Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clarksville Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 591 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2012

I am a former student and I wasnt a special needs child but I strugled with my grades and I had chronic memory loss after a heat stroke and I also had ADHD like symptoms after an abuse took place in my life and the staff made it very hard on me some would igore me some were cruel in my opinion. I was bullied by other students, and ridiculed when I reported it. My children will never attend this school. It is a very cliche institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Clarksville School facility has a passion for teaching our children and in return our children have a passion for learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

The parent who posted on May 1, 2007 was exactly right about don't send an average student to this school. I had the worst experience with this school district along with abuses from the grade school level with my special needs child. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

I believe the entire staff works hard to make each student a better student and person. My child is a high maintenance student with ADHD. I have seen improvement in him each of the 3 years he has been here. I beleive this is a turning point for him. THANKS TO ALL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

The security is WAY over the top! There are camras EVERYWHERE watching your every move. The teachers are really nice, and the band is awesome...but Lamar is better because they take the time out of evrything to help you. & they're just awesome like that!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2007

The teachers seem to know what they are doing most of the time. My child is on the honer roll so I believe that the teachers must teach reasonably well. Thank God for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

My children have both gone thru the Junior High and I thank God every day that is over. The majority of the teachers will not take time for the 'average' to 'struggling' students. If your child is 'Honor Roll' material, by all means send your child there. However, if your child is a B/C or student with any type of learning difficulties, forget it. The majority of the teachers don't want to have to do anything extra for those students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

This is a pretty god school - demanding, dedicated teachers, strong curriculum, good test scores, nice facilities. My kids are students here, and I am pleased with the educational experiences they are having.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

My experiences, and I am a parent of a student in this school, is exactly opposite of the *comments* posted above. Good course of study, strong test scores, demanding teachers - all adds up to a very strong school. Well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

The majority ofTeachers do not seem to care about the students. Unfair discipline. Lack of concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

This school is terrible, it is not worth sending your kids to, please do not send your kids there, i was a student there, they were a totalitarian place and too dumb for words. Your kids deserve better than this.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 64%
Hispanic 27% 10%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 Clark Rd
Clarksville, AR 72830
Phone: (479) 705-3224

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kraus Middle School
Clarksville, AR


New Life Academy
Clarksville, AR





Westside High School
Coal Hill, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT