Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adventure School

Charter | K-4 | 101 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

I was so excited when my child first started school here. An intimate atmosphere with quality 1 on 1. I love the curriculm of the school, my childs teacher, it's unfortunate through interacting with some other parents and through my own experience, how the A-rating has made the owners more money driven fiends! If your status is not of finacial stability you are treated as the low end of the totem pole and must earn your right for your child to attend, otherwise you are invalid. Mind you, Adventure School is a free public charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

My daughter is a kindergartner at Adventure Schools. She loves the teachers, AND the learning curriculum they have in process. They are always learning tons that fascinate her! Also in the most creative way to teach everything! There is a ton of caring from the teachers all the way to the all the students here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

My granddaughter has been in the day care portion since she was. 18 months old and they were there to help with all her phases including biting. Now she is in kindergarten and she loves it so much. Her teachers are firm but fair and encouraging. The school is a A rated school with the State of AZ. She was very timid of the older kids but with the help of the teachers I can now be on time for work and she is always excited to go to school. She even comes home to do her own "homework". The administrator and teachers know about our situation and are very kind and helpful. The school loves the kids and I am amazed how quickly they learn. The kids are kind to each other and they have a kindness program that works. My granddaughter even stayed after one day to sweep the sand back into the play yard to help so the teachers could go home early. We love this school ! They even say the Pledge and so many schools don't. They are an old fashioned school with up to date teaching. We have highly recommended this school.


Posted July 16, 2012

My child has attended Academy Adventure school for over a year and loves it. I am so glad that I can feel good about the school I take my child to to learn and have fun. The teachers here are wonderful and the staff is very polite and helpful anytime I have ever needed anything. Thank you Academy Adventures and keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2012

This school is Great. The program they use to allow children to be comfortable, have fun, and learn is simply exceptional. This school is dedicated to young children's early development and this is great. The teachers here are all very good at their positions and the staff is constantly striving to maintain the highest of standards for the children and the environment provided. I would recommend this school to anyone who would like their children in a program that is healthy, fun, and caring of their child's early development years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

I love this school. They are kind and intelligent and I am so proud my daughter is lucky enough to attend such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

I love this school i wish there was room for my 3 erd grader.The teachers are out with the kids at recess so any issues are taken care of right away. They new my son by name right away and always welcomes all the kids when they arive. My child is learning things my older did not learn in k. I would recomend this school to anyone. Love them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Hispanic 31% 42%
Black 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5757 E. Pima Street
Tucson, AZ 85712
Phone: (520) 296-0656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT