Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Butterfield Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

My daughter has been attending Butterfield since Kindergarten, and is now in 5th. I am actually saddened by the fact that this is her last year there. The school is absolutely wonderful...teachers, principal, office staff, cafeteria staff, bus drivers...Everyone! My daughter has excelled so much in this school that she has even skipped a full grade. Their GT program is incredible. There is no such thing as boredom here. I'm glad to say that I have another daughter starting Kindergarten there next year. My girls and I absolutely love this school! Keep up the outstanding work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

Thought there is little feeling left in Butterfield, that there was when I was in elemtary there, there are still excellent opportunities, and outdoor activities. This was an absolutely wonderful school experience to me.


Posted December 7, 2010

I grow increasingly concerned over the principals need to "control" everything. In the morning breakfast line...one minute late...too bad so sad. The child goes hungry despite it not being their fault they're late...THEY CAN'T DRIVE THEMSELVES! Why do they complain about not enough time in the day? They waste fifteen minutes every morning plus fifteen in the afternoon. Wonder how she'd feel if it were her child... If you want your children to attend a school where the principal rules with a iron fist...try Asbell. Oh, as for the teachers, who can see them for her?


Posted April 5, 2010

Butterfield is a top-notch public school. It has just the right mix of diversity and academics for my two children to succeed. We have enjoyed the renovation as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I am so thrilled with my neighborhood school - old or new - it is the best in Fayetteville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Outstanding. Superb teachers, advanced curriculum and top-notch administration in a loving, caring, compassionate, environment. We are delighted Butterfield is our neighborhood school. We wouldn't want them anywhere else. After attending private schools all my life, I was concerned about navigating the world of public school. Turns out, I had nothing to worry about. Butterfield is the best of both worlds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My son is in the first grade at Butterfield and we couldn't be happier! I recently attended his Valentine's Day party and was very impressed at the diversity (socially, economically, religious, racial, etc.) represented in his classroom. The children were attentive and enjoyed listening to their teacher. My son has been allowed to excel at his own pace and has been exposed to a great variety of activities. The administrative staff are very caring. They allowed my son to call me when I forgot to pack his lunch and he was upset. They also called me when my son needed a change of clothing after he fell in the mud on the playground. They didn't treat my son as a disruption but as the sweet little boy that he is. He loves going to school, and I love that he is at Butterfield, the BEST school in Fayetteville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2005

My daughter has been in Butterfield in Kdg and 1st grade. She loves it and has had wonderful teachers. The principal is friendly and caring and so is the staff. They all work together for the benefit of the students in the school. My daughter will continue there until 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2004

Great school and program with a top notch staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 64%
Hispanic 10% 10%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Black 6% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3050 North Old Missouri Rd
Fayetteville, AR 72703
Phone: (479) 444-3081

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori School
Fayetteville, AR


Root Elementary School
Fayetteville, AR


St Joseph Catholic School
Fayetteville, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT