Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yuma High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

This school practically spoon feeds education to their students. I was a former student at YHS, then moved to phoenix to go to college and let me say, that YHS was no where close in preparring me for college. They dont care if you failed a class, if you failed it, you take A+ (online courses) and you'll get your credit. And what students usually do is pay someone else to do it for them. YHS doesnt challenge their student. They just want them to leave with a diploma so their graduation rates go up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2014

This High School is one of the worst in the county. The kids are disrespectful and rude. They feel that it is within their rights to come and go as they please and they do not complete most work required to graduate. It is amazing that they are the only high school with a uniform dress code and it seems as if many of the young girls still feel it is alright to dress as if the clothes are either painted on or on the verge of popping out. Many of the young boys feel they are in school to gang bang and do not care to learn their clothes also resemble that thought process. I will never send my children to this awful school because the administration does nothing to rectify the wrongs.


Posted May 7, 2012

Sad to say I dont recommend any of the High Schools that are now using the Cambridge Curriculum because of several reasons. First the teachers are not lecturing, thus not teaching, students might as well be on a self-teaching program which is very boring to read on your own then tested. Secondly, the school does not place the student in a class based on their ability. My daughter spend several months in a math class she did in 5th grade. finally put her in accelerated math which is still a review, wasted year of school. The whole program is not ideal. I wish i had better things to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Wooot Wooot..criminal by heart..i love thiz skool best teachers ever...100th year bby!!=D
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2008

I wanna first start by saying Go Crims. I graduated in 2007 and i would have to say that this school is one of the best schools i my self have ever had the privlage of going to. the staff was wonderful and the teachers were amazing(even if i did get into a lot of trouble). but dont believe the negative here say about the school. Go Crims baby
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2008

I moved to this school from Asia when I was 15. The school has given me good and memorable days and I think that the honor classes provided there are excellent. No doubt, the security and care for the students are good too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2008

I attended YHS for my freshman year, and i loved it my first year in high school experience. The teachers are great they always give you a challenge. The school may look 'ghetto', as the student there call it, but thats just the outlook the school gives for being so old. I strongly recommend this school above any other school in Yuma, AZ.


Posted March 14, 2007

Yuma high school is a very disorganized school, my son attends there. He tells me there is never homework and that the teachers are rude and they don't care about giving them any education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

This school is a prime example of a great high school. It has been our family tradition to attend this school. It has outstanding parent involvement, academic programs and availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities. It is well known within the community and I recommend it over the other 2 high schools in the area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2003

Yuma High is not a first-choice school that I would send my daughters to. Despite how poor education really is there, there are some great fine art programs that make Yuma High School shine! My daughter did not appreciate the rudeness of the staff, but she dearly loved her teachers. Most of the other students, according to my daughter, are effortless and careless about their education. This is why I chose to have my daughter enrolled into Moon Valley High School, a far advanced school, no doubt.


Posted March 27, 2003

Its a greatly diversed school. My kids love all the different kinds of people.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 43%
White 13% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 100%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 502-5338

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 6th Ave
Yuma, AZ 85364
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 502-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT