Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
107 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 166 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert View Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2016
- a teacher
I am a teacher at DVA. I have never worked in an environment that is so fast paced, positive, challenging, and fun. We have the best students in the county and they work harder than any students I have ever been around. I can also attest to how hard each staff member works and I can absolutely say that our administration is by far the best I have ever worked with. The expectation at DVA is that all students will succeed, grow and meet their goals. Both Weigel and KB are amazing. They have open door policies and they are always available for me, my students, parents, and staff members. If you are looking for a school for your children, you should seriously consider DVA. It’s wonderful.

Desert View Academy 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
We have had our children at DVA for several years. We really believe in the school and its mission. Lately, however, there have been some staffing changes that we did not fully understand. After speaking to several people in the school community, we better understand why the changes happened. We completely support the school’s administration (Mrs Weigel and Mrs KB) as well as the entire staff. If you are looking for a school with high standards, DVA is the place for you. You WILL NOT be disappointed.


Desert View Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 28, 2015
- a parent
The level of respect shown to students and expected from students is tremendous. My children have become much more respectful at home since beginning at DVA.

Desert View Academy 5

Posted December 28, 2015
- a parent
Desert View is one of the best schools in this area. My children have attended public and private schools in Yuma but neither can compare to DVA. The teachers, office staff, and administrators are friendly, involved and really care about the students that attend their school. It is refreshing to see so many people come together to make sure each student is successful. I highly recommend DVA.

Desert View Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 20, 2015
- a parent
We would like to thank Mrs Weigel for her caring leadership. We would also like to thank Mrs KB for her involvement with our childrens specialized plans. She is constantly making sure my kids get what they need.


Desert View Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 20, 2015
- a parent
I think the teachers at DVA are effective because they enjoy teaching at the school. Student to teacher ratio is the best in Yuma which makes it possible for all students to learn. On top of that, the administration is fantastic and always interacting with students and families.

Desert View Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 20, 2015
- a parent
Our children have made leaps and bounds academically, and socially. They no longer give up when things get tough.

Desert View Academy 5

Posted December 20, 2015
- a parent
Words cannot describe how much we appreciat all the DVA staff does for our children. Other schools looked the other way at the difficulties my children have but the DVA teachers and administration identified their problems and came up with a plan to help them be successful. My children are now much mote confident and love going to school. We highly recomend DVA.


Desert View Academy 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
My family and I were out to dinner tonight and we were talking about the things we are greatful for. I was happy to hear that both of my children are thankful for their school DVA. They love their teachers and Mrs Weigel and Mrs KB. My husband and I feel fortunate to be able to recommend DVA to everyone that asks. Teachers set high expectations and the entire staff is loving and approachable. I had no idea schools like thie existed. It's the best.

Desert View Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you, DVA Staff, for caring for each student and working diligently to create a safe learning environment. Thank you for believing that all students can learn, and for your high expectations. Thank you for reinforcing the "3 Be's" every day. Each day is a learning adventure!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert View Academy
3777 W. 16th St. , Yuma, AZ  85364
(928) 314-1102
Last modified Desert View Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert View Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 166 reviews. Top