Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Haven Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

Pine Haven Elementary School ...partental grandparent... ensure that Jay gets what she needs and allow me to be aware of school events so i can patcipate for her


Posted March 12, 2013

I do not recommend this school for children that are transferring. The teachers has their favorites and loves to judge your child quickly. It is a tight nit school. They are very judgemental towards you and the principles do not know how to do their jobs. Not a good school at all! The parents are the ones that end up running things. They are doing a great job. I recommend you knowing and reading the school policies very well that way you can call the teachers out on their decisions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

My son is attending his 3rd year at Pine Haven and is in the 2nd grade. Overall we have been very pleased with this school. The amount of teacher/parent involvement in my eyes, varies by the teacher, but again, we've been very happy so far. The school makes a big effort to involve parents with PTA and their Watch Dogs program that involves Dad's only, they also have grandparents day every year and classroom parties for holidays, fields trips and fund raisers that parents are welcome to be a part of. The school has made great strides for it's growing enrollment, adding new classes and teachers every year and building a Middle School, where they moved the 5th and 6th grades over to the new building this 10-11 school year. So now Pine Haven Elementary is only Pre-K through 4. I rate the school as excellent, due to the quality of education my son is getting and the friendliness of the staff. It is nice to send him to a school that is safe, pleasant and gives the feel and environment of a small country school. I would definitely recommend Pine Haven to anyone looking to buy in the Benton/Bryant/Bauxite area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I am so glad that my current children are receiving an education from a good school. It is small enough for one and one, but big enough for anything they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I have children in both Pine Haven and Bauxite High schools. The schools are growing each year and the School Board/Super/Principals/Teachers/Faculty do not hesitate to pull their resources together to accomidate the demand for the more space for the growth. The leadership and commitment in these ladies and gentlemen makes me proud to say that my children are apart of this school! My only wish would be to impliment an economics based curriculum such as what Baker Elementary has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

I believe Bauxite High and Pine haven are both great schools compared to the school that they are surrounded by! My children both go here and they do just fine! Bauxite is growning bigger each year! We have been here since 03'...This is the biggest year ever! I'm a proud parent of my miners thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

My ex-husband's family all went to Bauxite. I was told what a great school district it was. I found that my son did not do well at all in this district and when I tried to get him help was told that he did not qualify because there were others who were more advanced than he who needed help first. My son is now going to Caldwell Elementary and is doing 100% percent better than he did at Pine Haven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

My family has went to this school for over 40 years and we love it. I currently have a child in the 1st grade, a nephew in the 2nd, and niece in the 4th and love it. They are all do so well, and when there is a problem we are always aware immediately. I have never been more ok with a school. I went to a very large school and I would not ever want to put my children in that. You do not get the one on one, you get lost in the shuffle, it is a lot harder to keep up. Pine Haven is a great choice of schools for the area. I would recommend it all the way! MGL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

I wish we would have never moved to this school district. The teachers can not let a parent know why their child is having trouble with a lesson plan and the principal and superintident are to busy taking up for the teachers than finding a solution.They will however, give the parents grief and stress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 64%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Black 2% 21%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Pine Haven Rd
Bauxite, AR 72011
Phone: (501) 557-5361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT