Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I am so happy that my both kids are attending a school that teaches respect and understanding of different cultures. So proud to be part of SSA-B. Best school in Arizona! (A parent posted on school's Facebook)
September 20, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The students have been allowed to see fighting, bullying, name calling, yelling, bias and meanness from too many of the staff. I don't feel it's possible to teach what you don't have or display. The overall behavior of the elementary teachers is the opposite of honest, integrity and fairness.

Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway 1

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
I can't stress enough how terrible this school is. We started out wanting all of our children to progress all the way through 12th grade at a Sonoran school. Not on your life now. It starts in the parking lot and works all the way through the head office. One look at the filthy bathrooms including the staff bathroom should have made us run, used feminine products out in the open repeatedly. K-2nd has had serious staff infighting for years. The turnover is high and several teachers I've spoken to directly have named teacher bullying as the reason. They can't seem to manage the older women and a bully who all blatantly favor students, parents and teachers over others. They sit in the front foyer and talk about people. Hello? We can hear you! There is an issue with staff sharing personal info about students. The woman dean (not Mrs. Jackdayo) and the principal are awful; they don't return phone calls, they make excuses instead of problem solve, are never on campus. That female dean is very rude & empirical. Also, anytime we have an issue with her behavior, she blames someone else and refuses responsibility. She has zero people skills yet she works in a school? When we took our complaints to the head office, we were told there was nothing that could be done about her because their hands were tied. What??? This was a wonderful school in it's beginning. My son attended the 1st year. This new principal took a great school and ruined it. It pales in comparison to the SSA-B of 2009. Our youngest has had nightmarish experiences as have we when addressing them.Teachers call them cry babies, literally yell and scream at them, punish them CONSTANTLY and militarize lunch time. After going in repeatedly to observe, we finally just left. And I only refer to K-2, you know, the years when kids decide if they like or hate school! Poor 4th-8th grade teachers don't have a chance to make a difference there. Shame on the admin for allowing the staff to behave so badly. Children are not shorts adults. They're still learning or should be! Kellond Elem is a much kinder, successful, organized, safer, profession solution to elementary education. My comment may not be scientifically stated but it's important for others to know about these people. They destroy the educational ability and experience with bad behavior. Who cares if you can teach is you're mean?


Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Thanks Mr. Hakan, Mrs. Jahan, Mrs. McConnell, Mrs. Houston, Mr. Carbone & Ms. Morley for being so wonderful to my children. Your high standards and fairness was a light in the darkness. I can think of no others who consistently declined the join in the unprofessional behavior during our years there.

Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Really too much. They should be learning at school and have it reinforced at home in an hour or so. 3-5 hours of homework nightly is a sign or poor teaching.

Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The students have been allowed to see fighting, bullying, name calling, yelling, bias and meanness from too many of the staff. I don't feel it's possible to teach what you don't have or display. The overall behavior of the elementary teachers is the opposite of persistence, grit and determination. They spend too much time picking on eachother.


Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The students have been allowed to see fighting, bullying, name calling, yelling, bias and meanness from too many of the staff. I don't feel it's possible to teach what you don't have or display. The overall behavior of the elementary teachers is the opposite of respect.

Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
The students have been allowed to see fighting, bullying, name calling, yelling, bias and meanness from too many of the staff. I don't feel it's possible to teach what you don't have or display. The overall behavior of the elementary teachers is the opposite of honest, integrity and fairness.

Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway 4

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
What's good: The teachers teach a great curriculum, multicultural environment, since there are few good options in the area, this is the better one. The elementary Science Olympiad teacher is excellent. What's bad: Too much yelling, lack of organization, frequent last minute changes, a few busy-body teachers. I'm sure the principals know who they are.


Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway 4

Posted May 08, 2015
- a teacher
This school is better than most TUSD schools. The kids excel if the parents are serious about the kids getting a good education and they must participate. The staff is mostly good. There are a few bad apples and the definitely ruin it for everyone else. On a scale of 1 to 10 I give it a 6, it's meh, not horrible but not in the top 25% either. The physical building it terrible and old and the parking lot gravel shreds the children but the principal has made improvements so it's not as bad. There are issues with the on our deans causing hard feelings and upset and the other is way over burdened and has an unfair share of work. That said. MOST of us really love and care for our students just alike at most schools.

Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway 4

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
Ms. McConnell, Ms. Ashley & Coach R have very high expectations. That's awesome. That is all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway
6880 E. Broadway Blvd., Tucson, AZ  85710
(520) 751-2401
Last modified Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sonoran Science Academy - Broadway Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. Top