Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cibola High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My school is a safe and fun learning environment. I think that the teachers are providing fun activities while we learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2010

Honestly a great school!!! If you are stuck deciding between two this is an excellent school and you won't regret going there! Get involved in everything!!! Well there is alot but get involved in most! :) it will make it a much better high school experence! :) have fun but don't get to caught up in it and lose who you are! :) stay true to you, enjoy it, work hard, and get invoved!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2009

awesome teachers and students
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2009

My son recently graduated from this school and I am so proud of him! He failed his junior year twice, and had the added burden of becoming a father at age 14, but the school worked hard to help him graduate! Careful though, some of the teachers, according to my son, are very demanding and have difficult coursework, such as reading a minimum of 1 book a semester and being able to do long division by the end of sophmore year. It's a great, great school! No wonder they call it the Little Harvard on the Colorado!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I currently teach at this school and am refreshed coming from a district that cared more for hoop jumping and the appearance of things then the actual well being of the students and faculty. Staff receive feedback, activities are abundant if students choose to get involved, and the campus is safe. Problems that are common with large schools are evident at this school, but on significantly smaller scale. Coming from another district with 8 years under my belt, Cibola has their act together and models professionalism, a genuine concern to see its kids make it to the next level of education, trade school, or military and a student population that is proud to be a Raider. I watched the principal pick up a piece of garbage on the way to his office; he models in every way his expectations for the school and that tone resonates throughout the campus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2008

Having went to three diffrent high schools. i can say that Cibola is by far the best school in Yuma AZ


Posted February 20, 2008

great teachers great experiences
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

imm a sophomore here and i think it is awesome. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2007

I'm a senor at Cibola, and have been going there for my entire high school career. Freshman year, the teachers are amazing. The Freshman Academy was a genius idea, made better by enthusiastic, intelligent teachers. Unfortunately, as the years progress, the teachers seem to care less and less. The attendance policy punishes people who show up late to class, but lets them off entirely for ditching. Even the security guards don't question it when the final bell rings and people turn straight around to go walk off campus. All in all, the school isn't bad, with a decent student body and administration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

I am a freshman at Cibola High and I'd have to say that it is definately a great school to attend. We have alot of special events that occur throught the year and alot of programs to participate in. Of course there are going to be some gang material and sign of other things that parents may not approve of, but what public school doesnt? The school tries its best to keep the negative things under control, but after all, there is no perfect school. But I do feel like I'm in a safe leaning environment and look forward to my next three years at CHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2007

This school is totally the best! Im a sophmore and I dont wanna leave CIbola in 2 more years! Cibola is very organized and it is the best school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

Cibola high school is a very well organized school. It is always clean. there are barely any fights. Friendly enviroment. Im so happy my daughter is in that school.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

Some of the teachers know not of what they hold. Most can't even do their job right. I used to be a student and from what I'd seen i was introduced to very few academic programs, the music (no practice) wasn't good enough, art seemed way out fo the picture, and sports had no hope of going anywhere (except for varsity). Also, I never seen one parent help out anywhere. I do not recommend this school
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 7, 2006

The school needs to conduct random inspections of the entire school. Rumors of drugs, are not just rumors. There needs to be positive enouragement of academic growth. Students that can achieve the grade necessary to pass the class should not be prohibited from receiving the credit due because they had one to many absences. Obviously the missed assignments were completed or they would not have had a passing grade. For some reason this decision is at the discretion of each teacher individually. Students do not know what to expect from one teacher to the next. The school should encourage excellence not stomp on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Too much gang activity that is allowed to exist and thrive due to lack of police involvement and teachers are scared to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

My son was an honors student at Cibola. Some of the teachers in the Science Department did not know their subject well. The band teacher was excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

All I can say is that my son starts ASU this fall and is pulling in scholorships for academics and art. If a student wants to learn at Cibola, the resources are there for them. Very good security at the school with a closed campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

Cibola has the highest teacher morale in the district since they are generally supported by the parents and the school administration. This positive working condition filters down to the students and they benefit from teachers that enjoy their work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

659 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

641 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 43%
White 17% 42%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 502-6046

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 W 20th St
Yuma, AZ 85364
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 502-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT