Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 363 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2014

Great sense of community and strong leadership. My son has attended K-3 so far and we have had a wonderful experience. Small class size allows for individual attention. Teachers are well trained and very concerned with each individual. They work hard to integrate parents into every aspect of your child's education. Parents are always welcome on field trips and invited to holiday events. Teachers answer emails promptly and will often give you same day or same hour attention. We have had a wonderful experience!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Very pleased with our experience. One of the smaller schools in town so everyone seems to know your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

Our two kids are in their second years at Washington Elementary School, and we could not be happier with this amazing place. In one sense, I hesitate to leave this review because it feels like the bizarrely low rating on this site helps keep it a well-kept secret -- reasonable class sizes, no bullying whatsoever, brilliant teachers, and administrators who just "get it." The school is completely unlike a few of the socioeconomically segregated schools in town; we were at one of these for a while, and it was a cloistered experience. Since Washington. offers open enrollment, it's a wonderful cross-section of kids of every background. They do a great job of accommodating kids moving at different paces. There's a strong volunteer culture, so nearly every class has a few UA professors coming in each week to teach small groups. And if a kid is acting up, it's not "bad kid" -- it's, "let's figure out what's bothering this kid and support her together." Truthfully. It seems impossible, but somehow they've instilled this in every single student. Just a great place to send our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

We love our small close-nit school. The teachers really care about the students and have really helped my sons feel good about school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

It is obvious that many of the teachers are here only for a paycheck and don't have a desire to be around children. The principal says whatever she thinks parents want to hear, but does not follow through. The children here are going to have a tough time catching up, if they are even able considering the limited skills they are being taught, when they get out of this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

My little boy was ignored when he needed more help then the other children he was always pushed aside and others where attended to more. II know this because all year round I found reasons to come up there. A few of the teachers aren't nice acting towards the kid's, but nicer to parents.The principal did nothing when there was a big problem that occurred. I would rate a zero if I could. I ate lunch up there and would look out the cafeteria window to see the kids not being watched and saw bullying a few times- dropping my son off I saw this as well. I was always the one pointing this out to the teachers which one and telling them to go to class in a nice manner glaring at the mean one. RATE 0
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer who said his/her child was treated as if they were unworthy of teachers' time. The lack of timely information, lack of follow through, lack of control and lack of real concern (not just the administration's lip service) are glaring problems at this school. If I could rate zero stars I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

It's a wonderful community oriented school that is concerned with the education of its children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Our two kids transferred into this school last fall (in 1st and 3rd grade). We've found a wonderfully diverse student body, nice old downtown neighborhood, dedicated staff that takes the time to get to know kids as individuals, and ample opportunities for parents to get involved in the school. We're pleased with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

My daughter transfered into Washington school this semester and it's been the biggest mistake ever. Since the beginning of the year her teacher has treated her as unworthy of the teachers time. There have been several incidents in which information about my child was not given in proper time. It seems as if they feel I am not worth their time. For instance, I was pushed out of a parent teacher conference early even though my concerns and questions were not yet full addressed. While during her parent teacher meeting I was informed that they had implemented a the use of a new reading assistance program without my knowledge. I feel this completely cuts the parent out of the educational process as they did not even inform me that they felt she needed such assistance. Beyond that, the teacher refused to render a copy of my child's test scores to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

Our fifth-grade daughter has been to three schools in Fayetteville: a private school (the New School) for pre-K and K, another public school (Owl Creek) for a year, and Washington. All of them have their merits, but Washington is clearly the best. The principal, Ashley Garcia, is just terrific and almost all the teachers she has encountered are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2003

My fifth grade nephew enrolled in the middle of the school year and had a difficult time making new friends. His teachers, the administration, and the counselor were wonderful about making him feel comfortable in his new environment and meeting his needs. They also were very conscientious about contacting me when they had concerns. I was very impressed with the level of dedication of the staff at Washington Elementary.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 64%
Two or more races 18% 2%
Hispanic 11% 10%
Black 10% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 North Nighland Ave
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-3073

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The New School
Fayetteville, AR



Eda Head Start Center
Fayetteville, AR



Root Elementary School
Fayetteville, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT