Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pueblo Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 753 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

I would not recommend this school to anyone. There is bullying at this school and nothing gets done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

i think this school is one of the best schools in yuma. my children love it and it teaches beyond and higher and better than any other school there is


Posted August 8, 2011

I LOVE this school. Great teachers, staff, and a new principal. My children have done soooo much better in this school than any other school they have been to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I just moved from Flagstaff last summer and my son started 2nd grade at Pueblo. When we started it seemed he was below level in every subject! I had no idea and was always told in Flagstaff that everything was fine. The way that the teachers divided up the class to give more individual attention and actually stayed after class to help the kids that need it is absolutely awesome! And my son even loves going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

My son has attended school in New Orleans, LA and we moved here in 4th grade and my son is now going into the 5th grade, the principal is excellent, has so much respect for the parents , is always ready to help, she is so kind, the teachers are so helpful and give so many aditional activities, Ms Cervantes, Ms Best are so encouraging , I Just cannot praise them enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

Principal is overbearing and doesn't listen when parents try to talk to her. Fortunately my son has a wonderful teacher this year or I would give this school the lowest possible rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Because they promote 'walk to school day' 'Earth Day everyday by having a day for students think about how to keep our planet clean I believe this is a positive way for kids to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

I found the teachers working hard and the administration making their jobs even harder. I was disappointed when I moved to this town after enjoying much better schools in North Carolina. Overall impression of Arizona school system is bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

Too many students, too little money. From a teacher's standpoint, it was difficult to serve the students that you loved so much due to poor leadership and incompetent co-workers. Couldn't ask for better students, though.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2005

As a former teacher, I must say that teaching here was very difficult. You were not given the tools that you needed to succeed. It is sad that the students have to suffer due to poor principal leadership.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2005

Student to teacher ratio is too high. Children exceeding AZ standards are not challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Problems were noted with inproper discipline and poor support from school administration. Punishments such as missing recesses were used days after young children had been good simply because they were owed. Young children need immediate response to their behavior so they can make the connection between the behavior and the punishment to learn what's expected of them. The support was good from the counselor but the principal and vice principal viewed a parent speaking to the counselor as going out of the chain of command, when it's part of a school counselor's job. Overall, Pueblo Elem. is not for those parents who are looking for approachable admin., fair treatment, and professional conduct. Pueblo's best feature is it's walking location to the nearby housing develpoments, but is not the place to send your child if you want to feel safe in the knowledge that your child is getting treated right and learning about fairness.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 42%
White 21% 42%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 373-3699

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2803 W 20th St
Yuma, AZ 85364
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 373-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT