Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 168 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Forrest City

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $77,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $560.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2011

We are certainly going to miss this Calvary Christian School family. I miss all of you already, just knowing we will not see you much. "God Bless All Of You" and thank you all so very much for being so good to Kourtney and all our family.......'we are surely going to miss Miss Trudy. Love you all Sandra Hall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

I attended this school thru my 10th grade year. The academics provided at Calvary are very inferior to other schools. Had I not chosen to attend a public school for my 11th and 12th grade years, I would have never been able to make it in college. I agree with another reviewer that the teachers have very little to no knowledge regarding the subject matter they are attempting to teach. As far as the Christian aspect of the school, I found the school staff to be uncaring and punitive to the students.


Posted May 26, 2011

To Ms Hess, Staff, Teachers, Personnel, Ms Judy, Ms Faye & Parents: Kourtney Harris will not be attending Calvary next school term. She is starting Cross County School Dist. in Cherry Valley which will allow her mother to be able to take Kourtney to school on her way to work, in Jonesboro and sometimes able to pick her up on her way home. Kourtney is looking forward to this change and is familiar with many of the students and teachers. She has already signed up and been accepted to be on the cheerleading squad. Kourtney already knows their cheers since she attends many of their ballgames. Her cousin is the elementary football quarterback. Many of her friends and family attend this school. Kourtney will take her Christian values with her as she moves forward in this change and if it doesn't work out we will be back to Calvary. Kourtney has made life-long friends and will never forget them in her lifetime. Cross County School is a small, family oriented school, not as small and personable as Calvary, but small for public school. We will continue praying for Calvary as well as her new school. Kourtney will miss having Miss Norris for 4th grade! We Love You All !!! Sandra Hall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

My child loves being a part of Calvary Christian School. She has been going since almost birth. How many schools this day and time requires you to carry your bible to school. Wow! Enough said....... The teachers are awesome and truly want to be there teaching your child. Ms Hess is a wonderful leader, Ms Judy in daycare is a great person and truly loves the time she gets to spend with your children. She is awesome and her staff helping her is wonderful, especially Ms Faye in the kitchen, I know God personally sent her to Calvary Christian school. The office staff are very genuine, caring people. They are such a blessing to Calvary. Thank you, Calvary Christian School for giving of yourselves and making sure our children have a safe, Christian, loving school to attend. No wonder there is a waiting list, who wouldn't want to be a part of this minstry. We drive from Wynne everyday and am thankful for the school being as close as it is. During our drive, we get to have our morning prayer together. It is just awesome! I can't say enough good things about Calvary Christian School. Thank you, says it best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

I attended every grade of Calvary Christian, and I received an education so below-par that it boggles the mind the school ever received accreditation. The teachers were, almost without exception, amateurs in their fields AT BEST, and in most cases were entirely unfamiliar with their topics of instruction. Teachers were unable to answer basic questions posed by students, the administration was unable to supervise educational quality, and the A Beka line of homeschool materials used as textbooks is thoroughly worthless. I wish I could say that these faults were balanced by a thorough and mature focus on a Christian perspective, but it was not. While Christianity was effused throughout the curriculum, nothing in it required any student to think - only to memorize and repeat. Bible classes do not differ in any material way from third grade to twelfth; even Bible textbooks remain identical from sixth grade through twelfth. This fact should shock and enrage potential parents looking for a good Christian education for their children. In summation, the education is vastly overpriced, unbelievably inferior, and utterly worthless for any student wishing to attend college.


Posted May 28, 2009

Calvary Christian School is probably the most wonderful thing to ever happen to me. This was my first year at Calvary; I just finished 9th grade, and I plan to come back next year. Everyone is like a big, happy family here, and the education is top-notch. I would encourage anyone to attend CCS; it's an incredible place to be!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

I want to say I Love everything about Calvary Christian School/ Everyone takes special care of my precious Grand-Baby girl- Kourtney Brooke Harris-- I have no complaints, never had any complaints-- I just love the fact that there is a Christian School this close to our home of Wynne. I truly love everyone I have ever met there; children, students, teachers, office personnal, etc..., everyone is so understanding, patient & kind & Loving-- Now that's what a Christian School environment should be about! Love You All!! Sandra Hall, Nannie to Kourtney Harris


Posted September 8, 2008

I rate this a 5 star school & am very pleased with the education my grand-child is getting, plus a Christian Based environment with the best Christian teachers anyone could possibly ask for--- Calvary Christian School-----You ARE Great & very much needed in this area. 'Thank You & Thank God For This opportunity to be part of the Calvary Christian School family'-- And 'Thank You, Office Staff For Everyday You Are There and Everything You Do To Help Us' (especially remember things)~~~~~~~~~ Sandra Hall


Posted April 23, 2008

Calvary has been a positive experience for our family. Both of our children have attended the preschool program and we hope to continue their elementary education at Calvary. The teachers work with the entire family to educate the child. Our children are educated, happy, and SAFE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I love this school. My children love it also. I have one in Kindergarten and one in 10th grade. I was worried about moving my 10th grader from a public school to here, but he adjusted the very 1st day. The kids are really nice and he loves his teachers and the atmosphere. It was really a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I am a 10th grade high school student and I would like to say some things about the school. I love the school very much. The high school principal (Mrs. Kathy Hill) is such a sweet heart. What I love the most about the school is when Mr. and Mrs. Knaupp come from Oregon and hold a retreat for us. The students at the high school are like one big family. We all love each other even if we get on each others nerves. I love Calvary Christian High School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2007

Calvary Christian School is a great school with wonderful teachers; however, the principle is horrible. If they would get rid of Mrs. Suzanne Hess the school would flourish. She is rude, mean, unprofessional, and a Hippocratic. She does not take care of her staff or the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

My daughter loves going to school. She loves her teacher Mrs. Gossell. It is a wonderful environment. I have watched her knowledge grow all year and it has been wonderful. She has cousins in public school and you can tell that her reading and math skills are more advanced than thiers. I would recommend Calvery to everybody that wants thier child to recieve the best education available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

My wife and I have been very pleased with all aspects of Calvary Christian School. My daughter is in K4 and my son K5. They both seem to be well ahead of public schools curriculum. The school has a 'small town' atmosphere with good Christian environment. I would recommend this school to anyone. Bryan Middendorf
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 64%
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 10%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1611 North Washington Street
Forrest City, AR 72335
Phone: (870) 633-5333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central Elementary School
Forrest City, AR


Stewart Elementary School
Forrest City, AR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT