Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Asbell Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2013

The new principle that came to the school this year has really changed the culture of the school, for the worse in my opinion. First off, she's not good with communicating to parents. Kids and teachers have told me they don't like her strict attitude. I rarely see her in the hallways during conferences. She cancelled a couple of afterschool events that have traditionally taken place there. If you knew Mrs. Greene (the previous principle), this new principle is the complete opposite in terms of attitude, openness, friendliness and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

My son started Kindergarten at Asbell just last month, and we are so impressed! His teacher is caring, has good classroom skills and communicates great. The morning assembly is a positive way to start the day, and makes my son want to get up and get to school. We are extremely pleased with our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

Asbell was truly the school with a heart until admin changed. The principal many see as strong is really a bit of a bulley, in my opinion. Ask the teachers who've left the building if you want to know the true story. The teachers who've stayed....wonderful!


Posted May 6, 2009

I have 4 kids at Asbell. Principal Greene is an excellent Principal. My kids have wonderful, caring teachers. We are zoned for another school in Fayetteville, but we transferred to Asbell because it's truly the school with a heart. It's definitely the best kept secret in Fayetteville. Asbell is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

I am very pleased with thsi school. I have 2 children in Asbell and plan on staying there. The teachers and office staff really care for the kids. I trust them to make the best decsions for my children, as they treat them as they would their own.My son attended part of Kindergaten at Washington Elementary and anytime I asked the staff for any sort of assitance there, they acted as if it was a giant chore. So the staff at Asbell has been a plesant upgrade. I also appriciate the fact that Asbell is both racially and economically diverse. Not all wealthy and white. The cons to this school would be parent involement and standardized test scores. As far as parents invovlement-we are very much a working class school - so that may be a factor. I do hope test scores improve to reflect the great effort of this incredible staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

Asbell is a wonderful school. The staff is among the best in town. The quality of education is great. The staff does a great job with providing an appropriate curriculum for its students. They go far above and beyond. I love the warm inviting feeling I receive when I walk through the door. I feel that my children are safe 100% of the time. The dismissal process for car riders and bus riders is thorough and safe. I can tell that the staff there is dedicated to a safe environment. I can also tell that my children are well loved by the teachers, staff, and principal. I thank you Asbell for being top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I am very happy with this school. My son started Kindergarten here just last month and I was so surprised at the amount of teacher involvement, amount of resources, and how much the teachers work with the parents. I couldn't believe that the Kindergarten classroom had 6 computers in it! That is excellent since these days, kids really need to learn computers early in life as everything is on the computer. I was also so happy with the fact that my son has Art once a week, Music class once a week (and will learn to play keyboards and other instruments even this year!), PE twice a week, and Library once a week (each of these are one hour per day). I really love this school! Miss Hays is the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

When my daughter started at Asbell, I thought it was a great school. Well, my opinion has been severely altered. Her teacher is great. But that is where the good stops. The principal is concerned about nothing but money. She is rude and only acts like she cares for the kids when she knows you are there. When my daughter gets hit or pushed and tells the teacher instead of hitting back, she gets in trouble for 'being a tattle-tale.' As far as security...I am afraid every day that they are going to lose my child. I thank God that she is smart enough to be able to know what to do herself because the staff surely aren't any help. They say that they want parent involvment and then they turn you away. My daughter will not be at this school next year even if I have to homeschool her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

I now have 2 of my children in my in Asbell. I appreciate the kindness & unity. I only had a problem one time and I e-mailed my daughters teacher about the problem with the sub-teacher, & today... my daughter had a sub-teacher, but it wasn't the teacher I had a problem with. I thank the principale for listening & caring. It's all about the children. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

my son attended kindergarden at this school and was lost within only a few weeks. it took the schools 45 min. to even notify me they did not know where he was or how long he had been gone. i found my son on the on ramp to I540. with no help from the school. we have had nothing but problems with the staff, they seem to have forgotten these are children. not just numbers in the system. Be careful to all who attend this school, for far more reasons than i am permitted to tell of here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

My daugther went to Asbell in K and first grade and I was very happy with the school.....The teachers are Great!!!!! PTA is GREAT!! I was a member of the PTA and I was surpised to see what we accomplished with so few members. more parents & teachers need to join!!! We moved to a new town so we had to change schools I am going to miss Asbell it is a great school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

I have twin boys in first grade at Asbell and one is a special needs child. I have never had better care and understanding than I have at Asbell! The diversity is perfect and the teachers and staff are amazing. I am humbled and grateful for all they have done for my boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

My child attends Asbell, I have not been very impressed with the communication between his current teacher and myself. Also, when there were concerns about my child I was not informed until punishment was involved. I did not have a good experience with the principal or the teacher. Of course I believe that each teacher is different, and maybe this was an isolated incident??? However, my child will not attend this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 64%
Hispanic 22% 10%
Black 19% 21%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 North Sang Ave
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-3080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holt Middle School
Fayetteville, AR



Owl Creek School
Fayetteville, AR


The New School
Fayetteville, AR


Montessori School
Fayetteville, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT