Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cienega High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Cienega loves to pile on the homework. They are planning to change our schedule where we would get almost two times the amount of homework that we already get. I am sure that the teachers don't like grading all of this work so why do they give out so much. As of right now I have four projects due on the same week.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2014

A bad school were kids fight, do drugs , drama is everywhere, if you want a good school go to Andrada
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2013

Cienega High School is not for new students. I am a military kid and recently moved here and I dislike it. I am a Senior and I came a bit late in the year and the "Senior Exit Project" the school has me doing is very hard and I was not aware that I had to do it. Everyone else in the school has known since Freshman year.There was another new Senior that move here and did not know either. This student fell behind in credits and now goes to a secondary school (Pantano High School). I also know at least 2 other seniors that had to transfer. The teachers here aren't that helpful. If you are a military brat and your sponsor has orders to Davis-Monthan AFB, please DO NOT go to this school. It has been horrible for me and I wish I went to a different school. Also, Cienega has many kids that do drugs and many of them do them in the bathroom during school hours. This is not a great as a school as you think it is. I thought it was and know I regret coming here. Please hear me out and DO NOT attend. Thanks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2013

Cienega is the most expensive public school I have seen. Academics are good and have had no problems with my kids getting into fights or being bullied. The only gripe is the cost for your children to be envolved in extracurricular activities. If you have more than one student in your family it is quite expensive, but the Vail Schol District is the best in the area and beats the alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I have been going to school here all throughout high school, and I am now a senior. The teachers are great, and really care about us students. The Arts department is doing well, and there is an abundance of AP classes to choose from. The students are generally very nice, and we are what is called a "kind campus." There are many clubs to choose from, and sports are everywhere. I go to the school for academics, and I can say that I am very satisfied with my overall learning experience at Cienega -- good AIMS scores and good AP scores.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2011

Cienega is a good all around school. Looked at in the vail community as more of a general learning style cienega does not focus on 1 specific learning path. For each of the core classes there is at least 3 teachers that will lead in their own specific teaching style. Academic whys Cienega consistently does its best to challenge the students but not fail every one of them. Effort is key to success in the Vail School District and Cienega is no exception. Since attending Cienega starting my sophmore year i have become very active in the vail community and learned more by doing then by studying. After 2 years of courses i became Marketing Certified. I am on my second year of leading a school snack shack and organizing sales. I also learned how to design and create t-shirts for the many coustomers that Cienega DECA has aquired. We have very good sports and acedemic programs and plenty of options for any student to pursue there passion. You will NOT find a school that will lead your children down the path of there own choosing into a successful future like Cienega ANYWHERE in Arizona.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2011

My experience at Cienega High School was quite fulfilling. I pursued a three year high school career and completed it on time. If I would not have had the support and guidance from my teachers and councilors, I would have been unsatisfied with my achievements. My middle school experience in Sunny Side School District was too easy and dissatisfying, so when I began to attend a school in Vail School District I was very pleased with the challenging curriculum. I find it hard to believe that so many people disliked Cienega that much. I found it to be a wonderful school. As for the fights and the drugs.. high school is full of TEENAGERS! Of course there is going to be some trouble, you're going to find that at ANY school. The only thing I found that was a bit troubling was the class sizes, however I am understanding in the fact that the district is experiencing budget cuts. I feel that the teachers and staff did an amazing job with what they were given.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2011

cienega is trully a great school for education! however, if ur not with doing ur work all cienega is...is kids doing drugs left an right! fight everyday!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2010

It is a shame that parents and students alike criticize the school for what is truly a lack of committ and parenting. Students that apply themselves and participate in school activities have a great experience at Cienega. The staff it there to instruct and when a student is engaged and interested in learning and applies themselves they excel and achieve. It is not the teaching staff that is the problem but societies attitude that everyting is someone elses fault and they fail to take responsibility for themselves. This is a great highschool that provides many learning opportunities and extracirricular activites; with a dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2010

This is a horrible school with teachers who don't care and students who are immature and jerks. If you are not an athlete, fine arts student or a trouble maker, then the school does not care about you and they treat you like you are nothing. Yes, the trouble makers are loved by the staff and never get in trouble. There are constantly fights and students doing drugs and bullying, but if theyre caught, they either get a warning or 1 day suspension. This is a horrible school that only cares about their image!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2010

most students at this school don't learn. They teach the test and most teachers don't care at all. the majority o f kids that go to collage drop out. The art department is strong though along with the sports teams.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2010

In this school the teachers do not care about the students education, i have had numerous complaints saying how the teacher wouldn't help a student just because they think the student doesn't care about their work. that is not exceptable, it is not a very good school, they make big deals out of nothing and not big enough deals out of something else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Cienega High School really cares about students. They do incredibly well academically. They have a staff who are hard working and spend so much time with kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Cienega staff work to make connections with students and to provide exceptional opportunities for students to want to be at our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 25, 2009

The common theme for the students, staff, and administration is 'reaching for excellence'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

wonderful school... not so much a small town school anymore but they do a great job in the transition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Cienega is a great school the teachers are interactive with the students and try there best to explain things to a point.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

It's been a nightmare from day 1 at this disorganized facility. Miscommunication, lack of direction, inept administration concerned with nothing but their own career advancement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

this is an okay skool. when u wanna make fun of da kids at empire its funny and u r more excepted at cienega for it. Tha sports r amazin an evrythin along thosee lines. but i dont think im gettin the right education here and the councelors wnt even giv u an appointment. most of da other students are extremly immature and do not knw how to respect other people. i have never seen so much hate filled into a school that i attend.. i am now a senior and i cannnot wait to get out of here
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2008

I really like the school and the teachers. It is not hard to find a groop to fit into my first day i allready had friends.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 28% 43%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12775 E. Mary Ann Cleveland Wa
Vail, AZ 85641
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 762-2040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT