Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vandergriff Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
Susan Brisiel was the school secretary for twenty years. She set a high standard for service, calm, order, and kindness at the front of the school! There is a lovely fountain that was dedicated to her that sits right outside my classroom window. I fondly remember her presence and try to be more like her.

Vandergriff Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
I am biased, of course! All I can tell you is to drive by the school after 3:30 any afternoon, or on the weekends. You will see staff members up there going above and beyond because they are passionate about what they do. The proof is in the success---we have former Grizzlies who have gone on to be very successful in jr. high, high school and college-they not only have shown ease with academic success, but in leadership and community service. They are the kids who serve on student council, sleep in a cardboard box to raise money for the school district's homeless program, and receive scholarships. I personally know of several physicians, professors, marketing, business, real estate, film makers, and teachers who had their foundations built at Vandergriff.


Vandergriff Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
I personally don't give much homework. I don't like to take my work home, (although I do....!) so I don't expect my students to have to spend hours on school projects and homework, but to be able to pursue outside interests and enjoy family time! I think it varies from teacher to teacher.

Vandergriff Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
Students are encouraged to stick with things when it is difficult! Especially in math problem solving, students are encouraged to stick with the work and think, be ready to take risks, and learn from their mistakes!

Vandergriff Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
Students have been challenged recently to speak when spoken to; to look others in the eye, and to make sure to listen to others fully. Every student has value, and we seek to value and respect all individuals in our community.


Vandergriff Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
Vandergriff does many outreach projects throughout the year: the Charlie Brown Used Book Sale is an all-school event that is the local animal shelter's largest fundraiser! We also give to United Way to support many local charities such as the Boys and Girls Club, Lifestyles, and others. When individuals experience a loss, the school family has sought to serve-one example was the beautiful track facility that we partnered with others to build in memory of former PE Coach Bob Kraynik. Students are continually taught to look out for everyone.

Vandergriff Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
Vandergriff has a long history of encouraging character development in its students. Currently, we are learning about Covey's seven habits, and it has been awesome for students, teachers, and families!

Vandergriff Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2015
- a teacher
My four children attended this school from 1995 until 2001, and then I started working there in 2005. Dr. Stark and the charter staff sought to build a legacy at this school of kindness and compassion. To whom much is given, much is expected. While there has been huge growth at this school in academic achievement and curriculum alignment, the heart of the school has been maintained-a family atmosphere in which every person is valued and cared for, and each is encouraged to reach his or her highest potential. The school has become more diverse in recent years and there is definitely room for growth in learning to be more inclusive and broader-thinking as a community. If you're considering purchasing a home in this district, call the office to schedule a visit, and even ask if your child could visit a classroom. If teachers know ahead of time, they can be ready to put you at ease in your transition. We've just received the National Blue Ribbon Award from the U.S. Dept. of Ed. for the second time in six years. Our PTO is phenomenal, helping to provide all kinds of support for the faculty, staff, kids, and even the larger community.


Vandergriff Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2015
- a community member
We have been at Vandergriff for 7 years. I completely disagree with the parents who wrote the teachers are uncaring and that it matters what type of clothes their children wear. My children have some name brand clothing but not much and they are not treated any differently and we have absolutely enjoyed and been impressed with the teachers that we have had. One was not fantastic but who can except every single teacher to be amazing. That is not reality. Your child will not always have amazing teachers if you are in any educational program. You must learn to adjust and your child must too. Education is their focus at Vandergriff and now they have added a leadership program ("Leaders and Me"). My kid that is there now absolutely loves this program and it is encouraging him to be outgoing, respectful and to set goals for himself.

Vandergriff Elementary School 3

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
More than disappointed. Purchased a home for the specific reason that my child attend Vandergriff. If you believe your child will need ANY extra help or attention regarding behavior or academics, this school is not for you. However, if your child is in a position to excel academically & emotionally, Vandergriff could be the right place. With a highly praised school, comes "highly praised" people who generally are affluent and well known within society. Either you fit into such social environment or not. This should be a consideration, as it does & will affect your child & your family accordingly. This is simply my opinion, but I will say that many others I know agree.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vandergriff Elementary School
2975 East Township St, Fayetteville, AR  72703
(479) 527-3600
Last modified Vandergriff Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vandergriff Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top