Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hugh Goodwin Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2013

Hugh Goodwin by far exceeded my expectations. I was nervous about sending my oldest to Kindegarten. Everyone made the transition so easy. My daughter absolutely loved her class. She loves this school so much that she didn't want to be out for the summer:) I would recommend this school to anyone. All staff are knowledgable and friendly. The principal really cares for all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

Couldn't be happier with my daughter's education at Hugh Goodwin. Great environment. Great Staff. Great Principal. I would recommend this school to all parents. Fast as well as slow learners are equally challenged. Keep up the good work Mrs. Reed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2012

Hugh Goodwin school is a great school! Teachers are very friendly, caring, and helpful. Principal is great as well. Everyone works together for the best education of the kids. It is a great atmosphere and a great positive school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

My grandchildren love this school. The teachers and staff are wonderful. There is so much learning going on every day in everything they undertake. Keep up the great work Hugh Goodwin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

My child started Hugh Goodwin this year and we both LOVE it. It has a great environment for learning and some of the best teachers in the state. My child was struggling in school until we got to Hugh Goodwin and the teachers took notice and gave her the much needed help she wasn't getting from her previuos school. Hugh Goodwin is all about their students. Excellent school...Highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

This school is great! They are always so friendly when I visit. The teachers have extremely high expetations. The 'ARTS' that are taught are exceptional! My child would not get this type of education anywhere else...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

This is a really great school with emphasis on academics, the arts and literature. I wish it was K-6th grade. My child loves this school and the staff. They really care about your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

The Best Place in Union county to get your child off to a great academic start.! (-; Mrs.Campbell Thankyou, Murphry Oil
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

I have a kindergartener at Hugh Goodwin. Now that is an Academy for the Arts, I have been most impressed by the way the teachers work to involve the community in projects such as painted furniture auctions, musicals, and as artists in residence. During the year, there are photographers, poets, storytellers, sculptors, and other artists who come in to work with the students. The best part is...it all ties to the Arkansas state standards. I am very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

My son hated school. He is in the 1st grade and absolutely loves his teachers at Hugh Goodwin. He is challenged in his learning to prepare him for benchmark but they are able to do it in a fun way without scaring the kids to death over it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have a son in First Grade at Hugh Goodwin. He has developmental problems, and last year in K. I was so afraid that he (and the teacher) would be miserable...I can't rave enough about this school. He bypassed all expectations and was never singled out, ridiculed or made to feel that he wasn't smart enough, or different in ANY way. His self esteem has risen like I never imagined. Not only that, he's making all A's, and that is something that no one involved in his therapies ever imagined.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 64%
Black 39% 21%
Hispanic 9% 10%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 East Fifth St
El Dorado, AR 71730
Phone: (870) 864-5071

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holy Redeemer School
El Dorado, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT