Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amerischools Academy North

Charter | K-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 18 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

I love this school. This school has a great community and a great curriculum. The standard of learning is much higher than other public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

My school is excellent. The teachers put in the extra effort needed to achieve all the standards required in todays schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I'm so glad my son attends this school! I love that all staff members, (principal included) seem to know all of the students by name! If you're on the waiting list....it's definitely worth the wait!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Amerischools Academy North is a wonderful setting for optimal learning. My son is a student in Mr. Martin's class, and has learned more there than in the previous three years in public school combined. Many opportunities are given for high-performing students to challenge themselves and excel. There is a great family atmosphere, where students and parents feel welcome and safe. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Amerischool is awesome I love the fact they give each student attention and help them develop to succeed. My daughter teacher Mr. Martin is great and is teaching my child a lot and is very good on helping kids to succeed. I would recommend this school to all my friends and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I love Amerischool !! I love the fact that my son was able to get in it even though his birthday is in September. His kindergarten teacher Mrs.Torrez was amazing ! A very caring teacher ! Could not have asked for a better kindergarten teacher for my son. His first grade teacher is awesome as well! The staff is great! They're always willing to answer any questions and always in a good mood! I could not be happier with this school. I love the fact that they know the students and family by name. The tutoring services they offer have really helped my 6 year old. He loves it! Great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My School is SO GREAT! I love the Staff, Teachers, and SAFETY of OUR school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I LOVE Amerischools in Yuma! My kids have been attending for the past 6 years and the sense of community that we have there is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I thoroughly enjoy this school because the teachers invest themselves in each student. I have two children there and they both love going to school. The staff is very professional but personable as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This is the 1st year we've had a child in grade school, but have been more than happy. The teachers have all been extremely supportive and my daughter loves it there. She says the principal is strict, but I find that a good thing! My second child starts kindergarten this next year and is very excited. The class sizes are much easier for the teachers to give more one on one. I do wish there was a little more parent support at the school. Seems it's always the same parents at all the events. All in all we have been very happy with Amerischool Academy North!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Going on our 5th yr with Amerischools and love this place. One of best decisions I have made for my kids. Teachers are so great staying in contact with the parents on their child's school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Amerischools is great. I have been so impressed with the principal and staff. You can tell they really care about the kids! I've also been very impressed with the anti-bully enforcement they have there. The school is also very secure, compared to all the other schools in the area. My son loves being in clubs after school, too! I have been so happy to see my son always come home from school with a smile on his face. He has been so happy there and I'm so glad we moved him to Amerischools! (And he is too!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This school offers a great education in a private school setting/atmosphere. Class sizes are not too overcrowded and each child recieves the attention he or she needs. I am most impressed by how all the staff know the majority of the kids in the school, giving parents peace of mind that they're chilren are safe and well looked after. One of my children has attended since Kinder and is now in his last year there. I only wish the school offered middle school courses so that I could keep him there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter is about to complete Kindergarten with Amerischools. She has truly loved her teacher, an amazing educator who really connected with my daughter and who taught her so much. We also met with the principal, and he really seems on top of things at the school. He listened when we wanted to discuss something, and he made a difference for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This is a great school for learning. I realy like the small class room sizes because it gives students and teachers a great one on one learning experiance. This is my daughters first year there and she absoultly loves going. Best part is I enjoy watching my daughter's educational growth. I also like the after school activites. My daughter is in the zumba after school and she enjoys coming home and showing me her moves. I recomend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Great school with a great leadership. I will recommend this school to any parent. Teachers are very caring and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

Both of my children go to AmeriSchools Academy North. They are both excelling students due mostly to the wonderful teachers they have had. The teachers hold the students to high academic standards. My kids love going to school and don't want to leave. The staff works very hard and are available to the parents whenever needed. The attention to detail and the fact that many of the staff members know all of the students and even who their parents are is comforting. The principal, Mr. Wachunas, even noticed my son lost a tooth the other day! They are very compassionate and caring to needs outside of the school. There is a family feeling whenever you walk in the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I absolutely recommend and love Amerischools North Campus. The staff is amazing and always helpful. Mr. Wachunas is an extremely good principal and cares about all the children in the school, Miss Amy is the most helpful aid and I highly recommend Mrs. Torres as a teacher. The patience and care the staff has for the kids is why I care about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Great school!! Mr. Wachunas is a very caring and understanding principal. We are very lucky to have this school here in Yuma. My only suggestion will be to add at least 7th and 8th grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

My granddaughter goes to Amerischools Academy North and she is doing so well. I really like the school


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 43%
White 27% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!


Yuma, AZ 85364
Phone: (520) 296-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT