Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
113 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (12 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (12 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (12 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (10 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (10 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (6 responses)
characters left.
There are 201 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert View Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank Mrs Weigel and Mrs KB for working with my son. He knows he is loved at DVA and it is largely because of the school administrators.

Desert View Academy 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
My son has been attending DVA for two years. I have been extremely happy with the education he has received. The reason I am writing this review is that I want to comment on the level of emotional support and advocating school staff do on his behalf. Specifically, I cannot thank Mrs Weigel and Mrs KB enough for working with him and for trying to understand how to best meet his needs. I can tell that Mrs KB absolutely loves her job and she loves helping students. She has gone above and beyond to try to help my son. I find that exrraordinary and very much worth writing about. My son has also had amazing teachers. They have really worked with him and for their time, I am truly grateful. If you are on the fence about whether or not DVAis the school for your children please visit the school. You will be glad you did. I highly recommend DVA to anyone who asks.


Desert View Academy 5

Posted March 24, 2016
- a parent
My children have been at DVA for two years. They love it and so do we. The school does so much for my kids. If there is ever an issue the teachers are quick to respond and so are Weigel and KB. I sometimes wonder how the principals are able to be so involved. I constantly see KB talking to students and encouraging them. I know she deals with discipline but I think she also does a lot of counseling on top of that. My kids absolutely love her and love talking to her. Weigel is such a fun person and she makes everyone around her happy. I think they are the absolute best and they are one of the reasons DVA is so amazing. The office staff, teachers, custodians and administration is the best. We cannot imaging a Yuma without DVA.

Desert View Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
Last week my daughter spent hours making friendship bracelets. One of them was for her assistant principal. I happened to be able to walk her into school and see her give the bracelet to Ms KB. I was shocked to see my daughter run up to her hug her and give her the bracxelet. Ms KB told her it was the most beautiful bracelet she’d ever seen and she put it on her wrist. From what I understand, she wore it all week long and thanked my daughter on more than one occasion. This example is only one of many I could share about DVA and its amazing staff.

Desert View Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
My family thinks that the DVA staff absolutely embeds good character into everything. Mrs Weigels announcements always stress the importance of good character and the teachers and staff lead by example


Desert View Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
My family thinks that the DVA staff absolutely embeds good character into everything. Mrs Weigels announcements always stress the importance of good character and the teachers and staff lead by example.

Desert View Academy 5

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been attending DVA since kindergarten. She’s grown so much both academically and socially since starting there. I thought the move to the new location might bring changes but to my surprise the changes are really for the better. My daughter is learning more about technology that I could ever have imagined and her grades are soaring. If you are looking for a school that helps students grow and achieve high levels in all areas of their lives DVA is the school for you.

Desert View Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
My husband and I want to thank the whole staff. Everyone is fabulous. School leadership is great. Thank you Mre Weigel and Miss KB.


Desert View Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Since starting at Desert View my daughter talks about the three bees. She says she needs to be safe respectful and responsible. She tells us those are big rules. She ain't absolutely thriving at Desert View.

Desert View Academy 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
We are new to Desert View. We could not be happier. The whole staff is incredible. We have felt welcomed from the very first day and it just gets better. Not only does my daughter's teacher speak to me every day when I pick her up but other staff greet her as well. Today, she lit up and ran to a blond woman for a hug. It was the assistant principal Miss KB. She knew my daughter by name and was so lovely to her.she immediately introduced herself to me and was just as friendly as the office staff and principal. If you are looking for a school to make your 'home' please check out Desert View. It's a school, that came highly recommended to us and we are thrilled with everything about it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert View Academy
3777 W. 16th St. , Yuma, AZ  85364
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 201 reviews. (928) 314-1102
Last modified Desert View Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top