Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alpena High School

Public | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2009

they care about there students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

I will be starting my eighth year going to school in Alpena this fall. I've been to many schools across the country, and this is the best one I've been to! The teachers all try to work with each student personally, and they really care. I'm proud to say that I will be graduating from this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2008

I have been to other school and none compair to the quality of education provided. they are very succeesful in all acadimic areas and academic compatitions unlike most schools who focus so hard on sports...however they have had great sports succees also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

I have only been at Alpena for four years now and i'm in the ninth grade now and i have load of fun. This school has it's ups and downs, but don't they all. Overall I think that alpena is one of the best schools around here. I would really hate to leave. THe teachers here really do care and do want to help you get through school. I really have nothing bad to say about Alpena.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

I think this school is the best. I've been going here since I was three years old. All the teachers are great, the help you when you need help. And they usually have a smile on their faces. All the teachers have been great and I hope that it will always be that way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

I now Currently Live in Seattle,Washington the Schools here are not Nearly as Good, The Teachers at Alpena Genuinly Care about the Students. The 2 Things that Set Alpena Apart from most Other Schools is they (last time I was there had 7 People go to the Internatial Science Fair within 10 years and the teachers, to just name a few, Mr.Good, Mr.Welch, Ms.Hunt.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 22, 2007

I have been going to Alpena since head start and I am graduating this year. Alpena is a good school. The teachers are mainly what make the school so fun. The teachers help you and really try to connect with you. The push you to excel. Overall, Alpena is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2007

This school is the best school I have ever been to in my life! The teachers are always there when you need them and really try to connect to the kids, but they discipline when needed. Everyone treats each other like equals, I mean yeah there are little fights between friends but they happen everywhere, but the teachers know how to take care of it. When a child has problems with homework or doesn't understand the teachers are more than happy to help until they do understand.Our school even offers toutering in some subjects. It might be a small school but dont underestimate us because this school is better than three big schools put together!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2006

I have been going to Alpena School for 14 years now and I have never had a problem with the school, the teachers, or anyone else. Yeah the teachers have their bad days but who doesn't come on. Anyways Alpena teachers care about their students more then they care about anyone. I'm a senior this year and anytime I need someone to talk to they are always there. The teachers kinda feel like my family. And when you have been here ever since head start you begin to know everything about everyone and there family and so on. Whenever people start finding out things you better hope that it is good. This school is a very equal school and we treat everyone the same. Whenever you get to your senior year where I am you don't want to leave this place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2006

Hello, I have gone to Alpena my whole live and finally I am a SR. It is a wonderful school to go to mostly because of the teachers. Some times they do seem like all they want to do is homework but all they truly want is for you to be prepared for real live and hopefully college. I would also like to say that all of Alpena s clubs are very well organized thanks to the advisors. Now there is just a one things that contradict this being a great school it is not major but to a lot of people it might be. The first would be the schools lunch most people complain about it that go to are school but this is one drawback of going to a small school it does not have enough money to supply itself with a lot of choices for lunch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2006

I graduated from Alpena Schools and my son begins Kindergarten at Alpena this fall. It is a small school and is growing to become one of the most effective schools in Northwest Arkansas. I have been very impressed with the staff and with the fruits of their labor. They have pushed to give their students the best in academic, athletic, artistic and technological development. I believe Alpena Public School System to be the best in our area; if I did not, I would not be sending my son. Well done Alpena, keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

The quality is questionable. I rented a house to a daughter of one of the teachers. He has turned out to be very lacking in character. Lied to me about the location of his daughter After 3 calls he called boone co. and i was informed to not even approach the school. I am drafting a letter to inform them of his conduct
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2005

I have been going to Alpena since I was in 6th grade (now in 9th) I will admit that this is not the best school in boone county....some of the teachers are just thier to get paid and not to teach the students what they need to know....and I think that every teacher in high school should have the attitude that Mr.Kaeser has...he is the best teacher I have ever had teach me in my whole life......in conclusin Alpena is OK.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2005

Ihave gone to alpena snice kindergaten and in eight grade now the scince department is excellent Mr.good and Mr.welch our science teachers have caused us to excell in scince fair contest for nine years now all of us love them dearly and the sports are wonderful golf baketball, volley ball and track and band cause student involvement and the east lab is wonderfull we are a small school but we like it like that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2004

I fjound this site by accident, but it gives me a chance to say how great a school alpena is! I have gone here since 5th grade (I am now in the ninth) and I love it! The sports programs, the academic programs...all are exceptional. This is were my kids are going!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2004

I graduated Alpena in 1998 and thanks to superb teaching, I was able to graduate college with a 3.9 GPA. Though it's small school, Alpena definitely prepared me for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
52%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 64%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Denver St Bldg A
Alpena, AR 72611
Phone: (870) 437-2228

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT