Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Yuma, AZ
Students enrolled: 224

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a community member
It's really cool the staff are always there for you and the school feels like home I love being at school there are such great people there and the learning is so easy and understandable I think my school should stay the same I love it

Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a community member
This model is ideal for students who excel in academics, are self motivated, and can work at a rigorous pace. Unfortunately, Carpe Diem has built the reputation of being THE school for anyone who has been kicked out of or has failed every other school in Yuma. A high number of the students operate below grade level, have behavior problems and have no moral code of ethics - this interferes with the initial purpose of this model. In theory, this is a great program - in reality, it is a travesty and it is the student who ultimately pays. They are not receiving the education they need to be successful for college. High schoolers who are self motivated will succeed. Do not send your middle schooler to CD - they will NOT be prepared for high school.


Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 1

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I love the school! although my child has had straight F's for the past 3 years and he has flunked those years he loves the curriculum. He says it is easy and hopes to continue this way. He loves the teachers although they give him a heavy workload. They work at a fast pace although they told him he can work at his own pace. He has had the joy of being a 16 year old father. it is a great school overall.

Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 1

Posted March 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is very detrimental to your child's overall education. This school sets such high standards for the students that 95 of the schools students can not meet up with. The overall learning process is awful. They give you hard chairs to sit in majority of the day, they give you these boring lectures that are like 30-60 minutes long most of the time, stupid projects called Pbl's that are supposed to apply what you know but are actually irrelevant and quite frankly stupid. The go at your own pace is a lie. Of course there is a minimum pace you must go at but it was set way to high it went from .75 a day to 4-5 a day, per class! Take into account that most kids have at least 4 classes multiply that by the number of classes you have and bam that how much work you have to do that day alone. The school when I went there the math teacher quit because he was tired of their garbage and changing up the school in hopes for more "test points" on the aims. When in reality they are just making the scores go down. There is so much wrong with this school which I can't even explain. As a former high school student there I highly advise you do not send you child here for their sake/yours.

Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 1

Posted July 12, 2013
- a parent
The comment below said, "More input from parents would.... keep us up to date with improvements." Notice the "us" in there? Almost sounds like a teacher or admin staff wrote this comment. I am a parent of previous "A" students from the regular school system, but I chose this school because of the size and the "pace" idea. I assumed small school = smaller student-teacher ratio, smaller campus meant less chance to get lost within its walls. Definitely not the case. One gigantic open hole with a couple hundred "cubicles", a couple of microwaves that 100 other students are waiting in line to use, 30 min to eat if you DO not wait in line (2-5 min for each student to heat up a meal..do the math). Starting Office Cubicle life a little early - part of the obesity epidemic? On another note, the school has not been able to exemplify a true learning model (addressing the complete spectrum of styles of learning - the tactile/hands-on doer, the auditory/listener, the vision-oriented, etc, etc.). Rote and Regurgitate. Students wait for resets (250 students-5 teachers). Don't ask for help with questions about the material - they are just babysitters in a giant room full of noise makers.


Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 4

Posted December 18, 2012
- a parent
My children attend Carpe Diem and as a parent I think it's great! The staff is very caring and helpful (Something I never saw at the other public schools in Yuma) The comment below bothers me a lot. In no other school could a student learn at there "own pace', there is always a minimum that has to be done. If your student has a hard time keeping up, then maybe this is not the right school for your student. The number of teachers has not changed in the 4 years we have been at this school, so I don't see why all of a sudden that is a problem for your student. The administration has kept us up to date with all the changes to the program. In my opinion, every change they have made has been for the better. I am grateful that the program at Carpe Diem is more challenging this year, I see my students more focused and ready for exams. If there is one place I would give a negative it would be in parent involvement. More input from parents would be a great way to keep us up to date with the improvements.

Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 2

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
This school use to be great. Over the past 2 years it has gone down hill. The school is promoted as "learn at your own pace", and it use to be, then you had to do 4% of the overall curriculum every day. Now you have to do 5% a day. It is very hard for the children to do so when there are not enough teachers to set up or reset tests. The administration has been lost ever since they lost their principal last year. Now its like a bunch of chickens with their heads chopped off. They make rules up when ever they feel like. There is very little wiggle room. There is a lot of improvement that needs to made if this school wants to progress.

Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 1

Posted July 16, 2012
- a community member
As a former student I highly do not recommend this school. The administrator/parent communication is very poor. The learning environment is too distracting no matter how much you try. The school has gone from bad to worse these past few years. The staff that are on the floor do a very poor job at helping the students. Often they give us wrong information. The online curriculum has very poor content and the questions on the testa dn quizzes are very vague and often not from the content you learned. Its method of teaching is making you watch and listen to a 30 - 60 min. prerecorded lecture for every subject every day. The lectures are very un-informational and very boring. The teachers are great but since they don not give us the curriculum they cannot help very much. If you forget your school id when you come in the door then you miss all your breaks which is not right because those are the only time we can walk around instead of sitting in the tiny cramped up cubicles and staring at a computer that is 10 years old running Windows XP. If you forget your uniform you have to wait in the office all day unless your parents can go home from work and bring it. Overall a very poor school.


Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
This is the "SCHOOL" that every child needs. Nothing but learning! The absolute best and it is a PUBLIC Charter School.

Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
This is the only school in Yuma that truly caters to the individual needs of each student. I don't believe you could get a more personalized education for your child even if you chose to home school them. This is the only high school in Yuma to exceed expectations for the AIMS testing in Arizona, and they've done it for five years in a row. The "blended learning" accompanied with the character education program is revolutionary. They promise to, "Educate, Empower and Equip for life" and they deliver!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E
3777 W. 22nd Lane, Yuma, AZ  85364
(928) 317-3113
Last modified Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carpe Diem Collegiate High School Dba Carpe Diem E Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top