Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Fayetteville, AR
Students enrolled: 363
 

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
The staff at Washington is amazing! They truly care about students and their well being- not just a test score. They work in many ways to ensure students are succeeding in not only school grades and academics but in life skills and issues as well.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
All I can say is if your child is handicapped. Do lots of drop ins. I did.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
We transfered our son to washington this year. He has ADD and is in 3rd grade. He has been to three different schools in the area. Washington has been THE BEST. Very supportive and actually adhere to the 504 program. Not sure why so many bad ratings...maybe they haven't tried the other local schools? -mom in fayetteville

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
Great sense of community and strong leadership. My son has attended K-3 so far and we have had a wonderful experience. Small class size allows for individual attention. Teachers are well trained and very concerned with each individual. They work hard to integrate parents into every aspect of your child's education. Parents are always welcome on field trips and invited to holiday events. Teachers answer emails promptly and will often give you same day or same hour attention. We have had a wonderful experience!!

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Very pleased with our experience. One of the smaller schools in town so everyone seems to know your child.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
Our two kids are in their second years at Washington Elementary School, and we could not be happier with this amazing place. In one sense, I hesitate to leave this review because it feels like the bizarrely low rating on this site helps keep it a well-kept secret -- reasonable class sizes, no bullying whatsoever, brilliant teachers, and administrators who just "get it." The school is completely unlike a few of the socioeconomically segregated schools in town; we were at one of these for a while, and it was a cloistered experience. Since Washington. offers open enrollment, it's a wonderful cross-section of kids of every background. They do a great job of accommodating kids moving at different paces. There's a strong volunteer culture, so nearly every class has a few UA professors coming in each week to teach small groups. And if a kid is acting up, it's not "bad kid" -- it's, "let's figure out what's bothering this kid and support her together." Truthfully. It seems impossible, but somehow they've instilled this in every single student. Just a great place to send our kids.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
We love our small close-nit school. The teachers really care about the students and have really helped my sons feel good about school.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
It is obvious that many of the teachers are here only for a paycheck and don't have a desire to be around children. The principal says whatever she thinks parents want to hear, but does not follow through. The children here are going to have a tough time catching up, if they are even able considering the limited skills they are being taught, when they get out of this place.


Washington Elementary School 1

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the previous reviewer who said his/her child was treated as if they were unworthy of teachers' time. The lack of timely information, lack of follow through, lack of control and lack of real concern (not just the administration's lip service) are glaring problems at this school. If I could rate zero stars I would.

Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
It's a wonderful community oriented school that is concerned with the education of its children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
425 North Nighland Ave, Fayetteville, AR  72701
(479) 444-3073
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top