Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonneville Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2012

I remember going to this school when I was young and when I think about it now the teachers have serious issues. They are surprisingly mean to the students to the point that I dont know why they are even teachers. The students from what I remember come from families who think of themselves as high class but do things under the rug. (Rich trailer trash) This school was NOT a pleasent experince for me. I am now in college.


Posted October 6, 2010

This is the worst school my children have ever attended. We moved here from another state and could not have been more disappointed. They treat the kids like they are in prison. Alot of the teachers are old and mean. My daughters teacher was young but all she did was hand out worksheets and nothing more. We encountered bullying issues and nothing was really done about it. Terrible, terrible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I've had 3 children at this school and my 3rd has 2 more yrs. I don't have any complaints and if I did anyone there would be willing to work with me and my child on the issue. Bonneville has always seemed to have a true team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I love this school. My son went here last year and his teacher, Miss Brown, was perfect. He learned so much and she really encouraged his creativity and made him feel special. Ms. Dewey, the principal, always made time for us when we had a concern and is very firm but kind with the kids. The teachers I have met through volunteering here are very respectful of the kids and it is obvious that this is helping encorage the kids to be respectful as well, because this seems to be a very diverse school with really interesting polite kids. I wouldn't want to send my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

this school at a glance looks like a great school but since we transferred here from a much smaller school the comparison is horible. We have had a lot of problems with 'bullying' and the adults in charge never seem to want to get involved to solve the problem.At our old school everybody got along and there were no racial or money status problems but here there has been name calling and fighting and flat out meanness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Bonneville is an excellent elementary school! The academic programs are exceptional including the gifted and talented program as well as art and music. The students and teachers alike are very school spirited and you just feel like everyone knows your name. My kids love getting up and going to school each morning. We couldn't be happier! The after school math games project is a hit too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 65%
Hispanic 14% 10%
Black 13% 21%
Two or more races 11% 1%
Asian 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 South Waldron Rd
Fort Smith, AR 72903
Phone: (479) 478-3161

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




First Lutheran School
Fort Smith, AR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT