Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mary Mae Jones Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 625 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

Excellent school and wonderful principal. I would recommend this school to anyone. My only regret is that parents are not as involved as they could be with the PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

Recently moved from Vandergriff school district to MMJ. We have a Kindergartner. She is already bored as she has already learned the things being taught now. She does like the children in her class, and she says her teacher can be mean. We are not sure what to rate just yet, but wanted another opinion out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

3 out of 4 of my children have attended this school thus far. Every teacher they have had has been amazing. I love that they have the Breakfast in the classroom this year and it has also become the first Leader in Me school in Bentonville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

Mary Mae Jones is a fabulous school! We have a middle school child that started there in kindergarten and was there until he moved onto middle school. He was extremely prepared for middle school because of the amazing teachers, staff, and administration at Mary Mae. We have a kindergartner there now. She is reading, writing, and loves school. Our kindergartner has grown leaps and bounds and we owe that to the staff at MMJ. We are very pleased with our childrens' experience and we appreciate everything this school has done for our children. As parents, we can't say thank you enough for meeting our children's needs and helping them excel academically! We can't wait to see what they do with our third child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

We moved here from NC. I have a 1st and 2nd grader and we wanted a great school like we had before we moved. We were forced into MMJ school as our local school, and the two overflow schools were full for getting a 1st and 2nd grade place. I was in tears after reading other reviews and the 6 stars great schools give it. I was hoping my fears would be unfounded. They weren't. Fortunately after a month my daughter got a place at Elm Tree. What a difference!! At MMJ I still have a problem with the lack of help during the transition period, they gave me the standard handbook and that was all the help I was offered. My daughters 1st grade work is similar to my son's 2nd grade work!!! My son is bored, not challenged, although he does like the teacher. I think the standard at this school is definitely lower than at other local schools and the 6 stars is warranted but I don't agree with the 5 stars other parents are giving, although they were written at least 3 years ago. The teacher is nice but that's the only positive I can give. If you have a choice, I would avoid this school if you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

My daugther was struggling and at the prior school were telling of how she needed to be hold back. She felt so down until She started at Mary Mae Jones and she can read and her confident is back because all the staff that work with her and The same story happen with my son too. But I left behind this terrible experience and I gratefult for everyone at Mary Mae Jones
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

MMJE is a warm, inviting learning atmosphere. It is obvious the minute you walk through the front doors. The staff at MMJE exceeds all expections all the way from the kitchen staff to the principal. The standard of education is the best you can find in the four state area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

What a great school! We are new to the state and we are so impressed with this school and district. The teachers are great, they communicate well with the parents nad students and the adminstration is also very supportive. My kids love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 65%
Hispanic 20% 10%
Asian 8% 1%
Black 5% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 SE 14th St
Bentonville, AR 72712
Phone: (479) 254-5930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT