Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastside Elementary School

Public | K-4

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2011

very well adjusted school, parent friendly , great teachers , all around nice school..Nice equipment in the school, and my son has already learned a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

My daughter attended Eastside for 4 years. She will always have fond memories of her time here. There is alot of parent involvement in this school, which makes it so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Eastside is a very parent family school that celebrates the best in each child. My daughter has really blossomed in this school. I was nervous about the move, especially after the rezoning. It turned out to be a fantastic move for my daughter and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

My daughter is in mrs walkers class what a wonderful teaher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

Eastside is a wonderful school and the new principal is awesome, she really cares about her students and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

Eastside is a fabulous school and it was made even better under the leadership of Denise Rankin. Ms. Rankin made it a point to know my child and my family. She even started a walking club so that children would have something healthy to do before school started. Eastside was such a warm,welcoming and inviting place under her leadership. The teachers at Eastside are the cream of the crop. Not only do they really care about each one of their students but they do all that they can to help every bnvchild succeed. I know this because my child could have very easily been one to fall through the cracks but Eastside would not let that happen. I am so thankful that my family has had the opportunity to be a part of the Eastside family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

Eastside was a great school, until Denise Rankin became principal. She brought it way down. She was a terrible leader. Seventy-five percent of the great teachers there had left because of her. She was a bully who led by manipulation and was very vindictive. The teachers and staff and so glad she resigned! Now the school can rebuild.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

My child has been at eastside since kindergarten. He is a challenged child. He has adhd and odd. The teacher's, the counselor, the principal, and even some of the children work with my son to make him comfortable and encourage him to learn. I have nothing but the highest respect and admiration for each and every authority at this school. Thank god for denise rankin. She is a special kind of person. Without her suggestions and wisdom, i would not have gotten the help i needed for my son to begin with. Thank you eastside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I love Eastside Elementary. It's a great school with great teachers. I feel that my child is being challenged at Eastside. I have nothing but great things to say about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 64%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Black 3% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17 Bellamy St
Cabot, AR 72023
Phone: (501) 743-3563

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT