Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4
Public district
Conway, AR
Students enrolled: 412
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Florence Mattison Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
They are doing the best they can from a parents perspective. We just had to choose not to expose the time we want our child to learn to be exposed to behavior they hadn't seen before

Florence Mattison Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Several times I was told that most other parents wouldn't work with the children in this area and that only would make our child stand out.


Florence Mattison Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
This school developes it's students to a fault, leaving the children that excel and are there to learn missing out because of all the children needing behavior attention in the main focus

Florence Mattison Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
This school has a staff that is doing all it can with the children based on the majority population with home behavior and discipline problems

Florence Mattison Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
The teachers do the best with all the children sent here because parents next step in this area is public school for free childcare


Florence Mattison Elementary School 2

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately parents send the children to this location to prevent phone calls and 'watch' or 'babysit' their children leaving those from a stable home to have kids come home having to lay heads down, hear loud voices and watch and hear behavior that they wouldn't be exposed to in other public schools. Most awards are based on behavior at this school, unfortunatly leaving teachers unable to teach more than basic needs with more one on one needs leaving the striving ones depleted due to so much daily attention on the majority with basic behavior and structure problems

Florence Mattison Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
I am truly blessed to have a smart child and he is doing very well at this school.Any school is only as good as the staff and teachers.My son's teachers have been very fair with my child.Since some of the staff has changed it seems to be improving.Some people aren't good leaders and have bad attitudes and that makes for confusion.I could say more but bottom line is that you have teachers and you have baby sitters.Go figure

Florence Mattison Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
I believe this is one of the most unprofessional school in Conway, AR. The teachers call you at least 2-3 times per week telling you something your child has done. Now, understand the mess be so petty and they don't tell you the whole story they give you bits and pieces! Once your child get home, and you ask what happened its always," Well John Doe told the teacher I called another John Doe bad." So, the moral to the story is the teachers don't witness anything happening they often rely on certain teacher pets to tell them what has happened! 9/10 that child didn't tell the teacher what they did nor told the teacher the whole story! However, the teachers wouldn't have to rely on other children's to tell stuff if they was monitoring there class properly!


Florence Mattison Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2012
- a parent
I'm so proud to say that I think the world of all the teachers and staff!! They have been very nice to my child and i!!

Florence Mattison Elementary School 1

Posted January 27, 2012
- a parent
This school has managed to extinguish the flame of a very bright and loving little girl. She is bullied daily and punished for open inquiry. The teachers scream at the children (I have witnessed it firsthand). After 3rd grade they're thrown into a highschool-like environment where 9 year old children are expected to behave as if they are adults. They are graded harshly and given no opportunity to make-up work or earn extra credit. My daughter went from straight a's in k-3 to c's and d's in 4th. When I demand to know why, I hear "That's normal for kids to do poorly right now because we demand a lot more". If that's normal, then why are they graded as if it isn't!!!?!?!?! Don't send your kids here... I wish I hadn't. I'm glad we're moving away.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Florence Mattison Elementary School
2001 Florence Mattison Dr, Conway, AR  72032
(501) 450-4820
Last modified Florence Mattison Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Florence Mattison Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top