Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bigelow High School

Public | 7-12 | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2010

Anne Watson Elementary has received the top rating of 5 School of Excellence for Improvement on the recently released 2009 school performance report card developed by the Arkansas Department of Education. Statewide, only 8 percent of schools (67 of 859) received this honor. The outstanding rating is based on the school s recently im- AWE receives top rating: 5 proved test scores. Three years ago Anne Watson Elementary was in Year 3 of School Improvement status. Today our school is not only free and clear of any type of school improvement status, we are considered achieving a School of Excellence for Improvement by the state department. Our students and staff are to be commended on their achievements over the last three years. Way to go AWE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

I am a parent of 2 children in this school district. I have 1 child in Junior High and 1 in High School. My oldest has attended school in this district since he was in the 1st grade. I have seen many changes in this school, all in an effort to improve the quality of education. Mrs Mrya Graham has been a great asset to this school. She encourges community and parent involvement and strives to build real values and a sense of strong deep roots in our children that will last a life time. The test scores have improved over the past few years greatly. They emphasized the importance of academics as well as sports. We do have great sports program, also. We have a great team teachers that are genuinely concerned for the well being of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

The testing scores have gone up dramatically in the 2005/2006 school year. These scores are not published yet. To get a fair assessment of the improvement at this school, you will need to speak to Paul Gottsponer, the principal, or Gina Windle, the counselor. They can be reached at (501)759-2602. This school and community are a close-knit people. It is very family oriented and child centered.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2006

The grade school is a great place for children to get one on one attention in the learning areas. sometimes you run accross some problems, though. The high school could use improvement on a few instructors that say they are teaching the kids, but they are actuallt sitting in their chairs, eating snacks, and then throwing tests on the kids out of the blue. They need more structure and communication with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

I'm not a parent but a former student. I transfered to this school from a private school. I loved it. I thought that the teachers were well educated and worked well with the students. I felt prepared for college and went on to earn my B.A. If I continue to live in the area I would want my own children to go to school here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 28, 2004

The elemenatary school has very caring teachers and is very proactive in communication. The school is in a rural setting- many farmers, etc... Great parent involvment at the elementary, good gifted and talented program, title 1 program and grant-funded after-school program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 29, 2003

Bigelow is a school that needs improving. The hygiene is not very good. Also the teachers aren't as trained and prepared as you'd like them to be. The environment of this school depends on the social skills of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
24%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 65%
Black 5% 21%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 East Panther Dr
Bigelow, AR 72016
Phone: (501) 759-2602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Perryville High School
Perryville, AR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT