Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bryant Middle School

Public | 1, 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2011

School is overcrowded and administration is distant and out of touch. School tells you to look at Pinnacle for grade information, but grades are entered too late for parental intervention to help the student. School does not follow handbook, but uses it as an excuse for not doing things. Special Education students are placed on the backburner and treated like second class citizens. Gifted classes are primarily for the children of school employees so that they can be kept apart from the "general population." Bryant seems to have good elementary and high schools, but both of their middle schools are in the multi year failure category on the benchmark eaxms for Special Ed subgroup. Instead of trying to fix the problem, they offer summer enrichment classes for Gifted and Talented students, and tell Special Education parents there is no help available during the summer because there is no money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

Growing up in Little Rock it was a relief to have a community nearby where the schools and involvement in the schools was a main focus of the community. Yes, there is a lot of focus on sports and socio-economic status, but that is a fact of society where ever you go and it won't change. What truly matters is the importance that's placed on education and supporting kids in their education and extra activities as well. It's the main reason why Bryant is one of the top school sytsems in AR. Some people may not value the importance of sports and other activities, but these are extremely important building blocks in a child's development that build self-esteem and teach team work. Bryant parents are just as proud of the band as they are of the football team. We are proud to a part of the Bryant schools and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I agree whole-heartedly about the socio-economic bias at Bryant. I have 2 sons - one in high school and one in middle school. We do not have a lot of money and my youngest is constantly picked on and bullied by other kids. I use the online system, and this year is better, but last year teachers rarely posted grades. I am seriously considering moving my youngest to Bauxite next year where he will stand a chance...I will say, to the good of the school, that everyone I've ever needed to talk to has been helpful, but I feel the school is too crowded and things fall through the cracks...the treatment of my son by other children should NOT be one of those things...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Everyone is more focused on the sports than the grades. I am not really learning anything because they keep going over what they taught us last year or the year before and not teaching us someting new. The teachers are really nice though, and the band director is awsome. However almost everyone is a prep and is wealthy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

I'm in the seventh grade at Brant Middle School, and this whole year the teachers have been 'teaching' us the same stuff we learned in the 4th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2007

This school is great when it comes to athletics ,but I think that they should spend more time with our academics. Its really not that fair,because if you dont do exactly what they say and how they say it and you're not a wanna-be prep you get picked on,but that's our school for you they aren't too strict though so I geuss thats cool
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2007

On the contrary to the information posted above, Bryant has a wide variety of students and most students, regardless of socio-economic background, seem to adjust quite well. Any matters involving bullying are handled quite quickly. Our principal is very involved in daily operations. However, with a school of it's size, we do have several assistant principals who are in charge of certain elements of day-to-day school issues. We also have an online-grade posting program, in which all teachers are obligated to post grades on a frequent basis. All students are given school log-in ID numbers and passwords, which are also sent home to the parents, so that they can check grades 24-hours-a-day, 7-days-a-week. For a parent to fault the teachers for not knowing his/her own children's grades until report-card time is irrelevent. Most of us teach 100-150 students per day. Every parent must take some responsibility in his/her child's education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 20, 2005

Acceptance in this school is based on who you are and what you have. Officials are under the impression that 'bullying does not exist in Bryant'. In reality, bullying is overlooked. I would not suggest this school for anyone who does not have a lot of money. If your child misbehaves expect to be called - if your child has failing grades, don't expect to hear about it until you receive a report card. This has been the experience of myself and several other parents who are not wealthy. I have never spoken to the prinicpal of the school, the assistant principal seems to be the one in charge.Phone conferences, rather than in person, are encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 64%
Black 15% 21%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

412 Woodland Dr
Bryant, AR 72022
Phone: (501) 847-5651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT