Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Senita Valley Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 677 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

SENITA VALLEY IS ABSOLUTELY THE BEST SCHOOL IN THIS AREA. PRINCIPLE STAFF AND TEACHERS ARE EXCELLENT!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

This is our second year at senita and I am very impressed with student safety. Adults wear yellow vests are seen outside at all times during drop off and dismissal. Great education, great secretaries and great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

We have had our children at Senita Valley for four years and we love it! In our experience, the teachers are so engaged and proactive in the kids' education and we can't say enough positive things about them. The principle is completely engaged and is seen daily on campus, personally making sure everything is running smoothly and making herself available for parent and student interaction. She has high standards, and it shows in her choice of teachers and in our kids' learning. The kids are learning much more than to take tests; they are learning to think critically and creatively. Character is a big focus at SVE and we feel that the staff there is partnering with us in raising caring, intelligent, and responsible kids. We have a total of four children that will be going through SVE, and we are so thankful for this awesome school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

The philosophy of teaching, overall, in the Vail School District tends towards teaching to the test. Vail students definitely know how to test as they are drilled in it daily. Ratings (regardless of their meaning or lack thereof) are of more importance than actual learning. The latest in technology in the classroom (smart boards in every class) more important than knowing whether these technologies actually have any real and lasting impact on learning. Open enrollment has led to overcrowding in the classrooms as the District vies for students (and their accompanying tuition paid by their home school districts). Yes, our children had some wonderful, dedicated and highly motivated teachers at this school. However, several have left and more have indicated frustration with leadership and the trend toward teaching from a script. As is possible with any school, there are also teachers on staff who would be better suited to employment that did not involve interaction with children. We withdrew from the district and have not looked back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

Here is a review from a Dad of three in the Vail schools.... Senita Valley is a great school. The teachers are outstanding. The students are in a great learning enviroment. Year in and year out, I am amazed that with the limited budget, they get a great education, have nice friends, and come home and still have a positive attitudes. A school isn't daycare. We as parents have to get involved. And Vail has all the outlets for us to just that. Power School, lots of activities for us as parents to get involved in, easy access to the teachers and lots of letters coming home to keep us up to date. If you are reading this, it's because you are thinking of having your children to attend here. Take a tour, it's a great school. But then so is all of the Vail schools. Just look at the rankings and reviews. I'm not going to say Senita is the best. I will say Vail is the best. Thank you Calvin Baker for being an outstanding leader!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

Connie Erikson, the Principal is horrible when it comes to physical assaults on other children on campus. School policy was not followed- up on and nothing happened to the other student who assaulted another, per school policy. This is unacceptable and should not be tolerated. Her lousy reputation preceeds her with TPD regarding the lack of conern, rather action in these cases, which have been many. Along these lines are the opinions of other teachers aware of her lackluster leadership when these negative incidents occur. It was quoted from another teacher that "...she tends to sweep these things under the rug to improve her outcomes and funding she receives for this school."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

There's an excellent kindergarten intervention program here. No special ed involved, but they take kids who are struggling the most with pre-reading skills at the beginning of kindergarten and give them extra help. Basically, they get all day kindergarten. At the end of the year, they generally come out ahead of those who didn't get into the program. They don't do non-readers at Senita Valley--not even in Kinder and 1st grade. The principal is excellent, and so is the intervention teacher. In fact, with 4 children that either are going or that have gone to this school, I have had only one mediocre teacher, and she was gone half way through the first year. There is one other teacher that tends to overwhelm her students with the quantity of homework, but a note to her was sufficient to tone it down a little.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

Vail School District lost a lot of funding, because 51% of the district voters refused to renew a budget override last year that has been in existence (through renewals) for more than a decade. And this after massive budget cuts from the state. As a result, all Vail schools have lost significant funding, meaning larger classrooms and huge cuts in Art, PE, and Music. Many schools have cut Art and Music from the curriculum. Teachers and parents stepped up to the plate with lots of volunteer work, and lots of after school programs. The PTA has been doing tons of fundraisers. But it's still hard on the schools, which means it's hard on the kids. We have high hopes for a 2nd (smaller) override election this year. This school, and the district, are excellent. But there's only so much a school can do without money. They have done what they can, in fact, Vail has pioneered the Beyond Textbooks program, which saved boatloads of money on textbooks while making the information to be taught far more up to date and much closer to state standards. They now sell the program to other districts. Though not listed, Rincon Vista Middle School is right next to SVE. It's a 10 too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

Senita Valley is no longer a K-8 school. The school has been divided into Senita Valley Elementary and Rincon Vista Middle. We have had children in both schools and have been very pleased. The schools are smaller and feel safe. The teachers have time to give personal attention to each student and care about their success. Our middle schooler has enjoyed all of the clubs and other activities available at the school. We have especially enjoyed the principals at the Rincon Vista. They are warm, caring, and effective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

Fantastic school! The staff is absolutely wonderful and the education your children receive in the vail district is phenomenal. Trust me, you will miss it dearly if you ever have to move. I had 2 children go there for 2 years. The first year they were open and the following year. Beware of an awful parking lot but that's mainly due to refusal of opening more gates from the community by the mesquite ranch HOA. But it's worth the headache for the education and care your children will get while attending Senita Valley,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Excellent school, magnificent staff, however, (FYI) I would encourage the parents to check the child's school records from time to time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Senita Valley is a really good school for your child, the staff is great and are on top on things! I would highly recommend this school if you are looking for good schools in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I have my child in their kindergarten and they have a great system for advancing kids in any subject. very supportive and caring people who facilitate the best for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 31% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10750 East Bilby Road
Tucson, AZ 85747
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 879-3105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT