Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kofa High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2012

As a past student ,I went through many changes at Kofa High School . Some where good, such as expansion of the campus & better parking . Some, where horrible. I feel Gina Thompson was is one of the horrible ones. She is biased and it is obvious. I think Kofa is doing great considering the terrible leadership . If anything could be done to make Kofa High School a better , more functioning school it would be to replace her with someone who cares about the students, and not looking good on paper. Students futures should come first and unfortunately I feel that she does not encourage this. I enjoyed many of my teachers , in fact I believe that in my four years at Kofa I only had trouble with one. I was involved in many clubs and organizations , which are sadly slowly starting to be removed . The office staff was slightly rude to me as a student , however their attitude always changed when my parent walked into the office. It would go from talking down to me and telling me I can't to we normally don't but we are allowed to .So if you are a parent please support your child! I feel for the student who is in it alone, getting ahead at Kofa is difficult , especially with the counselors .
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2011

Wonderfull school I have a son who went here from 9th to 12th. I have three boys following him I will do what ever it takes to make sure they all go here. Very helpfull staff from the bottom all the way to the top. I have never asked a question and been turned away without an answer. Very loving teachers will do anything and everything for their students. Always above and behond. Everyone should be aloud at this school. Not alot of fights like the other schools here in Yuma. This school you know your children are safe and watched over very well. Wish I myself could have gone here. Can always contact teachers email or phone and always will get an answer back. Lovely school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

Kofa is without a doubt the best High School in Yuma. I sub at all of the High Schools, so I can make this statement because I have been to all of them. Their security is excellent. Their Administration is on top of everything! Ms. Thompson has this school operating very effectively. The students are the most courteous. I see no problems during the 3 lunches with any of the students due to security and administration everywhere. The new campus is outstanding and will only get better once the landscape project is complete. Any discipline problems are handled immediately, therefore even though the classes are very large, disruptive students are dealt with quickly so teaching and learning can not be interrupted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

This school has improved so much during a few years. When my sister was a freshman, gangs were everywhere. the next year, they began to make rules a lot more strict, and has made the school a much safer and better place. Sure there is still gangs, but every HS in Yuma does, and is unavoidable. Now I am a student at Kofa, and I love it! I have made great friends, and every one of them strive for good grades. Teachers (most of them) help students strive also. They stay after and before school to help students, call parents if something in their behavior or grade goes wrong, and really care. Security is also great. They are always around school taking care of students and are always there if something is going wrong. Counselors help students that are there to actually learn. But school spirit is amazing!! (awesum skool)!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2009

I believe that Kofa is a magnificent high school. Though the education strategies may have some flaws, the teachers and counselors put forth much effort in order to help their students learn. The AP program at Kofa is also very effective. These classes require much determination and time from the student, it is very comforting to know that most of these classes are full of teens who want to strive to be better in life. Teachers at Kofa are also a determined bunch. Many of them spend their weekends at the school, grading papers and putting in grades. The overall best part about Kofa would have to be the school s spirit. All who attend or have attended this school are very proud to be Kings. The football games are always loud and the band is always dedicated. Anybody would enjoy a school event, whether they attended the school or not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2009

Good school, but I do have trouble with the fact that if you want to speak to a counslor or teacher you have to go to the school because no one seems to return calls! The school has my home, cell, and work numbers as well as e-mail address and NOTHING.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

Kofa is a really good school. And all of you people saying it isn't well your wrong. It All depends on the effort that your son or daughter puts on his or her work. Dont just be blaming it on the teachers i mean if your kids dont learn its because they dont want to or they are too busy talking and paying attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I was a student at the school. Sure the school has some problems. Its not a bad school, some of the parents here say it is but its really not. There is an SRO on campus he is every where. There is not as much gang violence at Kofa. Sure there are gangs there, but Yuma and Cibola high schools have them too. Even Yuma Catholic has them, its not that big of a deal they do not do anything to anyone unless you provoke them. And if you do provoke them then its your problem because if you provoke anyone they will respond. Moving on to more important topics like the teachers. Some of the teachers probably should not be teaching but they have really good teacher in many different areas. Overall its a really good school. I myself am glad to go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

My son is a Sophomore at Kofa, I have seen ups and downs at Kofa as my older children attended. The teachers seem overwhelmed with the number of students/teacher ratio. The counselors are not easily assessable to the parents, and the phone system seems to not work when calling parents about student absence. The security seems to be a farse as well. I'm concerned that only a handful of security and with construction going on I think the priorities are not for student welfare but for the security of construction sites. The sports programs seems to be one of the only effective program in the mentoring of students,coaches and staff support the 'athlete students' to the upmost. I support this school but still have my concerns. I encourage all parents/guardians to do the same as it will only make things better for our children in these influential years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

My son had an awesome freshman year. The teachers, counselors and other staff members are great! The band instructor inspires his students to do better than their best. Mrs. Thompson is obviously doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

I think that Kofa needs a lot of organizing, its like when its time for registration they need to do 1 Grade level at a time so that there is not a lot of people standing out in the heat,going to football games you have to sit at the top of the bleachers if you are handicapped I like to see everything up close specially if you have a child that is in sports, you need to put a ramp at the bottom of the bleachers, and also when a parent calls the teacher to talk about their child and you leave a message several times and the teacher never calls that means to me that the teacher does not care, i wish that you would have a group of parents that could meet 1 time a month so that the parents could have a input about the school system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Kofa High School is excellent when it comes to the challenges that the teachers do bring to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My daughter's Kofa experience has mostly been a positive one. They have some of the best math teachers in the area: Mr. Thompson, Mrs. Cooper and Mrs. Masson. The dance program is fantastic! Mrs. Legros and Mrs. White have done a superb job putting together a program that allows advanced dancers to choreograph and direct, as well as great training for those with no previous experience. There are a lot of ESL kids. All schools in this area will have that. Ms. Tanaka has the best choir program by far of all the high schools here! The counselors have been very helpful and willing to work out individualized educational plans. Kofa isn't perfect but about as good as it gets here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

This is probably the most unsafe High School in the City of Yuma. I don't even thing our school has a resource officer like Cibola or Yuma High. At least my son and daughter haven't seen him visibly around campus, and one has attended Kofa for three years and the other for two. My sons stereo has been stolen twice seen he's attended Kofa. The security at this school is weak. The school has cameras, but that's are they are is cameras. The gang violence at Kofa is out of control and no one ever interacts to avoid future problems. Can someone open their eyes?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

Kofa is an awful school. Had I known I never would have sent my son there. His teachers were unresponsive to any concerns. If you have choice don't send them there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

Kofa is not a good school at all. The administratin is horrible. They are close to assigning school uniforms. There are about 2600 students enrolled there and only 2 lunches. There are not that many great teachers. I wouldn't recommend this school for someone moving to Yuma. Although they do offer Electronics I, II and Vocational Electronics, Agriculture, Auto, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2004

My daughter received an excellent education at Kofa High School with many teachers that worked beyond the call of duty by offering one-on-one tutoring in upper level math classes, Honor's classes, and make-up time for absenses. One teacher even taught Latin, on her own time, at the school, to a group of interested students. If a student is willing to take responsibility for her or his education, the Kofa teachers will meet that student better than half way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2003

I think this school could be much better this school lacks of good teacher for example we need a good physics teacher.


Posted March 31, 2003

Kofa has great academics and the teachers explain everything so well and they don't let students slack off and play sports either.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

477 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 82% 43%
White 13% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 100%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 502-5693

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Ave A
Yuma, AZ 85364
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 502-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT