Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Theodore Jones Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 494 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

We LOVE TJE. My daughter, who failed the first grade at another school due to lack of confidence and a teacher with horrid communication skills, has gone from a first grade reading level to a third grade reading level!!!! And she is exceeding expectations in all of her other subjects as well. What really gets me though is the confidence she has now. I could not be any more proud of her OR TJE!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

We moved back to Arkansas after being in Shreveport for 3 years. Theodore Jones is a terrible school...from the education down to the faculty. They treated my son terribly. There are so many things that I could post here. But, just know I DO NOT recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

We moved here from Pulaski County School District which supposedly wasn't very good. I would do anything to move my children back. I am very disappointed by the Conway Public Schools. They treat the kids like prisoners and yell at them constantly. The children aren't allowed to play with the opposite sex. Academically, this school is behind the school my kids came from. The school is poorly staffed and there is an overall feeling of confusion. The office staff has even admitted that the school is minimally staffed. Don't move to Conway for the schools...Big Disappointment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

I have been associated with Theodore Jones for many years. I adored this school! Wonderful, good Christian people, that worked hard daily to give the children the best education. I had a daughter that attended there. I have to say, of all the schools, I have been associated with--the staff here is by far the best!


Posted March 26, 2008

Wow! I was very impressed by the teachers and staff at this school. The teachers were very caring and spent extra time making sure that my child needs were met. The administration was on top of things when I called and I appreciate them taking the time to meet with me since I was new to Conway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Wonderful school. Very friendly teachers who are always willing to go the extra mile for you child. I have 2 daughters enrolled here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

We love Theodore JOnes Elementary. My children have had great teachers in each grade. The teachers are caring and work many hours after school. I have gone up there to get homework and they are still there. I think teachers are overworked and many parents do not seem to appreciate all they do. These teachers go out of their way to help these childre. I did notice many parents at this school seem to be absent from the PTO and when the school needs help. The parents should get out and support their school better. The principals were great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

I was very dissappointed in this school. The Principals were pleasant, however, the teachers we experienced appeared overloaded with spending their time with behavioral management of other students. The PTO participation was very poor. This school needed more learning and activities equipment and additional support staff. Maybe after additional resources, children and staff can gain greater learning experiences in a less stressful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 64%
Black 39% 21%
Hispanic 9% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Freyaldenhoven Ln
Conway, AR 72032
Phone: (501) 450-6645

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Joseph School
Conway, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT