Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harmony Grove High School

Public | 9-12 | 333 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2008

Harmony Grove is a great school the teachers expect the very best of each student. I have made alot of friends and have fun on field trips
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2008

The school is in transition with some new administration. Princial needs to follow written policy more. Teacher morale is low right now. We are hoping for more and better things in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

I have 3 children currently enrolled in Harmony Grove schools and I couldn't be more pleased. The teachers are great and the administrative staff are attentive to the students needs and enable them to grow with encouragement. I am not from here, so I can testify that this school district is top notch for its size. Respectfully Buck Burchfield
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

Very little productivity. No stimulation for the children. Parents discouraged from involvement. No discipline. Children constantly beat up by other children, so no safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

It is a wonderful school system and although they do not have a football team (which is coming in the next couple years) they have every other sport available. The band has won numerous honors and the girls golf team finished second in state. The baseball and softball teams have also done very well for several years. I want anyone who is thinking of moving to the area to consider Harmony Grove and check their credentials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

There is no school like Harmony Grove! What an excellent school. I always wanted to have my children attend the same school I did and graduate knowing their classmates. Students get the best education to prepare them for life. The administration and teachers at HG are the very best and actually know each student by name. They care for their students and want each child to succeed in life. The educational system and support system that HG has to offer means alot to me as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

Outstanding school! Great staff, safe school. Small class size makes all the students feel special. Music and Arts departments are second to none. I drive 40 miles one way to work so my children can attend school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

This school is a very close family type of school where you know every one and they know you. The teachers are great and the athletics there are exceptional! I feel the atmosphere is very comfortable and goals are set well for each student they offer many things not just an education but a life lesson.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 64%
Hispanic 2% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2621 Hwy 229
Benton, AR 72015
Phone: (501) 776-2337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT