Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forrest City High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2010

This is a very poorly run school! Teachers allow kids that do not attend school to enter their class rooms and hang out. One teacher allowed a kid to jump out of her classroom window from the second floor. What would have happened if he had broke his neck? They do not have control of the children there are fights daily! They do not force the school dress codes with ALL children. The children are afraid to go to the bathrooms, fear of being jumped. This school is a mess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Any hope for FCHS to become a prominent, well-organized school went down the drain a long time ago. The education my and my fellow students are being subjected to is laughable. I always feel as if I'm wasting my time by even bothering to attend - if you walk into any random classroom, most of the students are sleeping because they're not being challenged enough. Considering that this is an educational institution, you would think that learning would be taking place. You thought wrong. This is only the beginning. The students have little respect for their school, teachers, others, and themselves. Fights are common, security lacking, and gangs rampant. Safety is non-existant. The racial makeup leads to even more problems. There are a few bright points. Some of the teachers, staff, and the principal are exceptional and almost make it worth enduring these conditions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2007

Forrest City High School is one of the best schools in Arkansas. It has one of the best educational use. I dont see why people would not let their child attend the Forrest City High School. My advice to a parent is if you would want your child to get a great education, learn alot about new people, and for he/she to particapate in many activities I think it would be a great choice to let them attend. My point of view as a child is it is a wonderful school, you learn new things, meet new people, and have the best time while getting an education. FCHS also have a wonderful principle. I would like to thank her for everything that she has taugh me. Thanks Ms.Robinson.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2005

this school is excellent for our children to go to. they have a wonderful principal. they could make a few changes though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

Forrest city high school is very average, but that's about all. My only concern is the inbalenced races we have. We are very unequal. There could be a minor change in the employees as well. Please don't educate the children with these manarisms! excellent principal! - s. H.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2004

The Forrest City High School System is great. I have 2 children that graduated from there. My first has is one week from earning her Masters in Business Administration within six years from leaving FCHS. My second entered college this year with a 4 year full paid scholarship. I, as a parent, pushed my children to succeed! Knowledge didn't just come to them. They were instructed. Success does comes from within the individual but I'm a believer that parental involvement is the most important key factor in how successful your child is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

forrest city high school, is one of the most derelict places I know. Even though some of the teachers would do anything for you, the education is at an equivalent to the 2nd grade. There is no discipline, and little security. it would be funny if high school had no juxtaposition to a future career. If you want to make more than 12,000 yearly....do NOT go to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2004

Forrest City is one of the worest and unorganized schoolyou could ever go to so if you know whats best don't your kids attends this school because its not a good chance they'll educate
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
8%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 84% 21%
White 15% 64%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

467 Victoria St
Forrest City, AR 72335
Phone: (870) 633-1464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Christian School
Forrest City, AR





Lee High School
Marianna, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT