Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cabot Junior High North

Public | 7-9

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2008

The school burned just as we moved here and my son's classes were in portables for the last two years. I was worried, however, my son loves his experience at North. The staff handled the tragedy well and my son is getting a good education. The new school is being built now and while a new building would have been nice, he doesn't feel like we missed a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

5 stars -excellent schools and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

I apsolutely love going to north! Going to school in the highschool right now is so much better than the trailers! I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

i love cabot schools! they our awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2006

Love it iam attending now, great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2005

I love cabot junior high north. I was a former student at this school and loved it. The teacers ( Danny Spencer, Mr. Ridgeway, Etc.) and the principals are great.T he sports program (football) was excellent! Coach Spencer, Jay, and the others were very good teachers and coach. They taught us about the field and the wisdom of the game, but they also taught us about life, leadership, brotherhood, character, and to never quit on anything. I thank them for everything that they have given me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2005

This school is great! They have a wonderful atmosphere and they are very clean with wonderful teachers. You will love it here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2004

I have never been to a school that looked this clean and had such a great atmosphere to want to get up and come to school in the morning!!! My report card had the best grades ever, I made the 'A' 'B' honor roll for the whole first semster. Im so proud of my school, and I couldent imagine my self in any other place.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 64%
Black 2% 21%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

38 Spirit Dr
Cabot, AR 72023
Phone: (501) 605-8470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT