Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 1

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
The school is very disorganized. After school activities or extra curricular activities are few and far between. School sports are a joke. The only foreign language offered is Turkish?! The math program is taugh by a computer program because the teacher is too overwhelmed with teaching other grades. Math isn't being taught, it is being practiced (via computer program) without having a lesson. The teacher turn around rate is ridiculous. My daughter has had two new teachers in a semesters time. And from what I understand this is a common occurrence. As far as I'm concerned I can't wait for this year to end so my daughter can start fresh at her new school next year.

Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
I like the structure of the school and professionalism of Sonoran Science Academy - DM. My son receiving excellent education, learning life skills and has goals, because of the INSPARATION AND POSITIVE SUPPORT from all teachers. I m impressed that teachers and the Principal are aware of my child education level, behaviors and strengths. I always feel welcome and easy to communicate with front desk manager and the school nurse as well.


Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a teacher
I love going to work every day, as the students are really good kids with caring parents who collaborate with us regarding their child's learning. The staff often work well beyond the normal daily hours, participate in school events which may occur on weekends and evenings, and are truly interested in students' well being in and outside of school. SSA D-M is a family of which I am delighted that I belong.

Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 3

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
Our daughters attend SSA one in middle school and one in high school. We are very pleased with the academics, the girls are both excelling. The teachers make themselves available for help when needed and that's great. We're sad that their sports program is small and that there is not going to be a track or cross country season for students that want to run.

Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
We love this school! The teachers are highly qualified and really care about students. We're always amazed at the amount of time the teachers spent after school and even on weekends with the students, working on math, robotics, and fun activities (potlucks, trips, etc.). My son has gone through middle school at SSA, and is now attending high school there. We couldn't be happier.


Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 5

Posted November 29, 2014
- a parent
During the first year of my son on this school, he had some challenges with some of his teachers and classmates probably because he is a new student. On his second year on this school, it's great. He has an excellent grades. I love this school. It's focus is STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics). And there are extra curricular acgivites such as clubs, sports and etc. We are so proud and grateful that we put our son on this school. The teachers are great and amazing and so with the Principal and the administrative personnel. The teacher and student ratio is great. School has great communication to the parents. I greatly recommend this school to for any parent/student for Great school in Tucson.

Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 4

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
Sonoran Science Davis Monthan is wonderful. They are great communicating with parents. Teachers work closely with students and give opportunities for help whenever needed.

Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
My son has been at the school since it opened. We have had many ups and downs, but the staff has been very supportive and helpful. We like the ratio of teacher to students and felt this has been a big plus. Communication between the school and parents still needs work.


Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
SSA-DM is an excellent school. The teachers, administration, the curriculum and the communication are the reasons I have my son and daughter at this school. They are proud and care about their students.

Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan 4

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
As a parent, i enjoys that this school gives my son an opportunity to grown in his favorite subjects: Math, Science & Technology. I believe the school overall has much to offer to those who are willing to learn, though my biggest concerns continues to be the lack of classroom control by teachers in classroom. After school programs are also given according to the interest of students, which i am thankful. Class sizes are also small, which is a definite plus!

Nearby schools

Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan
5741 E. Ironwood St, Tucson, AZ  85708
(520) 300-5699
Last modified Sonoran Science Academy - Davis-Monthan is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top