Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ronald Reagan Fundamental School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Reagan is the worst school you could ever go to. Believe me, I love school, just not this one. The office staff are the ruudest people you will ever meet. Their are big bullying problems, and more. Me, and most of the other 6th graders, are glad its our last year here. Not only to mention, this school is terrible with their funding. The student counsel raises money for them self so they can go on field trips. I actually thought student counsel was suppose to fund raise for their whole school. Also, my first year at reagan was actually my best, but later we found out the school district is making our school an alternative school. We were actually one of the richest schools untill this happened. None of the kids from 'the neighborhood' even try to learn. They constantly get in trouble, dont do their homework, and waste time. Its very hard having to stop every 5 minutes because the teacher wants to give us a lecture of how they waste time. Anyways, since the school let all of them in , (not to be mean) all the lunches were free. It was great for a while until we lost money So our lunches got really terrible! This school may be the worst school in America. S.O.S


Posted November 19, 2011

I am completely unhappy with this school. I will be sending my children to another school. Most likely private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

I love love love this school! Could not have wanted anything more for my kids. Would definitely recommend to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

DO NOT send your children to this school. There is a HUGE issue with bullying. This is not a school where children are safe or protected. PLEASE do not send your kids here. This is the worst school I have dealt with. For the well being of your child look into other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

Honestly, I have never met a more disappointing school. My daughter has been there for around 2 years, and has been constantly bullied. She has tried everything. From going to the teacher to telling the children to stop. Yet no discipline has been given to this group. Once the year is over, I am going to move her to a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

My son has been at this school for 2 years. He has had wonderful teachers who do their best. I have not been overly impressed with the administration these last 2 years. I believe their is a lack of discipline in the school which has led to many discipline issues across grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

My son is in Kindergarten at RR and we BOTH are loving it! Mrs. Sanchez is a wonderful teacher and the office staff is extremely courteous and professional. I feel encouraged to stop in any time and ask any question I may have. They do a great job with limited funding. I do wish they had computers in the classroom (for K) as other Arizona schools do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

My daughter attended this school for the 2006-2007 school year. We transferred her from another school in the Crane district to Ronald Reagan and saw an immediate improvement in her attitude towards school. Ms. Davenport was very organized and created a neat and disciplined classroom. She took an interest in my daughter as an individual. I was very pleased with her teaching methods and communication. I enjoyed the flag raisings which gave the children opportunities to recite poems and other things in front of their peers and parents. This school also recognized students for excellent behavior with Students of the Month. Some of the office staff was more friendly than others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

This is our family's first year at Ronald Reagan. So far, it has been an extremely positive experience. Everyone from the Principal, to Teachers, Support Staff, and the Janitor are all very welcoming. My son's teacher has gone above and beyond to assist him, including inviting him to have lunch with her just to hear him speak of his current favorite book. Not all teacher's are this perfect. However, I am committed enough to continue to work even with a teacher whom, due to inexperience, may fall a bit short. Overall it is the best school environment a parent could hope for... a great sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

this school is amazing.they taught my sister to read in 2days and she is great at it.i hope this school never shuts down.i had a great 6 years there.everyone should go to this school.they also have a great principal there
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2007

This school is really not that great! They lack in communication when it comes to our children. They preach the whole 'Let's work as a team in regards to our children.' Which they fail to do. My child will not be returning next year. Even if that means PRIVATE SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Ronald reagan is a 'back to basics' school. The primary focus is on reading, writing and math. Next year there will be a full time music teacher, art, and many different afterschool sports. Students can participate in cup stacking clubs and student council. Parental involvement is high.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2005

My children And I love this school. their educational experiences have been wonderful. We are very happy with all of the teachers and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

schools ok,but staff was very rude,and uncaring. Cant wait to transfer my daughter to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

This school is alright.But they should worry less about sports and more on acedemics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

although ronald reagan fund.school is above par as per their educating abilities, my experience has been thet the teachers are less than approachable and have little interest in communicating with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

the academics are top notch but the supervision of the children is questionable at best. And I don't know if it is because there is a high percentage of students with parents in the military or if it is because they're just trying to encourage independance in the students but the teacher parent interactions at this school are very limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

My children were in three different schools in the same area. Not until they got to Ronald Reagan did they actually start to learn the basics of phonograms and writing. It is the only school we have been to that uses the writing road to reading. We have six children. The fist three attended r.r.f. They write and read far better than the last three. If some one reads this and could please help me get a copy of the book and the flash cards I would really be greatful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Great school! Keep the spaulding phonics program. It's really made a difference for my daughter. Her reading is really taking her to new levels in reading. (Thanks to Mrs. McNeece.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2003

Although there have been some changes to this school, it's still the best in the entire city of Yuma. The curriculum is the best and the discipline, although more relaxed, is still great. I just spoke to one of the newest teachers (to RRFS), Dr. Loughry, and she was amazed how quiet the children were in the hallway. She has taught at other schools and was amazed at the discipline at RRFS. We have 2 daughters that have attended for 4 years now and they are way way ahead of any of their cousins. Our sister in law writes grants at one of the local high schools and told us that every year there are scholarships, former RRFS students are at the top.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 76% 43%
White 19% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 783-2635

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 W 16th St
Yuma, AZ 85364
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 373-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT