Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcnair Middle School

Public | 6-7 | 723 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2013

The teachers are average. No one is awful. The activities are nice. Good building. The principal is decent. Our girl is being bullied, so that makes us bitter, and they can't seem to do anything. I think that they have so many kids at an evil age and just for two years, they just can't stop the bullying. A lot of the moms are snobs. Not warm. We wish we were somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

Our current principal, Michelle Hayward, is an excellent principal; before she came, there were only about one or two clubs in the entire school. Now there are too many to count! With her, our school has gotten very involved and our grades have raised. In fact, she got principal of the year this year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

I've been teaching 29 years, and McNair is a superior school for our students. Middle school students are happy and engaged learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2007

The leadership team at McNair is exceptional. I have had three children attend McNair and all have received a quality education that prepared them for junior high and high school. The extracurricular activities are numerous and any student can find a way to get involved. One of our great teachers organizes after school extracurricular sports, another organizes a drama club, another an explorer club. McNair offers a great band program and art program as well. Parents are welcomed at McNair and because of that parents are very involved. The PTA makes sure needs of students, teachers and staff are met in every way. McNair is truly a place where kids of all levels succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

My daughter transitioned beautifully from homeschooling to public schooling at McNair. She is having a ball in art, music, PE and the after-school intramural sports. I have found her teachers to be specific and helpful in their frequent communication. I recommend McNair to parents who want to be involved in their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

There are a few great teachers and a few really awful ones. The encore teachers (music and PE) are really bad. The administration knows there are personnel problems but nothing is getting done. I question whether some of these encore teachers should be allowed to continue having contact with our kids. The teachers are bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2005

McNair Middle School gets 2 thumbs up! My Daughter has been going there for 2 years and has just had a blast! She has learned so much and has not had any problems with bullies of any sort. If you are comparing this school with Holt Middle School without a doubt choose McNair Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

There are problems. Bullies and the fact teachers dont help. lower income students are treated diffrent then the upper clas students that go there this needs to change. thay need to stop the bulling!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

Second son at McNair, which is a very nice, newer school in East Fayetteville. Teachers are great and the leadership is solid.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 64%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 4% 21%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3030 East Mission Blvd
Fayetteville, AR 72703
Phone: (479) 527-3660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph Catholic School
Fayetteville, AR



Haas Hall Academy
Fayetteville, AR


Montessori School
Fayetteville, AR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT