Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (8 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
I have had very positive experiences with my sons' teachers. I felt that they were good communicators and willing to have open dialogue to find solutions in difficult situations.

Washington Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
My older son had a difficult time learning to read. However, his first grade teacher worked diligently with him to provide tools for his toolbox that he knew how to use. Now, as a a rising third grader, he is an avid and happy reader.


Washington Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Washington was a pilot school for an adapted program based on the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. This program is part of the daily curriculum and teaches students the value of compassion and empathy in challenging situations.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Washington is a special place. In a town where we have seen neighborhood schools turned into super-sized schools, Washington remains the smallest (approx. 300 students) school in the district. It is common to see students walk to school, walk to downtown field trip events, and walk to after school activities at Wilson Park. Washington enjoys the support and resources of its active parent base, the University of Arkansas, and the Downtown district. The students are racially and economically diverse, and the school focuses on compassion, leadership, and conflict resolution as tools to navigate diversity.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
All three of my children attend Washington, and we're very happy with our experiences here. I think Washington is the smallest elementary school in Fayetteville, which means that the principal and most teachers know your child personally here. The school offers numerous chances for parents to volunteer, both during the day and after school. The school is located in the "professor neighborhood," so local university professor parents (of which I'm one) often volunteer to teach in their specialty. The PTO is very involved, and because the school is right down town, it offers really fun and unusual fund raisers -- tours of historic downtown homes, and parking for Bikes Blues and Barbeque -- which means no selling candy bars. Every time I go in the school and see how organized, calm, on-task, and HAPPY the teachers manage to keep their classes, I'm again appalled at the ways some politicians attack teachers (we moved here from Scott Walker's Wisconsin). We love Ms. McLarty, Ms. Brown, and all the teachers at Washington.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
This is hands down the best school in the area. The principal not only knows every student by name, but she knows every family. Each teacher takes the time to truly understand what the children are passionate about and strives to help them explore, experience, learn, and grow. One of my bunch started school with low test scores and a severe distaste for reading. Her teacher would not give up and kept introducing her to new ways to try things. A new book was sent home every few days for her to try until she finally found one that she liked. She has not stopped reading since. The councilor is the nicest, most caring person I have ever met. She goes the extra mile to really make sure each child is having a positive experience. She has set up some Fantastic community programs to include not only the students but the families as well. The students are taught responsibility for not only their selves and their school, but for their community and their Fellow man. They don't just get a first class education, the get amazing life skills.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
We have two kids at Washington. We've been thrilled to watch them grow into better people year after year after immersion in the diverse and caring community at this school. The after school clubs are incredible—kids can stay until 4:30 and learn about everything from gardening to drumming to tumbling to journalism. This is a school and a community worth being passionate about.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Have 2 elementary age children in this school, and had 100% positive interaction with faculty and staff here. My daughter just graduated from Washington elementary with honors, which speaks highly of the teaching staff in this school. I am proud for my children to be a part of the experience at Washington.


Washington Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
The teaching staff not only interacts with the students but take the time to keep parents informed as well

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
We just finished our fourth year at this school, only one remaining. I have been amazed at the teachers and staff, how they care and go out of their way to meet the kids needs and create family involvement. Both of my kids have learned and grown, the smaller school environment has benefited them greatly.

Nearby schools

Washington Elementary School
425 North Nighland Ave, Fayetteville, AR  72701
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (479) 444-3073
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top