Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Florence Mattison Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 439 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2012

I'm so proud to say that I think the world of all the teachers and staff!! They have been very nice to my child and i!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

This school has managed to extinguish the flame of a very bright and loving little girl. She is bullied daily and punished for open inquiry. The teachers scream at the children (I have witnessed it firsthand). After 3rd grade they're thrown into a highschool-like environment where 9 year old children are expected to behave as if they are adults. They are graded harshly and given no opportunity to make-up work or earn extra credit. My daughter went from straight a's in k-3 to c's and d's in 4th. When I demand to know why, I hear "That's normal for kids to do poorly right now because we demand a lot more". If that's normal, then why are they graded as if it isn't!!!?!?!?! Don't send your kids here... I wish I hadn't. I'm glad we're moving away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

My kids loved it at Florence Mattison. Great teachers and facilities. Many opportunities for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

We have really enjoyed our children attending this school. The teachers are open to parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

My son has attended Florence Mattison for the last three school years. He is advanced in both reading and math. His teachers have been wonderful. He's well adjusted and loves going to school every morning. The parents at FMI seem to be interested and engaged and the children that I've come in contact with have been happy and well behaved. FMI seems to have a more diverse cultural mix than the other Conway schools. The kids seem to benefit from the diversity. Our families experience has been a positive one. Thank you FMI Staff ! - JMS -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

The reviews from 2004 are not a reflection of the schools reputation in 2006. Many changes have been made to the school environment! Teacher moral is very high and student achievement is on the rise! Florence Mattison competes with any school in the Conway School District as far as 'Teacher' quality. The term 'prison' like I would love for that to be expanded on. If teaching students to walk in a straight line is prison like, then help our Nation's Schools please! The principal is very professional and operates his school by the book. Apparently the two reviews have an impression of the principal that reflects a personal difference. I don't think not having an outgoing personality is a fair judgement of someone to be compared to as 'strict' and 'prison-like'! I see these two reviews as personal and uncredible!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 31, 2004

When the children are gathered outside of the classrooms, this school has a prison-like operation. Kids are screamed at, yelled at in the halls, they are not allowed to talk during lunch. Older kids push, punch, and shove when teachers aren't looking. The principal seems very cold to the children, and the teachers are not happy. That is not too hard to see, and 9 teachers left over the summer (2004), including the vice-principal. Something needs to be fixed at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

The principal of this school has failed to mantain any sort of control over problem students. This has resulted in bullies getting away with assults on other students. The very best of teachers at this school are a result of keeping the discipline within the classroom and not involing the principal's office. There are quite a few great Teachers at this school, however they are out-numbered by trouble students and little or no support from the principal.attemps to take this to a higher level have been trying at best due to a lack of intrest by the school board. It looks good on paper so it must be OK. Well it's not OK, Its not safe, And It's a poor leaning environment
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 65%
Black 33% 21%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Florence Mattison Dr
Conway, AR 72032
Phone: (501) 450-4820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT