love the fact that downtown Tucson and the surrounding areas are utilized to teach students about history, culture, art and politics. They also offer excellent after school programs. On another note, I really appreciate the dedication of the teachers. They have been instrumental in helping my daughter be responsible and accountable for her actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter just started at City this year and she loves it. It is a perfect place for a creative kid, who likes to interact with and contribute to their community. This may not be the school for every one, but it seems to be a good fit for her. There's a good vibe in the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

City High was a good fit for our family. While not everyone student will thrive in every situation there are enough schools in Tucson so that there are choices. Each parent needs to find the right fit for their child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 11, 2010

Our son had a fantastic experience at City High School. A previous review cited "burnt out professionals." My experience was precisely the opposite. The teachers are there because they want to work there...and the meal they are served is an appreciation from families of the students for their dedication. Under Arizona tax law they do suggest a tax-deductible donation...as do most public, private and charter schools. It can be a big help and costs the family nothing after they receive their tax discount. I have nothing but praise for the school...and wish there had been one like it when I was in high school. Discipline is even and balanced...and thoughtful, unlike many schools. Our son was well prepared for his coming college life - both emotionally and academically. City High rocks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

This is a school whose parents "serve" the faculty lunch and breakfast weekly. The parents are also required to donate amounts of money for their students to suceed. Even failing students can pass with parent money - notice I am not talking about the students first. Students are held to strict, unresearched disciplinary action while at the same time allowed to leave campus during the day to smoke, mingle with the many drop outs around the school and smoke pot. The academics are erratic, the teachers range from a few excellent to many teachers who could easily be labeled whatever their peculiarity they possess. The administration is not qualified, the director vacant and the person who doles out unrealistic disciplinary action a raving tyrant who lets everyone know who she is interrogating for the day. Avoid this school ... burnt out professionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

It is, for the most part, a very good environment. Certain things did bug me though. Focus and special privileges on one overachieving student, who the administration and teachers could never get enough of. Some of the policies changing in the middle of the school year, sometimes with very little thought or consideration of everyone involved, even though this school claims to have such a liberal, democratic, and diverse environment. And it isn't equal representation if you only present one side of the story all the time, without other sides being given equal opportunity to voice their opinions. If you differ at all from majority of the student and teacher population, you get shunned. Just some food for thought.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

Because I think it is a school that has the right attitude about education- to give all kids regardless of socioeconomic background an equal opportunity for a great education so that they can go on to realize their goals! They have a wonderful faculty who is dedicated to being their best to help the kids achieve their best.


Posted June 20, 2009

A very laid back school. A class with a structured curriculum is a rarity. As a semi intelligent student(if not, more), I did not feel academically challenged and managed all 'A's and 'B's completing the little work given to me with no care. The school boasts that they are a college prep school, but I feel no more prepared for college than I did in my freshman year. From my two years at City High School I have disrespected authority with no reprimand and felt an actual connection to only one of my teachers, though City High school boasts the personal atmosphere. In the past year City High School has become star struck. During the 2008-2009 school year the school's media attention grew. Administrators seemingly put forth more effort into looking good for the media than actually benefiting the academics, and nonexistent curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

City High School is a place where students do college preparatory work while contribuing to the community, completing an internship, and finding a home in a small community of caring students and adults.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 27% 43%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Paulo Freire Freedom School
Wildcat Middle School
Khalsa Montessori
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
Arizona State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Arizona Dept. of Education Spotlight on Success Award (2006)
  • High Tech High Learning Network School

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jeff Hartman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 547-0680

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Culinary
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cycling
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • bowling, yoga, capoeira
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cycling
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • bowling, yoga, capoeira

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Paulo Freire Freedom School
Wildcat Middle School
Khalsa Montessori

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
Arizona State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

48 East Pennington St
Tucson, AZ 85701
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 623-7223

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT