Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary - Williams

Charter | K-8 | 95 students

Our school is best known for it's quality education, and character program.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

I love this school. My kids have been going here for the last 5 years. They have thrived so much since coming to Heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

I love how this school caters to its community. There is a free breakfast offered to everyone and most of the kids participate, giving them a steady, good start to each day. I also don't know of any other charter that offers van rides to everyone to and from school each day. The class sizes are small, parents are invited to come in and help out/ observe. This school is a small community where communication is healthy and character definitely counts. Students are always encouraged to treat each other with kindness and any mean or thoughtless treatment is strongly discouraged and dealt with appropriately.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2014

I am a parent of a current student at Heritage Elementary. My child loves school and has done very well with the small class sizes and individualized attention. I have met with the principal on a few occasions, and every time I feel listened to and my (and my child's) needs are always addressed. I am so appreciative that we have an option like Heritage to send our child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Heritage School in Williams is a great place to bring your children. The staff and administrators are very caring and believe that each child can excel in whatever they put their mind to. I enjoy working here and look forward to working with the students every day!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2014

A La Paloma sister school in Williams, AZ, Heritage Elementary, allows serious bullying and I know that Ms Janes did not respond to a parent that contacted her regarding it. The principal at Heritage is allowing police report worthy bullying. I know of two parents who pulled out their children from the school this week. However, La Paloma Academy's Ms Janes mentioned to a blog reporter that they expel kids, kids that came from the public schools, Paloma keeps them 100 days and expels them. And well to quote the blog directly: ' the district school won't get any state money for the rest of the year. La Paloma keeps it all.' This makes me understand now why they allow the bullying to go on. I think school districts and the state should be made aware of this, because there is many a parent who can testify to the bullying their children have suffered under a La Paloma Academy school. No homework because they say it lowers esteem. No real science or history classes. Huge joke of a school. Principal showed up for a week with walking pneumonia. 2nd grade teacher brought her sick 4 yr old because she had no place to leave child. Lost a couple of children's prescription medications!


Posted August 8, 2013

My two daughters go to this school, and really like all their teachers. The afterschool Kids Club is awesome! My girls love all the extra activities that they do, and I also love that they are in a great environment. I think I would improve the school by having the parents get more involved with extra activities and have more fun parent/ teacher/ student nights. More events where we can be involved with our kids during and after school. I would also like a grading system that we can log on to each day to see the progress of our kids academics. This way we are aware of the decline in progress and can address it before it gets to late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

OUr school is all about achedemics and developing good character and supporting families in building strong young men and women who want to succeed
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2013

I'm so impressed with this school - it has done so well in academics last year. I'm not sure why GreatSchools rates it 3/10, as Heritage achieved a "B" in the 2013 AIMS testing. Students are always learning and feel safe to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

This school is a wonderful choice for parents. Class sizes are small and Ms. Thies understands the needs of students, parents, and teachers. Its a wonderful school and feels like a family.


Posted October 29, 2012

I am very happy to be working at this school. The overall values and mission is student improvement and character education, two things that are important in education today. We have a very supportive staff and the teachers are great in working with each student as individuals and looking at their needs and how best to reach each student. Our small classes really help students feel valued and help them get the extra attention they deserve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 9, 2009

My children are flourishing at this school. They are high academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

i have two children attending Liberty, an have enjoyed the care that the staff have taken in there education & supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 43%
White 32% 42%
Two or more races 9% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A47%
Female 57%N/A49%
Male 43%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kaytie Thies
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Spalding Phonics, Saxon Math
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Game club
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
98
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Students typically come from these schools
Head Start
Other local schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Williams High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

790 E. Rodeo Road
Williams, AZ 86046
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 635-3998

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT